We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Airport but desolate location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Near Airport but desolate location”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

If all you need is an in-and-out from Dulles at a reasonable price, this will work. Nice staff, clean hotel, but no restaraunt, no meals close by, difficult area.....but go in to Herndon's diner and you'll have a good dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport. We greatly appreciate your patronage, as well as your commentary. I would point out that there are two restaurants (Outback Steakhouse and Cantina D'Italia with whom we share a parking lot. We are also within 1-2 miles of between 20-30 different restaurants, to which our shuttle can bring you. That said, thanks again for staying at the Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
23
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
356 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel was very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly both at checkin and checkout. The hotel does look a little bit older inside, but it still was clean and didn't have any strong smells. The wireless internet worked well. There were numerous restaurants right next door, along with restaurants in the vicinity. My only complaint is that it is on a very busy road, and can be difficult to navigate the area around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIHerndon, General Manager at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments, and for your patronage at the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport. We try very hard to ensure the satisfaction of all guests, and we always appreciate hearing feedback as often as we can get it. Our Front Desk staff is very knowledgeable about the area it would have been there pleasure to assist you with directions.
Thank you again for choosing the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Booked this place cos of its proximity to the airport due to my early am flight

First, when we checked in, we were greeted, wrong, we met this very unfriendly lady at the front desk. She was not helpful at all and didnt helped much in any questions.

Next, we felt cheated by the hotel website because we went to that hotel thinking that there was gonna be microwave and refridgerator as we needed them to sterilise the milk bottles and keep breast milk for my infant boy. (Check the website if u dun believe me) Hence we ask the same front desk lady re the microwave, she replied curtly there's none in all the rooms, but one in the dining area.

We said ok then, perhaps I got it wrong. So we went back to our room and logged on to the free wireless internet, the connection was poor. Anyway, we checked the hotel website again and it clearly was mentioned that the fridge and the microwave were available in some rooms. Hence we went back to the same 'friendly' lady in the front desk to inquire re the fridge (as we did not find one in our room). Then she replied even more 'politely' and said there's no fridge. We then showed her the website on our laptop and she said, the room that we booked has none of these. Only the very expensive suites have all these facilities.

We felt so so cheated and angered. Even more so by her 'excellent' service

Then on the same night, a large bunch of tourists from other nationalities checked in and were making alot of noise in the dining area, playing cards, etc. It was close to midnight and my room was fairly near to the area. I went out to check and it was the same lady at the front desk who allowed all these to happen at such hours. Doesnt she know that ppl go to hotel to rest and there are other tourists that she has to be accountable for at the same time.

Though perhaps we can forgive all these. But what was the most infuriating and prompted me to write this lengthy review was that we were almost cheated of our MONEY!!

When we checked out the next am, fortunately, it was a different and more pleasant front desk lady who attended to us. She got us this invoice and told us that we need to sign on it. Though i signed it without giving it much thought, my wife reminded me that we should have already prepaid this through booking through one of the discounted websites the nights prior. Then we mentioned this to the lady who checked on her hotel computer and realised the mistake and mentioned that the 'friendly and competent' lady that we encounted on our check in made the mistake!!!!

How could anyone make this kind of mistake?? Imagine if we didnt realised it and we signed on the invoice. We would be charged twice...

I would never ever ever stay in this hotel ever again!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdfgh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your review, and your patronage at the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at our property. After having read your review, I would request that you contact me in person to discuss this further. All of our rooms do in fact have refridgerators, and we do have a microwave for all guests' use in our breakfast room. I would like to speak with you regarding your final bill, as I have some questions regarding what happened and I want to ensure that you were not double charged. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I chose this hotel for 2 reasons, free airport shuttle and free breakfast. I've stayed at other Comfort Inns in the past and found them to be decent. I was glad to see that this hotel was furnished nice, our room was clean, the staff was friendly. Over all a great deal and location was fine, although we drove into DC and only slept and ate breakfast here but I did see an Outback restaurant nearby.
The breakfast was ok, they had a waffle maker so every morning I had waffles, coffee and juice. Breakfast is only from 7-9, which was ok for us we were trying to get an early start anyway. The only complaint I would have is that other guests hogging the computer, they only have one computer in the lobby for guest with a sign that said something to the effect of please be brief so other guest can use the computer, every morning some idiot who's partner kicked him out of his house was using the computer only to charge his Iphone and everyone can hear all his drama, idiot!!
I expected the front desk to tell him let others use the computer but they didn't, I guess next time I will bring my laptop and just avoid that situation again.
Over all nice hotel, great price and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments, and for your patronage at the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport. We try very hard to ensure the satisfaction of all guests, and we always appreciate hearing feedback as often as we can get it. I do apologize about the situation with the computer; please feel free to alert our staff if this is ever an issue in the future, and we'll make sure to alleviate the problem in a swift manner. Thank you again for choosing the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Arrived at night after a very long flight and huge wait at immigration. We were tired and irritable. The hotel provided a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel and we had to wait about 10-15 mins which was reasonable (although seems a long time when you are tired). The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and lovely and the free wi-fi and free coffee "on tap" in reception were very welcome. Breakfast was included and was adequate. This was 10 times better than the much more expensive marriott which you paid for coffee, wifi and no breakfast included. The shuttle bus staff and all the staff we met were very friendly and efficient. A good stay and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opalset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your review of our property, as well as for your patronage. At the Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport we strive to offer the very best customer service possible, and we appreciate knowing that we did our jobs in this case. Thank you very much, and we sincerely hope to see you again at the Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

After a days stay sightseeing in Washington DC we zeroed on this hotel post some price and reviews analysis. The stay was fine and so were the related aspects like room size, breakfast (though basic), internet etc. One could smell the smoke in the coridors but fortunately not in the rooms. The hotel is still good but the ageing does show at a few places. Might be in times to come they need to renovate to keep up the standards..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj_Hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you very much for your review, as well as for your patronage. We take our guests' commentary very seriously here at the Comfort Inn Dulles Airport, and we try very hard to ensure the satisfaction of all guests. We recognize that travelers have a lot of various lodging options when they come to the greater Washington DC area, and we sincerely appreciate the fact that you decided to stay at our humble abode. Consequently, we also appreciate you taking the time to write into Trip Advisor, as it helps us to see what we're doing well and in which areas we need to improve. Please do not hesitate to stop in and see us again next time you're in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Desk clerk had to "check to see if our room was ready". Literally she walked to the room! This being at 10PM and after I had called to verify late check in. Could not find TV remote..but after pulling down bedspread and sheets, there it was made up in bed (does that tell you anything?) What maid would put the TV remote inside the bed.. if the sheets had been changed! Then as we pulled the sheets down a bit more.. to our horror.. fecal marks and another nasty stain where one would slide out of the bed. Immediately called front desk and they sent us clean (?) sheets. One flat and one fitted.. no pillowcases.. needless to say we changed the nasty bed linens ourselves and slept the 4 hours we had before our flight with out clothes on ! Now do you think we will be staying there again, or suggesting it to anyone? NOT A CHANCE! First time I have ever encountered this in all my years of travel! I guess I'm lucky in that sense.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerndonManager, Manager at Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
I sincerely apologize about the situation regarding your room upon your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly, and we will do anything in our power to remedy the situation for your moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Address: 200 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport Hotel Herndon
Comfort Inn Herndon
Herndon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing