We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for almost 4 months on a project.
It was a peaceful place, felt like home. The receptionist are great and the room cleaners are also friendly.

Will recommend this hotel to anybody anytime. I give them 99.999%

Room Tip: I prefer rooms facing the road so I can see whats going on...lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Such a wonderful review, Dayo J! Thank you for giving us a 99.999% We are happy you got to experience the Candlewood Suites Herndon team's hospitality. We love our guests and we do all that we can do to make you feel at home with us. We hope we get to be of service to you again. Thank you for the recommendation and for spending four months of your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    53
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
34
66
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed one night in May for an early morning flight from Dulles. Staff helpful, but hotel rather worn and had the feeling of a nice shelter! TV was old and very basic. However, the rooms come with a kitchen and the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Would be helpful if it offered a shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear KirstyGharavi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and the bed accommodations to be comfortable. However, please accept my apology that the ambiance on site did not completely suit your liking.

I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had to stay at the hotel while in transit. The location is great, located next to the airport. The staff is good, specially Katie at the front desk was very helpful and quickly accommodated our requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhartha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review, Siddhartha A., I'll make sure Katie reads your comment about her. Please come back and stay with us again next time you are back in the Washington/Dulles area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I lived at the Herndon Candlewood Suites for an extended period (over a year) and so I know it very well. The entire staff was professional, friendly and very accommodating. This includes the management, front desk staff, housekeeping and maintenance. The folks at the front desk always greeted me with a genuine warm smile and friendly demeanor. When I had special requests the management was always willing to work with me. Maintenance was quick and unobtrusive. The housekeeping staff was friendly and efficient. The facilities were clean, the parking lot convenient and ample spaces, and the hotel is in a very nice and safe area. The only reason I did not give a "5" rating is that some of the furnishings were marginal (specifically the recliner and the electric stove top). That being said, I had an exceptional experience and would not hesitate to make this my first choice when visiting Herndon.

Room Tip: Behind the elevator in the corner of the building. Your room is bordered by electrical and engineer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnk058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear bnk058,

First of all, thank you for staying with us for more than a year. By choosing to spend a considerable amount of your time in our hotel, you let us know that we are doing what we are here to do. As an extended stay hotel, we do our best to give excellent accommodations that reminds you of being home, and so it is a delight to know that you considered us your "home away from home". We hope you'll come back and spend time with us again. Guests like you are always welcome to our hotel. Thank you for writing us a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights, knowing there would be no daily cleaning nor breakfast which were both fine. The courtesy of the front office folks, especially Princess, was amazing. My big special need was for late checkout, which was granted. I would definitely stay here again.
If you are looking for a quiet place, very clean, with pretty good internet, you will like it fine. It's more space and privacy than a hotel room, plus a real kitchen! On the other hand if you're looking for a fancy place with new furnishings you may be disappointed.
If you're looking for restaurants, the Herndon Town Center is within walking distance for a good walker. It has a huge selection.

Room Tip: If you'll be using the elevator a lot, note that it is not centered so some rooms will be far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernFamilyOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you SouthernFamilyOf3 for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It is a delight to know that we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We do our best to ensure everyone gets quality service and clean, comfortable rooms at all times. I'll be happy to let Princess know you mentioned her name in your review. Thank you for staying at our hotel and we hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this property after a late night flight landed in Dulles. it was VERY near the airport and quite convenient. I was a bit trepidatious when I was told there was no late night check ins, but lock boxes were used to assist with that process. Thankfully, we had no problems using the lock box to check in.

Also quite wonderful was the "Candlewood Cupboard", which was an "honor" 24 hour sundries / snack store. You log the items that you take and then true up in the morning. I was so happy for this service.

The hotel itself was fine. The bathroom was a bit outdated, but it was clean. The rooms all had a full kitchenette, which was also convenient. When we finally needed the front desk staff, they were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Clumsylsis,
The reviews we get are very important to us because it gives us a chance to find out what people think of our hotel and tells us how we can improve our service. So, thank you for taking the time to write us one.
I am glad that you find our cupboard wonderful and that you thought our team members are helpful. Please keep in mind that we are available to assist you 24 hours a day even after hours. We would love to be of service to you again, please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Don't arrive after 11pm, because they roll down the steel gate. Nobody there to help until 8 am. No breakfast. Surprised the electric was still on. Just an awful place. Rooms are OK, if you can actually check in. Never again. You have been warned!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go somewhere else. You have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDeal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear TheRealDeal_12,
I can tell by your review that you were frustrated about our afterhour’s registration. Our front desk hours are indeed from 7-11pm, but although we close the front desk after 11pm, we have someone in the hotel available to help 24 hours a day/7 days a week, should you need assistance with anything. Our night auditors ensure that you are taken cared of should you experience any problems at night. We understand that late at night guests are exhausted and would like to skip the check in process (if they could) so they can just go to their room and rest. This is why Candlewood Suites created the afterhours registration where you access your room keys in one of our lockboxes and then we take care of the check in process the next day. I apologize you thought that there is no one to help you at all until 8am. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. We’d like to show you why we are one of the best hotels in Herndon. Thank you for writing us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Property: Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#1 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing