We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for a stopover, although feasibly you use it as a base to visit DC. Hotel is quickly reached from Dulles via a complimentary shuttle running every 30 minutes. Check in was quick and friendly. I got a high floor room awya from the elevators. As many have already said the hotel rooms are of suite format meaning a separate living area and and bedroom. The living area had a sofa and an easy chair together with the usual desk and chair. The bathroom was off the entrance lobby and was well equipped and clean. the bedroom was reached through French doors and had a King sized bed with Marriott's great mattress and bedding. Both rooms had air conditioning. one advantage of this hotel over many airport hotels is that the hotel sits in an entertainment/ shopping/ dining area. there is a large multiplex cinema and a really good choice of restaurants from TGFI through Chinese Thai and Indian to American Ribs and Wings and Pizzas. Also there is a large Giant supermarket about 5 minutes walk away for other shopping needs. Breakfast was served next to the lobby and was just OK - it seemed rather limited in comparison to other Marriott buffet breakfasts.
I had a great stay there at the astounding rate of $67 per night. Definitely on my radar for stopovers at Dulles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 403 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just stayed at the Marriott Suites right outside Dulles for business and I have to say it was an excellent property. Start with the rooms. The suite concept is nice, as it gives the illusion of more space. My room had a bedroom, living room, and bath in an all-connected, triangular configuration. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room (intentionally) frigid at night.

The work area was one of the most comfortable I'd had in a long time and the wireless offered adequate performance. At times, it seemed pokey, but nothing too serious to complain about.

The hotel does not have a Concierge Lounge, but does offer a complementary breakfast buffet in their ground-floor restaurant to Elite members. In many ways, this is better than the typical Concierge Lounge experience, since you get a better meal. What you lose, of course, is the all-day snack/drink service that the Lounge typically provides.

But what I really, really liked best about this hotel was the location -- not just its proximity to Dulles and all the businesses that cluster around the airport like teenage girls at a boy band concert. The Marriott Suites sits atop a mini-strip mall that offers no fewer than a dozen restaurants. In addition to the standard TGI Fridays, there's also a Subway, a Starbucks, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Korean, Mediterranean, Pizza, Ice Cream, and a Sports Bar. The ones I tried were pretty good and most were accessible with a 30-second walk from the hotel.

When I'm back in the area, this is definitely where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our recent stay at the Marriott Suites-Dulles was spot on. We stayed one night when passing through DC on the way to Africa from California. The hotel was well situated to the airport and allowed easy access to Metropolitan DC using public transit. The front desk staff provided us with a map and details on how to get to DC proper using transit at a fraction of the cost of a cab or private car. Instead of spending $60 each way we spent about $15 per person!
The rooms are well appointed with a separate bedroom and living area. Baths are large enough and our suite had coffee making facilities as well as a mini-fridge and microwave.

Free shuttle from the airport was a BIG BONUS!

Overall agreat value for the money. Check the website for discounts for AAA, AARP and corporate...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chictraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is perfectly appointed and strategically located. Just a 5 minute drive from the airport and less than 1 mile off the main route, this facility is located in the Worldgate plaza that is home to over 10 resturants and a variety of services (nail, hair, tan, message, gaming, movie, etc.) all right on the property. There is a variety of ethnic and American fare that was open early and late all within walking distance. The hotel itself is very well designed, extremely well maintained, and ran by quality and attentive staff. I would stay here again for both business and travel.

Room Tip: This is a suites hotel. All rooms are the same and excellently positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were fabulous. Very spacious. When the kids were falling asleep as they watched tv in bed, I could shut the double French doors and watch a program in the living area. The bathroom is spacious and offers privacy from the sinks and the bathroom. Service was excellent and pay for the breakfast. It was a minimal upgrade to our room rate. Close to airport. Lots of little shops and restaurants connected. My sister can't always accommodate our entire family - we will stay again next time we visit Herndon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Hotel is super clean and in a perfect location from the airport and DC. There are so many restaurants in the same plaza you can have any type of food you want. As for me i just stayed put because the diner in the hotel did the job. The Hotel Staff is what made this place from excellent to superior. Daniel went out of his way to make all the guests from my cousin's wedding comfortable and at ease. You guys are awesome!!!!

Room Tip: the tip here is do nothing! they will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mychau N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great hotel in a wonderful location! Spacious rooms, nice pool and good staff. Close to Dulles airport. The hotel attached to a "mall", lot's of restaurants, and a movie theatre. I stayed for a weekend break and couldn't of picked a better place. Friendly and fast check in, staff very accomodating and this hotel is close to anything that you could possibly need.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Marriott Suites

Address: 13101 Worldgate Dr, Herndon, VA 20170-4375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range: $103 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites is one of the premier hotels near Dulles Airport. Featuring all-suite accommodations, this hotel in Herndon, Virginia is located 3 miles from IAD Airport and offers 253 newly renovated spacious guest rooms with high-tech business amenities and separate living areas. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate the hotel's complimentary shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport. Washington Dulles Marriott Suites is within walking distance to dozens of restaurants, unique shops and activities at the adjacent Worldgate Centre. Guests will also enjoy our close proximity to the National Air and Space Museum Udvar Hazy Center, Reston Town Center, Dulles Expo Center and numerous Northern Virginia wineries. For an important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities and custom catering are perfect for a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Dulles Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Marriott Hotel Herndon
Marriott Washington Dulles
Marriott Herndon
Herndon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing