We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No Free Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Dulles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wild wonderful wv
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No Free Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this hotel just for one night prior to visiting some attractions in the DC area. We were really only there long enough to sleep. The room was clean and spacious and seemed modern, except for the bathrooms. No complaints on the bathroom, it was tiny with a toilet and shower -- an older set up where you have to shimmy in around the door/toilet then are able to close the door for privacy. The sink/vanity is outside the bathroom.

We found this hotel via some internet search engines for the Herndon, VA area. We booked this property based on the location, price, and that it was advertised as having "free breakfast". Very important to our family when traveling with kids, having free breakfast on site is a cost saver and convenient. Much to our surprise when we went down to the lobby, there was no free breakfast! There is a restaurant on site though. I did address this with the front desk and Hyatt corporate and received a quick response, so kudos to their customer service for handling a complaint quickly and satisfactorily.

We did see a pool and fitness facility but did not have time to use them. They looked very nice though.

We were first time visitors to DC. Just wanted to spend a Sunday walking around the "mall" area with the monuments and Smithsonian. From this hotel, it was a very easy drive right into DC (about 25 minutes). We had checked into parking and riding the metro in, but decided it was too costly for just one day. I'm glad we didn't, being a Sunday there didn't appear to be any parking enforcement on the streets surrounding the mall. We parked with hundreds of other cars for free on the street in a section that said "3 hr time limit" .... well, no one else was getting tickets or towed, nor did we see any parking authority persons, so we stayed beyond the three hours with no problem. We wished we would have packed a lunch in a cooler for the car. other than mcdonalds at the Smithsonian, and some snack food carts, there weren't any close choices for lunch.

Room Tip: walls on doorway are thin, ask for a room at end of hallway so you won't be disturbed by people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wigglymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    304
    121
    57
    24
See reviews for
179
134
95
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel by chance. I was given a voucher by my airline as they had me miss a connection in Dulles. I don't know the actual rates of the hotel but the voucher was less than $100 and I got a great bedroom with nice sitting area. Everything was great (but for the absence of my suitcase). Several people mention paper-thin walls, but that did not strike me as a major concern. Nor do I find that the hotel is run down and in need of repair. And I certainly know plenty of hotels that do... Breakfast was not part of the package though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

In town over Memorial Day for a wedding. Stayed at the Hyatt Dulles. This hotel is in need of renovation. The facility is tired and in need of a facelift. Desk staff could be a little more helpful. If this hotel has bell staff, they were not in evidence. Next trip the District/Northern Virginia area will definitely not include a stay at this hotel. The web site also need updating and clarification. Misleading as to amenities provided. Housekeeping and wait staff were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I was disappointed to read your recent review on TripAdvisor and I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here at our Northern Virginia hotel. I will definitely pass along the feedback that you provided regarding our Front Desk and Guest Service staff. Regarding our hotel needing a renovation, we are very excited to be planning a guest room renovation for the beginning of 2013! Beautiful things will be happening at the Hyatt Dulles. We did just change our website, but all of our services and amenities are up to date. I'm curious as to what you found misleading. We do hope you will visit us again and give us another try the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satishseh@gmail.com
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a chance to stay at this hotel over this memorial day Holiday weekend. Property is located near to Dulles Airport and is situated in serene Dulles Corner. Rooms are smartly appointed with king size beds, a nice sitting area with a comfortable working desk. Sitting and sleeping area is divided with a rotating large flat screen TV. Bathroom are nice and clean and the view from 10th Floor was great.

Hotel has two dining restaurants and a great lobby bar to relax. The restaurants churns out great food even though little pricey but looking at the quality it is a good value for then money.

Check and check out was smooth and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night with my 18 month old son to recover after our flight from the UK, before heading further into Virginia.
We cannot fault the service we received. The staff were friendly, professional & eager to help. We had requested a crib but had to ask for it to be put in our room on arrival, however it arrived quickly & with some baby toiletries that certainly came in useful on the rest of the trip.
The room was lovely & spacious with modern fittings and it was the perfect place to relax for a night.
The only slight negatives (which did not really impact on our enjoyment) were we had wanted to use the pool with my son but it did not open until 5pm which was too late for us & the other guests were mainly business people, which often made it feel like we were disturbing them when we were using the breakfast area & bar as my son is prone to making loud noises!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymonkey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Check in was a breeze. Location for my work was perfect. Comfortable beds and was quite for the airport location. Great use of space in the smaller bathroom. Love Hyatt's soaps and shampoos. Nice size TV's with good picture and pretty decor in room and all of hotel. Friendly staff and excellent options for quick chekc out. Can't really find anything to complain about with my stay. Will definetly come back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaC810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this place to visit family. We definitely couldn't beat the location as far as convenience. The room layout was a little strange, with the TV being used as a room divider and the bathroom immediately next to the bed.
Pros:
- Quiet
- Location/Convenience
- Speedy check-in
- Onsite restaurant
Cons:
- Not the most comfortable bed
- Rooms are kind of cramped
- Onsite restaurant was rather pricey for breakfast
- Parking spots were hard to come by late at night
- Very late maid service -- our room wasn't clean until after 5 p.m.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the recent review you posted on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you detailing out the items you enjoyed about our property and the items that you found challenging. We will definitely take the feedback you provided to improve our hotel and better our guest's experiences.

Thank you,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dulles

Property: Hyatt Regency Dulles
Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Blvd, Herndon, VA 20171-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Dulles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing