We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel but not situated within walking distance to anywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great hotel but not situated within walking distance to anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great hotel facilities and friendly staff. The hotel is not within walking distance to anywhere, no convenience stores. I don't think there are public transport options. You really need to eat in the hotel restaurant or the airport unless you go to Reston. The airport only has 1 restauran, Harrys tap room , which is a few dollars cheaper than the hotel's.
We took the last shuttle to the Air and Space Museum and took a taxi back (16usd).

The hotel needs to have more shuttles to Reston. Currently they only have one at 630pm and 845 pm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank water_lili_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
water_lili_88, thank you very much for your feedback.
Our Padella Restaurant which offers fresh, simple, italian cuisine in my opinion, is the best in town :)
However, if our guests would like to venture out we do have complimentary shuttle service to the Clock Tower Shopping Center or Worldgate Shopping Center in Herndon which are only about 5-10 minutes away. Our attendants are more than happy to transport our guests there upon request and can make pick ups as well.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    222
    82
    28
    33
See reviews for
145
117
73
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

upon arriving late I'm informed I have to step out of line to get the best available rate. saved 40 dollars by reserving the room on their website. can't forgive the inconvenience. experience is downhill from here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Bert9977, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our Front Desk. I realize that there are pre-paid rates online that are sometimes lower than what our Front Desk team can offer but you should never be asked to get out of line to book online. I have spoken with our Front Desk team about better ways to handle that situation in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you have any other thoughts on how we can better accommodate you in the future. We truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Front desk staff efficient and accomodating. Room itself was very nice, view of the parking lot from 2ndthe floor window was not but it was free :)
Shuttle runs at no cost every 30morning minutes.
I did not utilize any food, beverage or other services................

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Really nice hotel. Great rates, free shuttle from airport , awesome shower and nice bed linens. Can't ask for more than that. We wanted breakfast at noon and the restaurant even did that. Also had a nice late check out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZGRINCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erial, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Located in an Office Park. Free Parking. Nice Lake View! Perfect Acess to the Airport. Wonderful breakfast buffet! Great Bar! and the Westin aroma when you enter the lobby is soooo inviting. The front desk staff is very consistent, as we have stayed at this property numerous times. As a SPG platinum member they will upgrade you to one of their suites, if available; the suites are spacious with a seperate living room and nice views of the lake. The location is also very covenient to D.C. about 30 minutes or so away. Also, the weekend rates for this Wonderful Westin is less than $100 per night, YOU CANNOT BEAT IT! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahgninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Deavster, thank you so much for your kind words, I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays here. We appreciate your loyalty and I believe that our most frequent guests know us the best so please feel free to reach out to me any time to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is situated near the airport in a quiet neighborhood. A little far from the city but I prefer this location because of the cleanness of the rooms. The quality of the breakfast is also very high. The person at the front desk could have been a little more friendly. Very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Westin Dulles. I appreciate your feedback and I will share it with our hotel team. We look forward to hosting your next visit when your travels bring you to the Herndon Virginia area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stay at this Westin whenever I can. Fairly new hotel and good location. It has a restaurant and bar in the lobby. There are some nice facilities for hosting meetings as well if that is needed. The rooms are clean, average size, quiet and comfortable.

I will certainly continue staying at this hotel when available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMUstu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Property: The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Address: 2520 Wasser Ter, Herndon, VA 20171-6177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing