We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Dulles
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The room looked as if it hadn't been vacuumed in months. There was lots of pet dander, and this is coming from someone who had 3 cats at one point.

Behind the bed we found gobs... and I mean gobs... of bugs. Dead and alive. One spider was so enormous that my husband was even squimish about it. We found at least 1-2 spiders every day in that room. The kitchenette was a nice touch... if it'd been cleaned and kept up. There was just dust, dirt and dander everywhere. The bathroom was so old. Adding a new shower curtain is a cheap way to update a bathroom that hasn't been properly cleaned.

It was really just gross. The only good thing was the free breakfast. This was unlike any Staybridge we've ever been in. We love Staybridge, usually... but definitely not this one. NOT WORTH A PENNY.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluewings7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is an old school StayBridge that is being to show its age. It is the low rise verse the newer high rises. The rooms are clean but a bit small and odd shaped compared to the newer ones. It is more like a apartment complex than a hotel.
It has the amenities of a Staybridge but all are aging. The pool is small. The hot tub wasn’t working. The gym is tiny. The internet is very slow. And parking is poor. The Great room is in the main building and a hike if you are in one of the far unit. I was probably put off as I requested an upper floor and got a lower. There are only two so it feels like being in a basement apartment.

Also they offered a 2 pm checkout as a Platinum member when I checked in. I told them I would call in the morning to see if I needed it. When I called they told me they could not do it!

Given the growth in this area I am sure there are new extended stays near but that you might do better staying at.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Fan on A/C next to bedroom failed at night causing high pitched squeeling. Night-time manager not able to fix. Water leak in living room A/C inlet - wet carpet and musty smell. Repaired on last day but carpet still wet and smelly. Ants in bed by front door and master bath. Loud party in room above on Friday night. Night manager did get them to finally quiet down at midnight. Morning manager arranged for a room transfer on Saturday but after returning from wedding reception, found that room had been given away. Overall poor rating for room quality. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnsosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have used this hotel a number of times, and recommended it to many friends visiting the area. We will never again stay here. My partner and I choose to not be married nor me to take his name - personal choice that comes into play here. I make all our travel arrangements and have all the loyalty accounts for all our stays. I always include both our names on the reservation - he as 'other guest' - when a hotel gives the option. Sometimes he pays for the hotels, sometimes I do.

In this particular hotel (no other hotel we have ever gone to does this) - if he pays - they cancel my reservation and make a new reservation in his name only - therefore guaranteeing that nobody receives any loyalty club points - we are a couple and have and use one account per loyalty club.

After extensive communications with both Priority Club and the Manager of this hotel - Priority Club saw that they were not acting properly and relented, but the Manager of this hotel insisted that nobody would receive points if this same scenario happened again.

She said he could pay in cash (who carries hundreds of dollars in cash these days?) Or he could open his own loyalty account - which conveniently splits our points balance in half so that it takes twice as long to earn any perks. She tried to make it about 'credit card security reasons' - which is totally bogus - my partner appeared in person, they swiped his actual card, it was accepted, and they had his physical signature on the receipt.

There are just too many hotels in NOVA - one on every corner practically - that are virtually empty on weekends to waste time and money on a hotel that treats their customers this way - especially repeat customers.

Do yourself a favor and pick another place for your stay – there are plenty of other suite hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Best tip is to go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AllieInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Only stayed one night after a late (1am) arrival at IAD - 4 of us (2 couples) in a 2 bedroom suite. It was great - if the rest of our accom in the US is up to this standard for the price we'll be very happy! Clean; spacious; comfy beds; 2 ensuite bathrooms;quiet - even though its so close to the airport; friendly & helpful staff (even at 1am!); free breakfast (not a hugely expansive but substantial and a reasonable variety); free internet; and a free shuttle to the airport and to other local places (except 10pm - 6 am unfortunately). Hardly anything more you could ask....
We'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelite42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our room was a pleasant, spacious two-bedroom suite (we were upgraded). The furniture was somewhat worn, but internet access was free and worked OK. Breakfast was decent, the pool was pleasant, and the staff friendly. The only significant weakness is the hotel's location -- there are no restauarants or shopping at all within walking distance. This is not a problem if you've got a car, but I can't imagine staying at this location without one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldHecuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had a great stat at this Staybridge! The front desk clerk who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The hotel is setup as if it was an old apartment complex. Our room was big and clean. Having a kitchen with a full sized fridge and microwave was great! Although clean, the furniture in the room was a bit worn. This is a great dog friendly hotel. I was able to walk our dog on the path to the "pet park" without a problem. We are definelty planning staying her again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgtraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
0.5 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
1.9 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Dulles

Address: 13700 Coppermine Rd, Herndon, VA 20171-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Herndon
#13 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range: $87 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Dulles 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Herndon/ Dulles is conveniently located 4 miles from the Dulles Airport and 25 miles from downtown Washington DC, with easy access to the Dulles Toll Road (Route 267), I-495, Route. 28 & Route 66. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that operates daily within a 5-mile radius from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm. Enjoy our extended stay hotel with exterior guest suite entrances and spacious one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath suites. Stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access in each suite and the business center. At this Staybridge Suites, relax by the outdoor swimming pool, exercise in our fitness center, shoot hoops in the SportCourt, or grill on our BBQ. Pets allowed for fee see pet policy. Join us daily for a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Join us for The Social Tuesday - Thursday evenings for complimentary beer, wine and light fare. Shop nearby at Tysons Corner, Fair Oaks Mall, Reston Town Center, and Leesburg outlets. The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, the Smithsonian museums, battlefields and wineries located in the Washington DC area. Whether staying for business, pleasure or relocation, the caring staff at the Staybridge Suites Herndon/ Dulles is ready to welcome you! Get comfortable while visiting the Herndon, Reston, Chantilly, and Dulles Airport areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Dulles Hotel Herndon
Staybridge Suites Herndon
Dulles Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing