We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect place for a small family outing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frying Pan Park

Frying Pan Park
2709 West Ox Road, Herndon, VA 20171
703-437-9101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working farm, live animals, playground, country store, tractor rides, farmer's market
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a small family outing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to bring your kids to. It is free but they do have a merry go round and a hayride that cost money but it is affordable. There are babies in the spring, you can see horses, piggies, goats, cows, sheep, calves, kids, piglets, ducks, turkeys, bunnies, chickens etc...they also do a milking demo too. Bring a lunch and have a picnic, it's something fun to do that doesn't take up your entire day, it's not too tiring, and it's a lot of fun to be around the animals. If your lucky there might be a show going on or special event and you may get to touch some of the animals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommytravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our dog's favorite place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Frying Pan Park is really oriented to children, but our old, very ill dog LOVED to go there to visit the piggies. The farm is about a miles walk from our house and even though he was getting weaker and weaker with age and illness, he wanted to go there twice a day. His strength peaked as the pig barn came into sight and he would drag either me or my husband to the door and we would walk around and around in one door and out the other visiting the pigs both at the inside pens and outside pens. He liked nothing more than to have the opportunity to lick a hogs nose or ears or get up close and personal with a piglet. We sincerely believe that these pigs kept him alive an extra three months because he believed he had to visit them each day. On the last day of his life, we drove him to the farm, let him out of the car, and he headed with great strength to the pig barn. He would have walked around in that circle for hours even though he had not laid down nor slept in over two days, but we had an appointment with destiny that day and bid the pigs a final farewell. We are so grateful to the keepers of the farm for the wonderful job that they do and the kindness of their interactions with all their visitors, children, adults, and black four legged guests. The farm will always hold a very dear spot in our hearts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronks, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great activity that's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been there often to visit the farm animals, take a quiet walk, watch a horse show or see people ride. I highly recommend it for kids of all ages!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shan3034
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, free activity for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I went here two weekends ago with our 13 month old. There were so many animals (it is spring, so lots of babies!) and my daughter had the best time seeing all of them. They have a playground, as well as a carousel and tractor rides (for a small fee), but we didn't try those this time around. It's great to get out and enjoy nature, and see hens, cows, goats, pigs, horses and more. The blacksmith was there pounding out something creative. Lots of picnic areas, so bring food and drinks, and enjoy a beautiful day taking advantage of nature and Fairfax County parks! Can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shan3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See the spring babies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Bring your kids of all ages here-especially in springtime to see the baby pigs, lambs, chickens etc. The piglets are adorable! Nice place to walk around with kids, and a great sliding board.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizardo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frying Pan Park also viewed

 

Been to Frying Pan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing