We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries, super staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business twice in 3 weeks. Front desk is super friendly and helpful. It really is guests and customers first here. The breakfast is good, parking is easy, and the rooms are always clean. Great location to Reston Town Center and Herndon restaurants.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Syracuse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 494 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I would like to preface this review by saying that Jim, the hotel manager did everything possible to try to remedy the problems that I encountered by giving me points and by refunding most of my stay costs, which I felt was both generous and appropriate.

Having said that, I chose this hotel because when I called and asked they said that they had an on call shuttle and that meant that within a few minutes the shuttle would head to the airport to pick you up. It was exceptionally cold in DC and the front desk said the shuttle would be 15 minutes. It was almost 55 minutes of freezing after an international flight, waiting for the shuttle. The front desk also lied about how long it would take. Their restaurant is closed for lunch and room service and the restaurant close at 10pm, which is not the best for an airport hotel . At least have a light tapas type menu until midnight.

There were quite a few problems with my room, no bath tub, no heat until I called and they had to change out the unit,so I was freezing until it was fixed.

The manager and manager on duty did their best and I appreciated that. I would stay here again if they have a restaurant that is open late, which is important for an airport hotel and also if they have an on call shuttle. They should combine with the Hyatt place which is next door and they manage both hotels.

Room Tip: If you would like a bathtub, be sure to ask for a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The only positive aspect of the hotel is that it has a club lounge and it's a SPG Category 2 meaning it only require 3000/4000 SPG Starpoints for a free night. Few Sheraton around major cities require such low point value. Nevertheless, with the poor experience I had, I'll stay at the nearby Aloft which is also a SPG Category 2 hotel the next time.

1) During check-in, I specifically asked about lounge access / breakfast as I'm a SPG Platinum member and was told that the lounge is closed during the holiday week (understandable). However, it would have been nice if the agent told me about the substitute vouchers for the hotel restaurant. I later saw the sign on the club floor and had to go down to request it.
2) The club lounge isn't really a lounge. It's that little space in the lobby of the club floor right by the elevator. Very awkward location for a club lounge.
3) The hotel just doesn't have the Sheraton feel, from the rooms to the hotel restaurant, and I've stayed 50+ nights in in 2013 in Sheraton brand alone. Shower head isn't the one found in Sheraton hotels and hotel restaurant is tiny and more comparable to a Four Point hotel restaurant. The hotel is overall really more at the Four Point level.
4) Breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant is the worst I have ever seen. It has a smaller selection than most of the club lounges I have visited. Comparable to Days Inn I have stayed in but this Sheraton charges $10+ whereas it's complimentary at Days Inn.
5) Restaurant staff wasn't particular nice. I handed over an appetizer voucher and was moving my hand back into my pocket to pull out my room key so that I can tell the bartender which room to charge the rest of the balance to. He however had to pre-empty yell at me that I can only use one voucher.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay during business travels. This hotel is an airport hotel and you feel it. I had to pick a cab because you had to inform the hotel that you are arriving, although all the other choices around run several shuttles per hour without being noticed before.

In-hotel service is fair, but nothing to write home about. The hotel itself seemed to be deserted, some lonely figures hanging around at the bar, the swimming pool closes in the evening. Flexibility in terms of breakfast is non-existent, they know that the majority of their customers will leave after one night.

However, if you need a decent place to stay for a fair price, this might be an option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I want to preface this review by disclosing that I have stayed at this property before and was very much impressed by their level of customer care. Regretfully I cannot speak the same of the level of service after this last stay. Like most costumers my main concern is with a clean hotel and room, however, when I have more than my share of hotel options what eventually sells me on the quality of the stay is the overall level of customer care by the employees. That is what makes a “raving fan”. As a SPG Platinum do not expect consistency with level of care nor amenities. The indifference and lack of training from the Sheraton staff during this stay was enough motivation to think twice about staying at an alternate property in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niecer1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Niecer1079,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Herndon Dulles Aiport. Please accept my apologies for the level of service that you recieved. I would like to make this right. Please feel free to contact me at 571-943-0905. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Arrived at Sheraton 0130am with no luggage after 13 hours waiting for onward flight at Dulles Apt. Staff friendly & very helpful, especially as no suitcase for two of those days. Friendly dining and bar and reasonable pricing. As I do one or two nights a year here, will definitely use the next time.

Room Tip: The fifth floor was totally quiet all three days and nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Even though there were a few bumps in the road initially, the staff and especially the manager, went out of their way to make things right. The staff were professional, friendly, and made my stay away from home very, very pleasant. The room was clean (which is a must for me although the bump was the bathroom not being stocked). The free shuttle to and from the airport was invaluable. Upon walking into the hotel, it's warm and cozy and everything conveniently located. You're greeted by friendly service and faces. I would stay here again whether on business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Having a disability, I try to get a handicap room. If not available online, ask at the front desk. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReRe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear ReRe3,

Thank you for the great review of the Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport. I am glad that you enjoyed the service, rooms and hotel amenities. I am sorry to see that we did not stock the bathroom appropriately. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
1,248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 13715 Sayward Dr, Herndon, VA 20171-6305
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range: $75 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel, just a quick ride from the Washington Dulles International Airport. Our location makes us your ideal spot when visiting the Herndon & Dulles area. You can host your meeting or event in one of our four meeting spaces or take our complimentary shuttle to discover downtown Washington D.C. Or you can take a quick visit to one of Virginia's top producing wineries. No matter the reason for your stay, you will be welcomed by our staff with a smile and a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper (C) Bed. Get all your work done with our first class business center, or unwind in our heated indoor pool. Afterwards you'll always be welcome for cocktails at the Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing