We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arrived really late at this hotel (around 3am) and were unfortunately given a key that didn't work on our first try. Quickly corrected however (the benefit of a 3am check-in...no line!) and the rest of our stay was great. Love the space in the room, as the pull-out couch allowed the five of us to fit very comfortably. Bathroom is small, but the dressing area is located outside the actual bathroom so it's still functional for a large family. 42" flat screen, free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast, and a fridge and coffee maker supply all the ammenities that we really need in a room.
On departure we asked the front desk to arrange a ride into D.C. for us, and a car very quickly showed up, but it wasn't really big enough for the five of us (although we did make it work). I don't know if there was a miscommunication or if the car company just tried to be a little over-zealous, but I'd probably arrange my own transportation from this hotel next time. The hotel itself though, was a great place to stay after a late arrival, and I would think it would be perfect if you had an early morning departure too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vangrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    140
    41
    30
    24
See reviews for
115
64
50
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Booked online for a one night stay before our flight out. Choose this one over some slightly cheaper rates due to the free WiFi. When we arrived we were blown away by the room. Very modern with a great desk in the comfy sitting area, 55inch flat screen, bar area with sink, and very comfy bed. Lots of outlets for our chargers. All for $64 non-cancellable rate. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thdrboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I am a very picky traveler. I had to travel to the Leesburg area for a wedding and in the process, I looked up reviews on every hotel between Leesburg and Tysons Corner, on every site (Expedia, Tripadvisor, hotels.com). As a former business traveler, I always look for extra amenities (free internet, free parking, food options). And now as a parent with a young child, I look for newer properties because of the cleanliness factor.

This was an awesome hotel, very modern looking and very clean. The front desk staff was extremely helpful.

They had a pool, with a lifeguard (which is a plus if you have children), this is just a small hotel, so the pool is small too. If you are looking to spend your time in the hotel swimming laps, this is not the place for you.

Breakfast was your average continental breakfast- cereal, bagels, etc. There are options to order food (and pay for food)- which my husband decided to do. The food was ok- not bad or good, average. But again, our purpose was not to spend our time in the hotel, we were there for a wedding, so the hotel definitely served it's purpose. Just enough to get our bellies full to get on the road and close enough to get to most major shopping very easily. And our rate was $59 a night- which is awesome, considering the space you are given. Our room had two queen sized beds and a huge L shaped sofa that had a pull out couch. We traveled with my sister. They booked the room next to us, but truthfully, we could have pulled off all 7 of us (4 adults, 3 small children) in one room for the weekend. It was a nice, clean, big room- in a modern hotel with very friendly staff, for a lot less than you would spend in most hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1pickymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice, it has a small gym and an indoor pool (warm with a lifeguard I think) and 2 options for food, one a grab and go and the other they prepare the food for you (24/7). The food selection is not big, 4-5 salads, 4-5 main dishes, etc… but its prepared at the moment.

They have a complimentary breakfast which is very simple (cereal, bread, fruit) but you can order eggs and other staff from the 24/7 service and they will prepare it.

My room was big, it was like a saloon with 2 rooms, one with a bed and the other with a Sofa, a desk, fridge,etc… The room had a 42” LCD TV and in general it was nice. The bad part is that it was not 100% sealed, some cool air filtered into the room from outside from below the A/C.

Personal was very friendly and helpful. My impression is that the hotel does an effort to satisfy everyone having different options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Choosing a place close to Washington DC wasn’t easy with so many options and factors to consider. First, I decided to stay away from the City and looked at the nearby towns before choosing this property. Though located 25-30 minutes away from Washington DC, with some planning, you can avoid the rush hour traffic and get enough time in the City. It is close enough to the airport, but the location helped us escape the sights and sounds of the airport traffic. There is ample parking around the hotel.

Finding the place using the GPS is not easy, but more on this later. At first sight, the room smelt fresh and very clean and continued to stay that way, all three nights of our stay. Two queen beds and a sofa bed with enough space for the kids to spread their things around. Bathroom was small, but didn’t bother us much.

Breakfast was the usual with the staple cereals-toast-eggs-fresh fruits and juices. I was glad the scrambled eggs and potatoes were not part of the standard fare. For a hot breakfast, there is a reasonably priced a la carte menu. They also have a 24-hour menu for hunger needs round the clock. For dining options, the front desk can suggest nearby eateries with different cuisines.

The hotel has a gym and an indoor pool. The operating hours may not be very convenient, but if you need a swim no matter what, then approach the front desk and they will make arrangements to access the Sheraton pool next door.

The distance wasn’t a bother considering the warm welcome we got every night we returned to the hotel on our museum wary legs. Though the hotel operated on skeletal staff during the Thanksgiving holiday, the room remained fresh, towels were replaced and trash taken out. The staff was very courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is a great value proposition from Hyatt considering the price range.

Now reaching the place with a GPS is going to be tricky. Looks like this hasn’t changed since 2009 (reading another review) so we used Google maps for the first time. The front desk acknowledged this and was apologetic about the GPS challenge we faced. You can try 13750, Sunrise Valley Drive, Herndon and look for the Sheraton closeby to take the turn. The nearest of the WMATA metro locations is at West Falls Church Metro Lot, Idylwood, Virginia. There is a park n ride closeby, some days free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Needed to be in the Northern Virginia area for the weekend and booked a room at the Hyatt Place based on other review in Trip Advisor. I was mildly surprised on how nice the room was based on the low price. Had a small kitchen area with fridge and coffee machine. Had a reasonable size desk. the bedroom was separated by a partition. The room was very clean and had plenty of space with a big couch. The late night staff was very helpful and asked if I wanted something to eat as I was checking in late and may want something. The breakfast buffet was good and you can order a hot meal. The hotel has a shuttle service, however; it stops at 11 PM. My plane was late at 11:30 PM so had to take a taxi. Only one restaurant near by, a pizza and pasta place. I will definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtallyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceDullesEast, General Manager at Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Mtallyca, thank you for taking the time to offer feedback from your visit. Our team is excited to hear that you had such a pleasant experience! In addition to the menu that we offer here at the Hyatt Place, there are also several dining options available to you within our shuttle radius. We look forward to showing you more of what the town of Herndon has to offer on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Michael Estes
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Lucked into this hotel with a minimum bid on Priceline. Just wanted a spot near the airport to park my head for one night. Ended up sorry I wasn't staying longer! If you like small and cozy, this isn't your hotel. However, if you like spacious, gracious with a wealth of amenities, this is just the ticket.

They have an large and welcoming lobby area with restaurant and walk-up bar; an attractive business center and meeting facility; and a convenient computer room for guests, in addition to wi-fi access through the huge flat screen TV in the room.

The room was large and very well appointed - much more like a suite than a simple room.

Access to/from the aiport by car was simple and bypassed the Dulles toll road. Remember to keep change available (quarters) for the toll road if you are traveling beyond the airport. After normal business hours, there are no attendants and you MUST have correct change ($1.25 to enter the toll road and 75 cents to exit).

The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. They provided me with printed addresses and directions to local shopping centers and other attractions. A special touch I appreciated was the computer near the front desk that's reserved just for printing boarding passes. Very convenient for early flight check-in or on your way out the door to the airport!

Overall, this hotel had everything I needed or wanted and so much more. Wish I'd had time to use the pool, jacuzzi and workout facility!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.4 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East

Property: Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
Address: 13711 Sayward Dr, Herndon, VA 20171-6305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to Dulles International Airport and west of Washington D.C., the Hyatt Place Herndon/Dulles Airport-East hotel offers access to some of the area’s best attractions. The hotel features spacious guestrooms with the Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, complimentary parking and complimentary airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East Hotel Herndon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing