We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than average Thai food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
Ranked #27 of 217 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Better than average Thai food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We tried Tara Thai for the first time and were impressed. Service was a little slow at first to get even a glass of water, but after that it was good. The food was very good, very spicy in a good way. Watch out on the condiments! Curry puffs are a good starter, followed by Phal salmon and a spicy chicken/shrimp fried rice. The drinks (Bangkok Sunset, Mai Tai and French Martini) were good and reasonably priced at $7.25.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great casual atmosphere, serving mostly seafood. Nothing negative about the operation however it is a small place. Bar is adequate and service friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, Wyoming
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food was incredible, service was fast and the staff was very friendly. Happy hour from 5 to 7, good drink specials. I will definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WYphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I enjoyed it. I had the Kapow and it was tasty. The portion was more for than I expected. If I have training in this area again, I will try out their Pad Thai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soul4lyUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
580 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Close to the Hotels. They offer dine in, Pick up and Delivery! The service was friendly and good. The prices were very reasonable. The spring rolls were good (six small rolls for $5)but the larger Garden Thai rolls with grilled chicken were very good (five rolls for $6). The won ton soup with crab and BBQ pork was vet tasty ($5); the deluxe Papaya Salad was also good. ($7). The larger entrees like Pad Thai and wide noodles with chicken & shrimp were delicious and priced $8 to $13.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing