We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best deal in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
Ranked #29 of 215 Restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great casual atmosphere, serving mostly seafood. Nothing negative about the operation however it is a small place. Bar is adequate and service friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Moran, Wyoming
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food was incredible, service was fast and the staff was very friendly. Happy hour from 5 to 7, good drink specials. I will definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WYphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I enjoyed it. I had the Kapow and it was tasty. The portion was more for than I expected. If I have training in this area again, I will try out their Pad Thai.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soul4lyUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
566 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Close to the Hotels. They offer dine in, Pick up and Delivery! The service was friendly and good. The prices were very reasonable. The spring rolls were good (six small rolls for $5)but the larger Garden Thai rolls with grilled chicken were very good (five rolls for $6). The won ton soup with crab and BBQ pork was vet tasty ($5); the deluxe Papaya Salad was also good. ($7). The larger entrees like Pad Thai and wide noodles with chicken & shrimp were delicious and priced $8 to $13.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ordered food to-go and ate in our hotel room (hotel was adjacent to the restaurant. The food was ready in about ten minutes. The manager was very friendly and despite my insistence on a tip, he refused and said that he just admired us for having so many kids (we had 5 kids with us) - he told us our tip money would be better spent on the kids. The food tasted great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clovebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing