We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Last Minute Trip - Excellent !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Last Minute Trip - Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Left at end of June - made an unexpected trip - no notice to hotel nothing in Sept. 2012 - And everything was GREAT ! Any staff that was there when I had been there before REMEMBERED ME ! I wasn't a NUMBER ! Used priority points and stayed for free - got the type room I wanted - no problems whatsoever !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluiis5493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing us another review, bluiis5493. It was a pleasure to be of service to you again. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    63
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
39
68
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Candlewood had exactly the amenities I wanted, and didn't waste their resources on things I didn't care about. There was a full-size refrigerator in the room! and a stove-top, and a microwave. I was able to go to the grocery store and get the food I wanted ... the exercise treadmill had a heart-rate monitor that worked! They even had a little self-serve food mart at great prices. I'd be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review Steve R.! I am glad you loved all the amenities we offer. We would love to be of service to you again. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Large spacious rooms with kitchenettes and 10-15 minutes from Dulles. Hotel is on the Dulles flight path so depending on wind direction, you may hire jets taking off over the unit, which can be distracting to sleep.

Main issue is that this hotel is in a typical American concrete corporate sub-division and there is nothing within walking distance other than offices and other hotels. Taxi service was sporadic and unreliable so if you are looking for a restaurant and shopping, you better have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Skierz, I understand you had a less than satisfactory experience with our hotel. I apologize you were distracted by the jets flying over us. Normally, if you have your windows closed you won’t hear it at all. As for restaurants and shopping, the nearest shopping center is just a mile away from us, which is only about 15 minutes to walk to. They have a number of restaurants and a grocery store as well. I hope you will try us again next time you are in the area. Thank you for writing us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed for three weeks and from day one we had a great experience. The staff are wonderful and so helpful and always smiling. Everything is convenient in the hotel, laundry room, gym and in house store.
The hotel location is great, shops nearby and you can go for long walks.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing us a wonderful review, Adriana B. It's a pleasure knowing you had a great stay with us. Our staff members are always happy to be of service to all our guests and I thank you for your compliments to them. Please keep us in mind when you are back in the area again. Thank you for staying at Candlewood Suites Herndon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed for 20 days in August'12 and had an overall great experience. The hotel enjoys locational advantage due to its proximity to the Dulles International Airport and Herndon business districts. The shopping centers are also not far and DC is a 40 minutes drive. The rooms are clean and upkeep is good. The best part of the hotel are the extremely friendly and courteous staff who ensure that whether you are there for business or pleasure, who have a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 3rd and 4th floor facing frontage can be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhasis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Raj5555_12! Thank you for complimenting our team members! I am happy you had a great stay and that you loved our location. We are approximately four miles away from Dulles Airport and close to a lot of big companies such as Time Warner, Northrop Grumman, Booz Allen, etc. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for writing us a review on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Everything in this place is very cheap and low quality, from the design of the building to the furnishings. When you sit at the desk you notice that the chair is very low and if you're using a laptop you'll experience blood circulation problems in your hands. AC units are very loud and even the non-smokng floors stink like cigarettes. The fitness center is something that stands out as being particularly substandard. There are no dumbells and the equipment (one eliptical and treadmill) are not exactly the premium brand that you see in the gym.

Room Tip: If you are willing to shop online through sites such as Priceline and Hotels.com you should be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear BoomerPickins, I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured that although our hotel is not as elaborately decorated as some of the higher-end hotels, our hotel boasts clean, comfortable rooms that give you the convenience of having the stuff you have in your home right in your hotel room such as a flat screen TV, DVD player, fully equipped kitchen, HBO channels, free laundry facilities, barbecue grills and a lot more. I apologize you did not like the chair in your room and that the AC unit was not as quiet as you want it to be. Please be aware that we are very much committed into making you as comfortable as possible in our hotel and would very much want to resolve any of your issues next time you are with us. I hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here two nights while conducting business in Herndon. When I expect to spend more time in a room than just sleeping, I opt for a suite for comfort. However, I cannot call these rooms a comfortable suite. The furnishings and fixtures are very basic (cheap). Tthe decor is non-existent (white hard walls, cabinets, bathroom). There are limited convenience features (no convenient bedside outlets for charging mobile phone). One exception is the bedding is very good quality and comfortable. The staff is friendly and personable, but several times found the reception desk was not occupied. In fact there is no entrance lobby - it feels like going in the back door to an apartment building. In the future I'll be avoiding this franchise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaCroPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cndlherndon, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear MaCroPlanet, I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Although we don't offer the kind of contemporary decor and furnishings most higher-rating hotel does, we offer great service, clean rooms, fully equipped kitchens, free laundry facilities, etc.---and the great thing is, we don't charge you anything extra for it. I apologize you missed the outlet behind your nightstand and that you thought our lobby is not very welcoming. We are currently undergoing lobby renovations which I hope you will get to see. If in the future you need a clean hotel that caters to your basic needs and gives you the best value for your buck, please do keep us in mind. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon

Property: Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Address: 13845 Sunrise Valley Dr, Herndon, VA 20171-4661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Herndon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Washington-Dulles Herndon, located in the Dulles Corridor minutes from Dulles Airport IAD and Metro, is an extended stay hotel convenient to all Washington, DC Northern Virginia area attractions, government and businesses.The Candlewood Suites Herndon provides fully equipped kitchens, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, fitness center, guest laundry, and business services. Close to over 40 restaurants, if you want to enjoy a meal in your suite, the Candlewood Cupboard offers breakfast items, snacks, frozen meals and drinks.Government, contract and military travelers are welcome at the per diem rates. The Dulles Candlewood Suites is a great business location, situated near Herndon and Reston companies such as AOL, Verizon - MCI, IBM, Sprint - Nextel, Siemens, Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Sage, SAIC, EDS, Accenture, Computer Associates, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Learning Tree, Deltek, L3 Communications, and Net Master Class. The Candlewood Suites Dulles is 3 miles from the Air and Space Museum s Steven F Udvar-Hazy Center. Shoppers are near the Dulles Town Center Mall, Tysons Corner, and Leesburg Outlets. Enjoy the extensive amenities at the Candlewood Suites Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon Hotel Herndon
Candlewood Suites Herndon
Candlewood Herndon
Herndon Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing