We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice for a weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice for a weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I live in the local area, and when I want a weekend escape I stay here. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is a step above what I'd expect at similar hotels. As others have said, these are true suites, with separate bedrooms. The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils and plates; I normally stop at the nearby grocery store and bring in groceries to cook for dinner. Others have mentioned the pool not opening until 5pm on weekdays; county law requires lifeguards at all times so the demand probably isn't high enough to justify the lifeguard expense. Some of the thermostats do need replacement, but I mentioned mine to the front desk as I checked out.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms are warm because they get afternoon sun, but are quieter because they face away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    121
    72
    33
    20
See reviews for
168
54
33
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel while in town to see the Air and Space Museum. The hotel offered us a free shuttle to and from the museum which was really handy. The driver was a hotel employee who was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel staff offered us great advice on finding a good curry nearby as well. The pool area was modern and clean and well-attended to.
The breakfast was better than expected. We have always had good experiences with Homewood Suites and this was no exception.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 601SMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranson, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here for a week for a business trip & they have pretty much everything you could need. There's a full kitchen and a sitting room along with the usual bedroom & bath of a traditional hotel.

They have a large breakfast with a variety of hot & cold items, and then a buffet dinner mon- thurs. Complete with wine & beer!

The staff was very friendly, though for some reason my room wasn't serviced on wednesday or thurs, I didn't complain because I was checking out that Friday, but it was a little weird. A few other coworkers were staying there too, one had bottles of water, a package of cookies and a welcome note but the rest of us didn't so that was odd too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Original_Little_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I am reviewing this hotel as we are staying here. The TV is a nice new HD flat screen model, but it has NO HD programming, so why bother? The shower heads are nice and high, but the faucets are confusing to operate. The swimming pool is quite big, but we noticed that on weekdays, it doesn't open until 500pm. Perhaps because of its proximity to conference rooms, but it seems like an unfortunate policy.

Otherwise, a typically nice Homewood Suites, and very close to the Dulles expressway.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This ''business ''hotel,like others in the Dulles airport corridor are mostly quiet friday and saturday night.If you are in the mood for a romantic night,or are just passing thru this hotel(on the weekends)is a great deal.I can't say enough about how well we were treated,and how nice the room was.The hotel is also in a very nice,and safe area.The have a full kitchen,however;if you don't want to cook,but;want to enjoy eating in,there is a shopping center a mile away that has so many different types of restaurants it is easy to just carryout and bring back to the room.Also,the Leesburg Outlets are about 5 miles away.Breakfast was at the higher end of what you would expect.Great selection and good quality of food.

Room Tip: I had asked for a top floor away from elevator,and that was exactly what they gave me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevediorio1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Everyone knows the area around Dulles is huge, with lots of traffic and congestion. This Homewood Suites is convenient to Dulles airport, and the Udvar-Hazy Smithsonian Museum, yet tucked away on a fairly quiet street in an area with lots of trees and vegetation.

It was a quiet Sunday evening when we checked in, with few cars in the lot, but I had trouble finding the inn clerk; I had to ask two other employees if they would find him. He eventually showed up, five minutes after I walked in. I understood most of what he said, and realize that this is an international area in which English is not necessarily the language of choice.

Otherwise, the room was fine and breakfast about what we normally expect from Homewood Suites. This was not a bad stay, just not memorable compared to the many great Homewood experiences we have had over the years,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimelessAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The staff was not friendly upon check in. We weren't greeted. The hotel clerks were preoccupied with other things. It was also difficult to understand the hotel desk clerks.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. It was the quality that you expect from the Hilton chain.

Breakfast was also good. There was a good selection each morning. This hotel is close to the Air and Space Musuem.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hh9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.9 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dulles
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport

Property: Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport
Address: 13460 Sunrise Valley Dr, Herndon, VA 20171-3273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
#12 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dulles International Airport Hotel Herndon
Homewood Suites Herndon
Homewood Herndon
Herndon Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing