We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, clean, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Herndon Reston
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good value, clean, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

rooms are clean and well kept. staff is very nice, and helpful. breakfast is included, buffet, help yourself. very comfortable. worth the money. not the ritziest area, but not bad either. easy to get around the area, and plenty to do nearby. free parking, pool. a good deal.if you use marriott points, its a mid level.

Room Tip: ask it you are required to use stairs, as there are several for most of the two bedroom units. no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    64
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
20
28
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have given Marriott almost 700 nights personally over the years. The rooms at Courtyards are pretty much the same. What makes this one different is the service. They are amazing here. I have no complaints at all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, New York
Level Contributor
889 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. For a family of six, we booked a suite for our daughter. They had a two floor suite, with a queen sized bed and bathroom upstiars. Downstairs there were two double beds and a bath, the beds separated by a curtain for privacy (boys/girls). We had a very nice room with a living room, kitchen and queen bed for an amazing price. The price included an afternoon snack and a full breakfast. The rooms are grouped in buildings of only 8 bedrooms, four down and four up. This made is very private and very quiet. The room key only works to unlock your building, so you feel super safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 3 nights here for a workshop being held on the premises. They are remodeling, and nothing had ever been mentioned about the construction that went on all 3 days. It was not an issue as far as the room was concerned, but definitely got in the way of the workshop. My room, recently remodeled, was fine: clearly new (I may have been the first person to occupy it), very clean, comfortable, and roomy, and redone in attractive bright colors. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good, and their coffee urns were kept full. Well priced for the area, and very convenient to Dulles.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the newly remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spidersilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Has great pricing for weekends--a. Real value. Hotel undergoing construction but did not cause any problems. The stalk is very professional and helpful. Restaurant is also reasonable, fast, and good. Wished there had been a microwave in the room. A very good value in an area were prices can be steep. Close to everything in Reston and airport(15 minutes).

Room Tip: Make certain that they locate you away from the wing under renovation(they did for me)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The desk clerk at check in was friendly and she handled my transaction quickly and smoothly. But her directions to my room were off. There was no map available and she directed me to a side entrance that was quite far from the room, using a parking area that was almost overflowing. I eventually found my room and a more convenient entrance with adequate parking on my own.

The room was stylish and comfortable. All parts of the room were clean. All of the fixtures and appliances in the room were in good working order. The wifi signal was consistent throughout the visit. The room was perfectly quiet, with no hint of noise from the highway nearby. The public areas of the hotel were also clean and appealing. The indoor pool was staffed with a lifeguard who stayed busy maintaining the pool area, but she didn’t interact with any guests using the pool. The pool itself was set at a very comfortable temperature and it was big enough for novice level exercise.

Before checking out, I wanted to use the public computer in the lobby to print one page of maps and directions. There was no available USB port that would accommodate a thumb drive. The desk clerk had no solution, so the only workaround that we could come up with was to unplug the keyboard and use that port. An inelegant solution, but it saved a trip to the office store on a Sunday for a single map page. The desk clerk was friendly and apologetic. He was quick and efficient with the actual check out procedure.

Overall, it was a comfortable visit. The imperfections were such that I’ll probably shop around before my next visit to the area, but I’d return if this property remains the best value in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent a weekend visiting the Udvar-Hazy facility near Dulles and selected this Courtyard for location and pricing. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Check-in was fast even with people ahead of me, the facility's lobby and coffee shop / restaurant are in excellent condition - clean and comfortable. The hallways and elevator need touching up, but the room itself was excellent, clean, comfortable and roomy. The bed was comfortable and I didn't hear any undue noise from either other guests or Dulles traffic.

Assuming you have a car there are restaurants and theaters nearby, or you can eat on site, though it's a limited menu. Breakfast is ala carte and was not included with my rate - I believe it isn't a complimentary offer.

Room Tip: Probagly don't want the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
1.3 mi away
Washington Dulles Marriott Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Herndon Reston

Property: Courtyard Herndon Reston
Address: 533 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business and leisure travel routine when you step inside the Courtyard hotel in Herndon, VA. Our hotel near Reston, Virginia features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. The Bistro offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee. Our guest rooms feature luxury bedding with cotton rich sheets, fluffy pillows, complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TVs with HBO and a large work desk area. Enjoy our well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service.Our Herndon, Virginia hotel is conveniently located near the Reston Town Center which features a variety of shopping and dining options as well as the Reston business district. The Reston Business District is home to such companies as Accenture, ComScore, Deloitte, Microsoft, NII Holding, Oracle, Quadramed, Rolls Royce and Verisign. Our hotel is also just 6 miles from the Dulles International Airport. Situated just off the Dulles Toll Road on Herndon Parkway, our hotel is also just minutes away from historic Washington, DC, Alexandria, Arlington Virginia and popular tourist attractions such as the Udvar-Hazy Air and Space Museum, The White House, The Washington Monument, The Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials, Arlington National Cemetery and The Smithsonian family of museums.Your stay at our Herndon, VA hotel is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Courtyard
Herndon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing