We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Wok

Masala Wok
Ranked #88 of 213 Restaurants in Herndon
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Chinese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Germantown Maryland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice lunch to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I tried Masala Wok today for lunch to go as I needed to get back to the office. I ordered Chili Chicken which is one of my favorites. The meal was prepared quickly and came in a nice plastic serving package. I found the preperation a bit different as it was in a sauce where most chili chicken I have had is more dry. However that being said the flavor was very good, portions were moderate and the price @ $9 was okay. Well worth it though I would like to go back and sit down to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good "quick cuisine" Indian-Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pretty good Indo-Asian food. It's a quick-serve restaurant where you order at the counter and the bring you your food when it's ready. Food is fresh, hot, and flavorful. I especially enjoy the chicken tikka masala, and I order it spicy. Just enough heat to make it interesting, but not too hot that it's painful. The samosas are very good too as is the chicken tikka grill. I recommend this place for a quick lunch or dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jafo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great "fast" Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hubby and I really like this place. Whenever he works from home (2 or 3 times a month) you can be sure he'll go pick up lunch from Masala Wok! We especially love the Spinach with Lamb, the Chicken Curry, Butter Chicken and the Samosas. The tamarind sauce is wonderful! A recent "discovery" is the Chicken Roll - delicious Tandoori chicken rolled in naan with cheese, cilantro and onions... YUM!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia, usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The ambience is good, The service, especially the ordering part is choppy. One register during busy lunch hour. The food was great. The portions were good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angadjot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, but not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've been here plenty of times. Sometimes the food is really good and sometimes it doesn't taste as fresh, especially the dishes that have sliced chicken. They are always adding new choices to the menu which is good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl_niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Wok also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Masala Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing