We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Upscale Feel, but Paper-thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Upscale Feel, but Paper-thin Walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here overnight for a job interview in Fairfax. I booked the place through one of Hotwire's hidden hotel deals and paid $87 ($103 with taxes and fees) for the night, which was an excellent price for the room. The location is great--right next to Dulles and easily accessible from the toll road. Amenities were nice--comfortable bed, pool and hot tub, flat screen television, etc. My only complaint was 1.) there's no microwave or fridge in the standard room (the hotel does have a restaurant so it's pretty obvious they want you to spend your money there). And 2.) the walls could be better insulated. This wasn't really a problem for me after 10 o'clock (bed time), but before that the guy next door was watching a sports game and kept shouting at the TV and/or putting his cell phone on speaker and talking really loud. I could have called the desk and complained, but by the time I got fed up enough to do so, the guy next door finally quieted down (around 10pm). While this certainly wasn't the hotel's fault (the noisy neighbor), it does bring up the issue of sound insulation. I didn't hear any noise from outside at all, just the loud guy from next door. Also, you could hear people going in and out of their rooms. This may be a concern for you depending on how lightly you sleep.

Good:
Quality of bedding
Flat screen TVs
Rooms with decent amounts of space
No outdoor noise (even though you're right next to the toll road and airport)
Airport shuttle service
Friendly staff (check-in was a total breeze)
Nicely kept, if mostly deserted, pool and hot tub
Fitness center with good variety of equipment

Bad
Inside sound proofing is weak
No microwave or fridge
Bathroom was a bit small

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laineypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    351
    137
    66
    28
See reviews for
209
157
111
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

After an 8 hour flight from London we had an amazingly speedy trip through immigration and customs at 8pm (30 minutes from plane to collect baggage to exit!!!) it was great to find the hotel shuttle waiting just where they said it would be at exactly the time the said it would be there. Helpful driver loaded bags and we were off for the 10 minute shuttle to the hotel. Arrived to a charming welcome and no queue to check in (we had web checked in anyway and had already had an email with room number etc confirmed). I couldnt work out the web checkin process so a helpful receptionist took charge and we were quickly off to our room. Delightful room with everything we could have asked for. Exceptionally quiet and restful - no airport noise at all. Bedroom and bathroom had all one could require other than a bath tub, but instead a very large walk in shower and US baths generally arent much use for lying in anyway in my experience as they are just small tubs usually so didnt miss it one bit. Had a great nights sleep despite jet lag and woke up raring to go. Had a pretty reasonable and sensibly priced breakfast and went off to pick up our hire car back at the airport. Again used the helpful shuttle while my wife finished packing. The bus dropped me next to the car hire shuttle bus and again a seamless connection. Collected the car and was back at the hotel having only been away 45 mins in total. Went to check out and Greg on reception was extremely helpful and went out of his way to check that we had enjoyed our short stay. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as THE perfect overnight stopever.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have best views but its near an airport so dont expect anything too exciting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the recent review you wrote on TripAdvisor about our hotel. We appreciate you leaving feedback and we will make sure to pass along your kind comments to all our associates. We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Thank you,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was here for a business trip. Very convenient location. One of the closest hotel from Dulles airport. No need to pay highway toll.
Salsa and avocado dips with chips room service with a wine bottle ... So tasty ...
Rooms have hypogenic air filter, which is supposed to kill germs, allegens, and etc.
Service is good, and friendly.

Rooms and furnitures are little older than how it looks from outside. Bathroom is little small, but I can live with it.

Room Tip: High floor, Suite Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seung b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The service is phenomenal. The room is soooo comfy. The food is fabulous and if you have an allergy, the chef, Chris will give you personalized service. I travelled with a Vegan and I am a gluten free pescaterian and Chris made sure to accommodate both of us. Prices are reasonable and comfort is a primary goal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for telling everyone about your experience here at the Hyatt Dulles! I was very excited to see that our Chef and his team took such great care of you. We look forward to your next vist to Northern VIrginia.

Thank you,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had to fly out early in the morning from the Dulles IA. We therefore opted for a hotel near the airport rather than having to leave very early from WDC.
Thanks to Trip advisor the Hyatt Dulles was a wise choice.
Dulles Hyatt is a fantastic property built in a business district located around an artificial lake, decorated with works of art and benches to relax.
We used the free shuttle twice to go from the hotel to the airport and from there to WDC. It runs every 30 minutes and was always on time (12 min. ride). Every one of the three different drivers was very courteous and friendly.
The junior suite was spacious, quiet and the bed comfortable. Air traffic was not an inconvenience.
The hotel lobby is spacious and cordial with a relax atmosphere.
My view, contrary to some opinions expressed, is that the buffet breakfast is fully worth its price ($ 19.). The same comment applies to the menu offered at the restaurant, adjacent to the bar, and the quality of the food served.
The staff, whether from the concierges, attendants at the reception, servers and drivers are exceptionally efficient and courteous. Special thanks to the cook and the server who made every effort to ensure that we can enjoy the buffet breakfast somewhat before opening hour. We were at the airport on time and well fed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban D.C.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Got sent here by an airline when our plane was cancelled. Arrived at the hotel late and was warmly welcomed. Desk provided toiletries (tooth brush and paste, deodorant, and shaving cream and shaver). Had a very tastety sandwich in the bar area (extensive menu) even though it was about 11 PM. Very comfortable bed and quiet room (couldn't hear air traffic in the morning). Starbucks in lobby and a nice breakfast area. Free shuttle to nearby Dulles airport. This Hyatt made the travel interruption tolerable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepFreeze63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were leaving early in the morning so decided to stay at an airport hotel rather then drive from the D.C./Maryland area so early in the morning.

The hotel is in a business district so there's not much nearby for the traveler. However, there was a gas station about 1/2 to 1 mile away so we could fill up our rental car with no problem.

The room was spacious and clean and the bed quite comfortable. The hotel is full service so it has most anything you need. Of note is that they do not have a shuttle to the airport though they will call a cab for you. This was not an issue for us because we had a rental car and even though we turned it in at 4:30 am, Enterprise had shuttle service at that time to the airport (even though they stated the first shuttle was not until 4:45 am)

We found the staff friendly and competent. We have no complaints. We're glad we stayed and would do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review of our property. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip to Northern Virginia. I did want to follow-up with you as I think there may have been some confusion on our hotel shuttle to the airport. We do offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes starting at 5:30am and running until 12:30am each day. My apologies that this was not communicated to you. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Thank you,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dulles

Property: Hyatt Regency Dulles
Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Blvd, Herndon, VA 20171-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Dulles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing