We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt House Herndon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt House Herndon
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I didn't expect the kind of service we got for what we paid. Was able to get a low price and when we identified that our daughter could only drink soy milk, minor inconviance, at breakfast, the staff ran out and bought us soy milk not expecting any remburisment. The room was clean and big. Bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bmalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    68
    28
    5
    8
See reviews for
79
37
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

When we visit usa last 3 year ago our choice was this property was called Hyatt summer field . and now Hyatt house. we stay about 15 days and now coming back this vacation on coming jun to stay another 12 days ,hope the duty manger doesn’t remember us  as i file complain about her hospitality. and the bed issue . we usually use Marriott property.
any way honestly we like the area and the facility in the rooms, usually we take 2 room.
but i promises you to write in my next visit jun2013 the development and situation progress and what i see. so guys lets give another chance . :) lool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jedawi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Awesome place with super awesome staff. I had absolutely no trouble staying here for months. Every little request was taken care on time. They had especially arranged the buffet lunch for few folks with food items belonging to our country.
With all the food joints, big retail, etc at walking distance, you find this hotel with absolutely no reason to dislike it. They also provide shuttle service for airport and places near by like shopping, dining, etc.
I highly recommend this place, must stay!

Room Tip: Request for a hotel room with pool side view if you are staying there in summers. And for winters ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genie13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
332 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I dont know much about the former names, perhaps Sommerfield got bought out of the deal? Anyway, the HYATT 'house' (and yes, that's lower case) is a nice alternative to many of the other upscale named places , if they're not even closer to Dulles, like big brother Hyatt down the road with big brother prices. This place seemed relatively newly built, everything was spanking clean and new, like the toaster, sink, fridge, TVs and bath. I upgraded from a 'studio' to a one-bedroom, and appreciated the space even tho I was only there for a two day conference. The bedroom, bath and shower area are the equivalent of an entire room in some of the downtown DC hotels. There's a full studio apartment sized kitchen, two burners, microwave, pots/pans, sink and fridge with a 'real' freezer to hold a frozen pizza or half-gallon ice cream along with ice-maker, so it feels top drawer. Spacious counter doubles as your desktop/workspace are to plug in the laptop. There's a comfy sofa I could actually lie across full length while scrolling channels of the HD flatscreen a few feet away.
The bonus? less than that pricing. I got a great deal compared to what was posted around the area on hotels.com and others. There is a Springhill, COurtyard and Hampton nearby but this was just as good for less. Great breakfast buffet and evening happy-hour which had real beer on tap to go with your tapas! Outside was a pool and basketball court if you need a little workout. There's a full supermarket not to far away so stocking your fridge with eats isn't hard at all. They did find me a 'quiet' location as I asked for and it was, altho I had a trip up and down from the upper floors as a draw back.
Staff was friendly but alittle too intrusive for my tastes (I'm more of a road warrior when traveling and get a razor focus on work stuff so I dont have time to chit-chat. There's always more work than there's time for on the road) but it was nice to have the amenities there but not hafta use them. Around the corner is Reston Center with movies, shops and restaurants from low key/cost Cosi and Panera to the China Bowl - more upscale but also pricey, and others. Shop around for price and even if this comes out a few dollars higher, take it, you'll thank me.
WHy a Good and not Excellent rating? - well, a design flaw places the one slow moving elevator at a disadvantage to some of the rooms, and parking spaces was an after thought on the design as well, probably to maximize billable space vs. dead. At a courtyard, for example, you might park right in front of your suite, since you have a separate entrance and no one else is in your unit..but you! When I'm come back to the area, for DC or suburb explorations, I'll defintely pic this place again.

Room Tip: one elevator, stairwells are poorly placed at the end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HikingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

With four children its hard to find a room that's affordable spacious comfortable and ticks mums box on class - this place had it all. Two bedroom suite came with a king and ensuite bathroom in both rooms and a very comfortable double pull out in the lounge - kids devoured the buffet breakfast - overall super happy - only took 30 minutes driving into dc!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
348 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hyatt House is ranked #1 in upscale extended-stay hotel brand by the Business Travel News 2012 hotel chain survey. I would agree. This place is less like a hotel and more like a residence.

There are separate spaces that allow you to live like you might in your own home. The studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites all offer full kitchens with a full size refrigerator, comfy living rooms, spacious bedrooms and stylish bathrooms. You do not have to sleep on a pull out sofa bed.

There are two main social areas for the complimentary buffet breakfast and social hour although social hours are not held on the weekends, which was the case for my weekend here. There is a small workout room, outdoor pool and outdoor grilling area. It was too cold to enjoy these outdoor spaces on this cold winter weekend.

I first stayed at Hyatt House in Boulder, Colorado late last year (see my review and pics) and really enjoyed my one night experience. I recently sought a hotel room to accommodate up to 4 people near the Reston Town Center (RTC). I came upon a 2 bedroom suite here for the weekend for only $90 per night. Unbelievable? But true! I also had two separate full bathrooms and even a natural gas fireplace located in the center living room to boot.

It can’t get any better than that. Also there is complimentary shuttle service to RTC, which only takes about 7 minutes.

I would highly recommend this place especially for families in need of lots of space. There is even a washer/dryer combo in the public area if you want to do laundry during extended stays.

I will definitely try other Hyatt Houses and may return to this one again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Hyatt House hotel (formally the Hotel Sierra) many times for business since 2009. It is located 10 minutes from Dulles airport and has a good shuttle service available, if you give them a call when you land, they will be there waiting for you at the bus stop 2H every time. There are three or four different types of rooms, each one has a little kitchen area and a good sized fridge, the larger rooms have a dividing wall between the living area/bedroom. Breakfast is good with a decent selection of cold and hot food available. In the evening the bar serves bottled beer, a basic selection of red and white wine and a few spirits with soft drinks on tap. The bar offers food to eat at in the bar/lounge area or to take away and the selections is okay. In summary, the hotel is very good, has great staff and I will be using again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Herndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Herndon

Property: Hyatt House Herndon
Address: 467 Herndon Pkwy, Herndon, VA 20170-5202 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
#11 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hyatt House Herndon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location! we are an extended stay property in Herndon / Reston, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt House Herndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Herndon Hotel Herndon
Summerfield Suites Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Summerfield Suites
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing