We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare One Night Experience that I'd like to forget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nightmare One Night Experience that I'd like to forget!”
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt Dulles for one night because we had a 6am flight out and wanted to be close to the airport....let me give you a list of what went wrong:

* the shuttle from the airport to the hotel had no/broken A/C which meant that the shuttle was about 100 degrees inside with no air....the driver was too dumb to roll down a window

* when we went to check-in I had negoiated my rate down from $129 to $89/night with Hyatt.com and the front desk had no record of that and had no idea how to "credit' me for the difference

* we tried to set up a shuttle to Dulles but the shuttle started at 5:15 and we needed to leave at 5:00 for a 6:00am flight so we had no choice to spend $15 on a cab

* we called the front desk 2x confirmed we had a wake-up call at 4:45am and it never happened (see next comment)

* that night, someone set the hotel fire alarm off at 1am (smoking?) and apparently this mis-hap caused the front desk to forget about our 4:45am wake-up call

* a 2nd fire alarm went off at 5:20am in the hotel (the loudest scariest sound I have ever woken up to!) and that was our un-official wake-up call

* the hotel took the time to put flyers under every single door in the whole hotel (regarding the 1am fire drill) but never had the consideration to wake us up to tell us the wake-up call system had gone down

* WE MISSED OUR PLANE

* My husband was so angry he threw his suitcase

* staying at the Hyatt Dulles was a complete and total nightmare and the GM will be getting a long-winded letter from us along with all of our receipts from our late departure

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Bananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    363
    146
    68
    31
See reviews for
222
164
114
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

Great hotel! The room was excellent - clean, modern, comfortable bed and couch. The view we had was of the winding freeways with the airport in the near distance and it was fascinating to see the planes take off in the sunset.

Not much around the area but the hotel is worth it if you have to be in Herndon.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 12, 2006

The staff was friendly and the lobby was quite extravagant, but the actual room was askew. The bathroom felt somewhat unclean and for two out of the five days spent there, the pillows and sheets were not changed. The ice machine on our floor was also not functioning, but aside from those few problems, it was an okay stay. Since my stay at the hotel, things might have changed and if so, I would recommend the Hyatt Dulles.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2005

This hotel is rather large in a business park very close to the airport. The staff is very international and extremely helpful. My room was comfortable and up to date. I was there for a one-day business meeting. The meeting facilities were top-notch as well as the food that was provided.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2005

Stayed for a weekend and this property is certianly a bit off the beaten path in an office park development. Nothing else is in walking distance, but since there was a heat advisory this weekend, I wasn't much up for it anyway.

The rooms and hallways have been renovated recently and it appears they still have a bit of touching up to do at this point to get everything squared away perfect, but I liked the direction they are going. The rooms have very soft carpet and very comfortable beds. The sitting end of my King room had a stone topped desk with soft leather desk chair as well as a smallish sofa, chair and coffee table. I liked the fact that the TV swiveled on the console in the center of the room and could be seen from any point in the room. Too many hotels are set up where you cannot see the TV from the desk if you are working late. Glad I didn't have to rearrange the furniture in this room. The bathroom is small but it opens onto an enclosed area with the sink and closet. It was fine for me, but might be tight if you have mulitiple guests in the room. I noticed many newspapers at doors in the morning, but never heard anyone else on my hall day or night like some have reported.

Downstairs all the employees were upbeat and accomodating from the Front Desk to the Restaurant to the Bar. Both the AM and PM staff members remembered me the second visit, even one who had not waited on me before. They gladly accomodated my quirky requests.

Dinner items are priced a la carte and it is quite easy to run up a nice sized check, but all items i was served were enjoyable. I liked the crab cakes both at dinner and at breakfast in the eggs benedict dish. I also tried one of Hyatt's new breakfast items, "Poached Eggs in a Pot" and found it much to my liking. It's stewed tomatoes, ham, spinach, asparagus and 2 poached eggs. Not your normal breakfast fare, but a nice change and well presented.

The only thing that was a turn off at this property was that they use the large open lobby for wedding receptions on Saturday afternoon/evening (just about every weekend the bartender told me). So when i came down for a nice quite drink in the bar before dinner, I was shocked to find the lobby packed and very noisy. Luckilly they all moved into the banquet area for dinner and lobby quieted down quicky after that. Next time i would adjust my schedule accordingly.

If your not looking for a hotel in the center of it all, but still want someplace nice then I would not hesitate to stay here. Best of all their weekend rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2005

We arrived late into Washington DC and just needed 1 night. The experience was we had was good. Everything was as expected. There were zero problems and everyone did their job with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ploza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2005

I stayed at the Hyatt Dulles to take advantage for their Park and Fly deal for a week long trip to California. When we arrived, we were quickly checked in and given a mini suite for the night. The room has spacious, very clean and very quite.

As a Gold Passport member, they also gave us coupons for breakfast the next morning, which we unfortunately could not use because we left the hotel at 6:15 and breakfast did not start until 6:30.

They also seemed a bit unprepared for the number of people who were doing the park and fly deal and needed transportation to the airport in the morning. There were probably 30 people waiting for the bus, and luckly we got down early and were able to beat the rush.

I would definitly stay there again, as sleeping near the airport is always my preference when I have early flights for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dulles

Property: Hyatt Regency Dulles
Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Blvd, Herndon, VA 20171-3400
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dulles 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing