We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly surprised and slightly dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royersford, PA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Slightly surprised and slightly dissapointed”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for a short stay to help my son relocate to the Herdon Area. While the hotel is very modern and the lobby is well appointed there were two items which left me dissapointed. Firstly when we arrived around 5:00 p.m. we were informed that their restaurant would be closed for the evening. After many hours of driving there we were back in the car to find something for dinner. I will point out that there are literally hundreds of places to eat, but I really didn't feel like driving anywhere else. Secondly when we were preparing to check out the next day I did the normal double check to make sure we hadn't forgotten anything, and was surprised to find the entire top dresser drawer filled with SOMEBODY'S CLOTHES......NOT OURS! This does not speak well for the cleaning of the room. Also we noticed empy "sleeves" from cookies under the chair by the window. Nice room overall, but more attention needed to details!

Room Tip: They have a $10.00 fee for Valet, but if you pull around the back into the parking garage it is simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RofoBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    243
    89
    32
    36
See reviews for
158
130
79
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
311 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed with a group. Lovely property; comfortable room. Attentive and responsive front desk. Outrageous room service charge ($6 for 2 slices of toasted bread - no butter, no jam, nothing!!) Decent work-out facility (used treadmill only, but there was much more). The only odd thing ( which I deem "creepy") is that housekeeping folded my clothes daily. Anything left on a chair back or small table was folded! At first, I thought I was imagining things, so I left clothing conspicuously out the next day. Sure enough, it was folded upon my return. Also, my cosmetics on the bathroom counter were placed on a washcloth and arranged just so. Some may like it; I'm just not a fan of people handling my belongings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Arrived late evening and was surprised by the atmosphere with people in the lobby and bar ( normally airport hotels are just for staying over ). It felt like I am in downown DC. Not sure when the property is opened it looked very new and fresh, smell of true westin property. Check in was smooth and quick. Room clean with all Westin amenities available. The rate I paid worth every dollar spent. Definately will stay here if any chance in the future

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SahibM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Westin Dulles hotel. We are delighted our staff provided a great experience and appreciate your positive feedback. I have shared your comments with our team. We hope to have you as a guest again if your future travels bring you back to the Dulles area.

Regards,

Linda Tierney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
271 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We needed a Dulles area hotel. The shuttle worked well. The room was Westin standard. The restaurant was surprisingly very good. There is a manmade lake across the street for a walk. But there is nothing else nearby--no other restaurant, coffee, nothing. And there were no cabs. This is Dulles shuttle in, Dulles shuttle out. To get into town, you shuttle back to Dulles and take it from there. Hotel is used by flight crews.

Room Tip: long halls. when I asked for a quiet room, it was 30 doors down from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel was nice - shuttle was easy and convenient. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdntraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback regarding your recent stay.
I am glad you had a wonderful experience and we hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to the Dulles Herndon area.

Regards,

Linda Tierney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Of course Westin hotels are usually very comfortable and very nice , but I just wanted to say if you stay here order the poached eggs for breakfast. Organic and cooked perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel 4 times, and each time there has been some kind of issue. We have continued to try again since we're active Starwood members and this hotel is the most convenient for us to stay at before an early morning flight from Dulles. However, we're going back to the Hyatt from now on.

Back in mid-February we ordered room service and received the most vile meal I have ever experienced at a Westin. We sent it back and received no acknowledgment from management, just a defensive comment that there was nothing wrong with the eggs (they were most definitely from a carton, not from a real egg, despite the Westin's claims to offer fresh/healthy foods). We made the mistake of going back a couple of weeks ago before an early morning flight to St. Maarten. I requested a wake up call and also tried to set the alarm in the room, which was not working. It was late so I programmed my iPhone for 15 minutes later than my wake up call, just as a precaution. Well, thank God for the iPhone alarm! The wake up call never came. I called down to the front desk to complain and they again just said/did nothing.

On top of the service issues there are several other problems, including the world's loudest slamming doors on every room, bright flashing red lights on the sprinkler system that keep you awake at night, an excruciatingly slow/long airport shuttle trip, and other infrastructure flaws that make this beautiful hotel less than restful.

Screw me once, shame on you. Screw me twice, shame on me. There won't be a third time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, General Manager at The Westin Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your candid remarks about our hotel. I apologize we fell short in meeting your expectations during your past visits to our hotel. Our entire team at the Westin Dulles is dedicated to providing excellent service, a comfortable guest room and exceptional food and beverage service. It is very disappointing to hear we failed to deliver our promise in so many ways during your stay. I have shared your comments with our team. I apologize again and hope you will consider returning as a guest in the future.

Regards,

Linda Tierney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington Dulles Airport

Property: The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Address: 2520 Wasser Ter, Herndon, VA 20171-6177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington Dulles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of Westin, only minutes from Dulles Airport. In addition to a convenient location and comfortable hotel rooms, our hotel provides amazing meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing