We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was with 3 more people and We had a Great time there.
Clean and spacious rooms and a good proceso. breakfast was ok with a súper food concept.
Great fitness área and a good pool área.
Really convenience if you need to be close to the airport (free shuttle)
Easy and fast accest to WDC
The staff is friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agustin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 745 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a clean, well appointed hotel that is a 5 minute ride from Dulles using the Westin Courtesy Shuttle bus. The bus is on a 30 minute repeat cycle.
The hotel staff is quite responsive, the in-house bar is decent and the food is reasonable. Food prices are higher than I'd have expected given the reasonable (but not outstanding) quality of the entrees.
Rooms are quite clean with either free WiFi or extended stay higher bandwidth WiFi.
Location is a bit isolated so you probably need a car if you choose to go to different restaurants in the evening.
Overall, the Westin is a good choice if you are staying in the Herndon area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodiefan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Westin is convenient to Dulles-less than a 5 min drive. The hotel is located in a residential area so there is a lack of restaurants unless you have a car. If you have a car the good news is they have free parking and there are some places to eat I the area...check Yelp. The parking garage is attached to the hotel so you have easy access.

The downside.....I can't believe that they charge for WIFI and the charge is $9.99 per day...are you kidding? Even the cheapest of hotels have free WIFI...in today's world that's like charging for TV. I am sure that I am not the only one who gets pissed when you are paying premium rates and then they rip you for something as common and free as WIFI....WHAT ARE THEY THINKING?

I would easily give them 4 stars if they weren't so greedy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear ComeflywithmeFlorida,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Feedback from our guests such as yourself gives us the information we need to to improve our hotel and hotel service...
I understand your frustration with the $9.95 charge for internet per 24 hour period as I realize that many hotels offer complimentary internet access. Hotels have to make a decision between offering free internet access at an increased room rate or keeping the room rate low while charging for internet access. Of course, we have gone with the latter. You will find that most large hotels charge for internet access because providing internet service has become more and more costly these days. Many of our guests have multiple devices accessing the internet between tablets, phones, and laptops which demands exponentially more bandwidth and maintenance.
Regardless, your comments are well received and our management team in combination with Westin and Starwood Hotels determines the best strategies to make our guests happy each and every stay.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you are enjoying your Thanksgiving holiday!

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

4 Star Hotel for 3 nights. What a nice place to stay and the staff is extra friendly. Found a very cheap rate for the stay. Clean room, good bedding package and close to all activities. Hopefully we will stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Washington Dulles airport was built with the intention of it being isolated and far away from the madding crowd in Washington DC. Thirty years ago it was often a pain to have to pay for the boring toll road out of DC to Dulles in order to catch international flights. The Dulles toll road ran almost from the steps of the State Department, past CIA HQ in Langley then on a seemingly neverending, boring highway to far distant Dulles. It was perfect for government types and big shots because they could take advantage of a long limo ride away from the congestion of National (Reagan) Airport.

I was shocked to see how much the area around Dulles has changed over those 30 years. Talk about "urban sprawl"! It's unreckognizable. I was told it is very reminiscent of Silicon Valley now - with modern high-rise office building and blocks upon blocks of townhouses littering the once rolling farms and meadows. In the weekend we spent in that area I never once caught a glimpse of the actual airport. Just too many shopping centers, business headquarters and cookie cutter homes.

But in this morass of conformity we were very very pleased to find accomodations at the reasonably priced, yet elegant Dulles Westin. From the moment we pulled into the curved driveway this place exuded class. Not stuffy, but efficient, friendly and modern trappings for the business and leisure visitor. The doorman, the front desk staff and the bartenders on the ground floor entrance made our initial impression very positive with their smiles and willingness to accomodate. By joining the Westin frequent visitor club (which we will probably never use again) we acquired two free passes to the over-priced breakfast buffet.

Our rooms were well-maintained, modern, spacious and comfortable. You would never know there was an airport nearby. We never heard any planes until we walked outside the hotel. There was plenty of free parking, although the setup was somewhat inconvenient: the lot was a multi-level garage that required guests to take one elevator down to the ground level near the many ballrooms, then walk through the lobby, then down another corridor to the elevator bank for the rooms. Kind of a pain with lots of luggage and a dog.

Oh yeah, the second floor is dog friendly. You do have to put down a refundable deposit, but you are allowed to bring your pets with you. It is a testament to the maid service that this super allergic guest had no problems with previous pets' dander or "deposits". Considering the fact that it had been used on previous occassions by other visitors' pets, there was no indication of any messes or damage. Very clean.

For airport travelers the Westin has 4 different shuttle buses. It seemed there was always one available in the front driveway.

Other than the strange parking lot set-up, the only other minor gripe was the difficulty in finding the Westin. There is no signage in the area, I suppose to mainatain the "beauty" of the locale, but our GPS was able to direct us there eventually. Without a GPS we'd still be looking.

Room Tip: Stay off the second floor if you don't need to bring your pet. Unless you get it free, pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is a good choice if you need to be close to IAD. The shuttle service is good and the staff is helpful. The room is exactly what you would expect from a Westin: clean, comfortable, and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed to find last minute accommodations due to a flight mishap. We we picked up at
The airport by a cheerful shuttle driver and greeted at the front desk by two friendly expert staff. Our room was quiet, modern, clean and comfortable. We went to the lobby at for dinner ad a drink. We were really pleased. Again, excellent service and good quality. I would not hesitate recommending His hotel to anyone needing an overnight stay near the airport. Can't imagine you will find better, particularly at the low rate we had. This was high quality/value fo the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear funandrelaxation,

We have many guests in your same situation who must book a hotel reservation last minute due to a flight mishap. We understand what you may have been through already at the airport and our team does our best to provide a welcoming, peaceful and enjoyable experience at our hotel.
Our "cheerful shuttle driver" and our "two friendly expert staff" at the Front Desk as you put it understands they are your first point of contact with us and they do their best to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Thank you for your kind words and we hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Linda Tierney
General Manager
Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
1.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 2520 Wasser Ter, Herndon, VA 20171-6177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range: $90 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing