We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good choice when sleeping near Dulles Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good choice when sleeping near Dulles Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night after a long flight and before going to Washington DC the next day. This hotel is perfect for this purpose.

There are 2 shuttles an hour to bring you to the hotel from the airport. The hotel is near the airport, but you don't hear any airplanes here. The rooms are very quiet.

The bed is very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful.

The next morning we took the free hotel shuttle back to the airport, where we took the metrobus straight into Washington DC (6USD one way).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beerbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    217
    75
    28
    31
See reviews for
140
114
72
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I were coming back from Germany when, after spending 2hrs on the tarmac, our flight to Miami was canceled. Anyone who's been through this knows the drill. The ticketing agent rattled off some hotels (Hampton Inn, Hilton, etc.) then said "Westin." We jumped on it and couldn't have been happier. We had to wait for the shuttle in the rain with only our carry on luggage, but what a treat when we got there. Took all of two minutes to check in and thankfully the bar was open for a couple more hours. The front desk gave us a 2pm check out (flight wasn't until 6pm) and after spending eleven days on an uncomfortable bed in Berlin with limited hot water you can only imagine how happy we were. Westin's a great chain and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parsonsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here one night with my husband and baby after getting a great deal on hotels.com. The room was nice and updated, we were offered a crib upon check-in, and the front desk was all around very accommodating. Westin beds are always "heavenly", and the indoor pool was a perk in the less than perfect weather. Overall, a good experience and would def recommend to friends staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrived quite late into Washington and planned to stay at the Westin. Shuttle bus arrives every 15 minutes at the airport and takes you to the hotel within 5-8 minutes. Located on a 'new housing and business estate' and the hotel seems to be completely new. Staff were excellent - good service and very attentive. The rooms (and the rest of the hotel) were very clean. We rooms are very quiet (we requested a room at the end of a corridor) and the beds are excellent. No wonder they call them heavenly bed - you don't want to get up the following morning! All-round a wonderful experience at the Westin - highly recommended for those staying overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor - away from the elevators. It doesn't matter if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchman1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear dutchman1011,

Thank you for your feedback and for your kind words about our hotel. Our shuttle actually arrives at 2H at Dulles Airport every 30 minutes at the :15 and :45 of every hour and we are one of the few hotels that actually runs overnight as well if necessary.
We have noticed many of our guests stay at this Westin and others simply for the famous Heavenly Bed. What can be more important than a good night's sleep?
Thank you once again for your feedback and please let me know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Regards,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I were traveling to Virginia Beach and got stuck in Washington D.C. because of a canceled flight. United put us up at the Westin and I was happy that they did. My wife and I were greeted with smiles and superb customer service. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a comfortable bed. They made our bad trip a little more bearable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judo73kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This Westin keeps up the tradition of nice rooms with very polite staff. Very convenient to the airport and local businesses and the Air and Space museum. The rooms are comfortable and clean my room looked over the airport and a highway but you don't notice any noise in the room. The area around the hotel is nice and there is free parking in the garage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwstnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Checked in for a quick overnight with a business associate...a 3 year old property that's been kept up very well. Clean rooms and a very large, comfortable lobby. Free garage parking and often there's on-street parking available in the apartment community that surrounds the hotel. Reston Town Center with dozens of restaurants is a 10 minute, easy drive. The staff were very friendly and professional...as a Platinum, I was welcomed warmly, had my status acknowledged and asked if I had any special preferences. There was a group in the hotel so there were no upgrades available given our mid-evening arrival; in truth, I don't think there are many non-standard rooms in the hotel anyway.

Room was the typical Westin design but modern and clean...step-in, over-sized shower but no bathtub in the room I was assigned. There is no Club Floor (very surprising for a Westin preoperty of this calibre) but I was offered complimentary access to the breakfast buffet in the lobby restaurant. Even free, this was less than "Westin-standard". The hotel had a group in the hotel that day, and they overwhelmed the hotel breakfast. Nothing was replenished and there was very little on display. Staff didn't seem too aware...let them know, and they sprang into action...ales and front desk staff came over to help. They cleared tables and helped bring the buffet back to a "respectable" state. It was kind of impressive but shouldn't have happened...someone should have set up a special breakfast for the "group" in a function room or something, so regular guests could be accomodated.
QUESTION: Why don't they try to set aside the best rooms in the best location for elite SPG guests? And why do Westins and Sheratons that have groups booked-in for one or two nights feel that it is more important to assign their best rooms and upgrade these guests who have likely not been there before (and likely never will again) instead of their loyal SPG users? I heard another guest asking the same thing when he was told that the King room he had reserved months ago, was "unavailable due to a large group in the hotel"? A little advance planning coupled with today's technology ought to be able to minimize this sort of thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Property: The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Address: 2520 Wasser Ter, Herndon, VA 20171-6177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing