We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smokers Haven”
Reviewed February 9, 2008

I stayed at this hotel the week of Feb 4th. The room and service was fine, The bathroom seemed clean. The gym was also nice and open 24 hours. I had a room facing the airport on the 8th floor, and the sound of jets taking off was quite noticeable.

My main gripe with this hotel, and the reason I rated it low was that smoking is permitted in the lobby, and in order to get to the elevators you have to walk thru the the lobby which is THICK WITH SMOKE. When I complained to management at the hotel they insisted on a 24 hour notice to check out.

Although I am a Hyatt platinum member, I wil do my best to avoid Hyatts in Virgina and choose a chain that is more concerned with their customers heath.

I feel bad for the staff at the front desk that have to suck in those noxious fumes all day.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dpm285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    363
    146
    68
    31
See reviews for
222
164
114
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt for a wedding, it was very nice. The room was very spacious it had a nice sitting area with a queen size bed.
It also had a very large bathroom. I would recommend this hotel, it is a good value.

  • Liked — Clean nice would be a great hotel to stay at for buisness
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank racklatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Decent hotel near the Dulles Airport and Herndon Business District.

PROS:
- Room Layout - very unique and well thought out with a separate sitting area. Room was clean and modern - bed relatively comfortable.

- Full bar and restaraunt. Good room service.

CONS:
- Hallways need re-walpapered and painted - kind of shabby considering the rest of the property.

- Smoking in the lobby/bar area. Nothing says welcome to our hotel like cigarette smoke. I guess Virginia still is in the "south"

- Charge for (slow) Internet access

  • Liked — Room Layout
  • Disliked — Dirty Hallways and Cigarette Smoke in the Lobby
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Pros:
*The room was very clean
*Bedding: Like a lot of other hotels, they have gone to the duvet cover (no bedspread) set up. The bed was extremely comfortable (had a pillowtop) - but might be too soft for people who like a firm mattress.
*They have the iHome alarm clocks (you can plug in your iPod)
*Staff were friendly and accomodating
*The Internet access was very easy to use

Cons:
*The lobby is a large open space and contains the lounge/bar. The entire lobby stunk of smoke (it reminded me of a Vegas casino!)
*The soda machines on all floors are $3.00 for a soda. I thought that was a bit out of hand, so I stopped at a 7-11 and bought my own water!

So a lot of pros and just one con - who spends a ton of time in the lobby anyway?

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beenievt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This sounds a bit stupid, but what I liked most about this hotel was its refreshing floorplan. Upon entering there is a small living room area which is separated from the sleeping area by a built-in console/chest of drawers. On top is a swiveling television (should be flat-panel); so you can watch TV from the bed area of the sofa.

I don't know why, but this surprised me and was a welcome change from the usual.

Everything else was spot on. Great location for an overnight after arriving on a cross-country flight.

  • Liked — Unique floorplan
  • Disliked — No negatives to speak of.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfimporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Hyatt Dulles is sooo classy for such a reasonable price!! We first stayed here on New Year's Eve just to get away and enjoy a nice relaxing evening and it was a perfect pick! We just came back again in August. It is located right behind the airport and the rooms have these huge windows where you can view planes taking off and landing all night and day! It's really amazing to watch. They have wonderful deals that include full american breakfast buffets. The rooms are spotless! Huge comfortable beds, comfortable living areas, desk areas and clean, roomy showers. It stays pretty quiet and there is a 24 hour computer room and fitness center. Also a nice indoor pool. There is a restaurant on the main floor but the prices are pretty high if you don't have some sort of stay package. Thats not a problem though because there are all kinds of stores and shops on the main road. The lobby is very comfy but the only bad part is that you can smoke in the lobby and because its such a huge area it taints ALL of the air!! Hopefully soon you will not be able to smoke inside there and then I will have 0% complaint. There is also a nice garden terrace outside of the lobby where you can also see the planes. I love this place, I plan to come back frequently. You will not regret your stay!

  • Liked — The price and the comfort
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed in lobby
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Dulles Airport Hotel prior to a flight we had a 6am the next morning.

The grounds of this hotel are meticulously kept. There is a beautiful outdoor eating area.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The lobby is beautiful - very large (the restaurant and bar are located right in the middle of it all), complete with a koi pond.

We had the standard king executive room. The room was very spacious and stylish. The room was decorated in neutrals, very modern chic. There was a sitting area with a love seat and chair, and a desk in the corner.

The hotel was surprisingly quiet, especially for being right by the airport.

This hotel was very secure. We had to use our room key to even move the elevator from the lobby level.

Parking here is free. This is the closest hotel to the airport, as well as the nicest.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlamGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dulles

Property: Hyatt Regency Dulles
Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Blvd, Herndon, VA 20171-3400
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dulles 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing