We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Moline, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff there was extremely courteous and helpful. My wife and I stayed there 10 days before we moved out of the area. They made our already stressful moving time alot less stressful. David in particular was extremely helpful and inviting from the first night we arrived to the the hotel. Kudos to the staff and management on making guests feel welcome throughout their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlyles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review dlyles4! We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us. Will be sure to pass along your compliments to David. Hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    53
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
34
66
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a bare essentials hotel that is for extended stays. It is not a good hotel for business travelers. I booked this in error, remembering a Staybridge Suites in the same area. The Staybridge Suites was wonderful. This was barely adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear marvl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for you did not find some aspects of our hotel to your liking and we deeply regret that this has prevented you from fully enjoying your stay with us.

Your experience is not reflective of the high standards we pride ourselves with. Rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements where appropriate. We hope that you will give us another chance and allow us to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by my experience at this Candlewood Suites hotel. I felt very much welcomed and appreciate David's service he provided me with throughtout my rare weekend stay at a hotel. David went our of his way numerous times to make sure my stay went as well as it could go. I also liked the fact that I was able to do my laundry there for free. My thanks go out to David and the person responsible for hiring him. He is a true asset to this hotel and deserves to be recognized.

Room Tip: No tips. Just stayed in one room on the first floor. Good experience though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Joseph C,

We thank you for your wonderful compliments to David. He's a great addition to our team and we love him. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you on your rare weekend stay at a hotel. We hope to be of service to you again in the future, please come back and stay with us whenever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While on a work assignment, I lived in the Candlewood Suites in Herndon for nearly a full year.
The staff here is the friendliest and most accommodating you will encounter. The hotel has a gym, free wifi, a computer room, BBQ grills, and a free laundry facility! The rooms are also quite comfortable and newly renovated with brand new counters, electric stoves, refrigerators, and cable service. For the very fair rate, you won't find a better deal anywhere around. I highly recommend if you are visiting the area on a budget for either a short or long stay.
For me it was also an ideal location due to the close proximity to; Dulles airport, Reston (where I worked), and nearby shopping centers with plenty selection of food and drink. If I'm ever back in town, I will most definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear gbillig,

Thank you for leaving us an excellent review here on tripadvisor. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope work will bring you back our way again in the future. Looking forward to your next visit with us. Glad you had fantastic stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for a week on business and it fully did the job. Clean, quiet and comfortable... all staff were very friendly and helpful. Really didn't miss the daily bed making and the pile of towels lasted a week. Kitchenette was perfect for breakfast supplies....

About a 15 minute walk to restaurants and bars if that's an issue... but I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel if you're on business in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TravelinMan314,

We enjoyed being of service to you and we are delighted that we were able to give you the best value for you money. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff are friendly and accommodating. For the money, it's an extremely good value. There is a small gym, free laundry, a DVD/VHS book "library" and clean, comfortable rooms with mini kitchens. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandac285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear amandac285,

We thank you for writing a feedback about your stay. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our hotel amenities. We hope you will keep us in mind next time you are back in the area. Thank you fro staying at the Candlewood Suites Herndon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
472 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Returning to USA after a month long vacation, we were thrilled with the Candlewoord Suites near Dulles.

We had used the Park and Ride option, which was very reasonably priced. Our car was undamaged during the 4 week stay in their parking lot.

Upon arrival at the hotel, David, the receptionist was exceptional. Our room was large, nice kitchenette, with full size refrigerator and microwave, stove, sink and dishes, utensils, coffee pot, etc.

Free wifi, free use of laundry facilities and fitness center. Surprised by the thick towels and washcloths, very comfortable bed, comforter and pillows.

Lending library of books and DVDs, and a "Candlewood Cupboard" with plenty of choices for food and snacks. ( healthy choice, Bertolli selections, yogurt, muffins, hamburgers, variety of beverages, cereal, popcorn, chips, snacks, complimentary coffee 24/7, all on the honor system to pay cash or add to your bill.)

A great place to stay if you're in town on business for several days or weeks - it has everything for the traveler.

Experience and amenities were so great, we will "seek out" Candlewood Suites for future accommodations for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valerie S.,

We appreciate the wonderful feedback you left for our hotel about your recent visit. Our Park and Fly package is a great value allowing you to leave your car in our premises for up to 30 days. Glad you liked the wonderful amenities we offer in our hotel. We hope you get to stay with us a little longer next time you are back in the area. Thank you for staying at the Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Property: Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#1 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing