We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Professional staff with a relaxed enviorment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
little rock, ar
1 review
“Professional staff with a relaxed enviorment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

I spent a week at this hotel while attending a training class for work. The staff was very helpful. The shuttle service offered was a lifesaver for me. The thing I enjoyed most was that the ladies there took the time to help me with local recommendations regarding resturants and sites to see when out of class. Then arranged the shuttle to take me. They took the time to treat me as if I was a guest in their home and not just a customer.

While out one day, I stopped and picked up ice cream for everybody on the night shift. They were suprised by this, I told them that how they had made me feel there, suprised and pleased.

Another highlight to this hotel is that it was QUIET. From what I saw, NO POOL MEANS NO KIDS RUNNING WILD.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddavis501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear ddavis501,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston! We appreciate the time it took to give us your feedback!

We are so happy you had such a great visit with us! We are very proud of our staff and are thrilled you were able to experience the customer service they are known for! They truly do make you feel right at home!

And, wow, what a nice gesture from you bringing them ice cream! I am sure they were very delighted and that it meant a lot to them.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Herndon/Reston area. We appreciate your loyalty!

Thank you,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
53
35
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lansing mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

I wish I had read an earlier review regarding tour groups in this particular Holiday Inn Express - it IS difficult to enter the breakfast room and even more difficult to get a breakfast with so many in the room. On the plus side, the staff is well-organized and helpful -- in fact, I would describe them as "outstanding". Management seems to favor the tour group customer, so be prepared!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Managment at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Dear inasec,
Thank you for posting a review of the Holiday Inn Herndon/Reston. We appreciate the time you took to give us a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay but regret you had some difficulty in the mornings when trying to get breakfast. We realize that it can feel overwhelming to a guest not with the tour groups and we are looking into options to make our space more accommodating.

We are happy you experienced our superior customer service that our staff delivers. They are definitely our #1 asset.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Northern Virginia!

Warm Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

Hotel staff and accommodations were both at the same excellent level I've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. However, the breakfast area was overwhelmed by a tour group that was waiting for their bus to depart. They occupied all the available tables, drinking coffee, reading and playing cards and making it extremely difficult just to get in the room to access anything. Children with the group lingered outside the front door causing the automatic door opener to constantly hold the doors open. Given the reasonable rates and its proximaty to restaurants and highways, I suspect they book many tour groups visiting Washington D.C.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioDerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear OhioDerf,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we take all our reviews very seriously and appreciate the feedback.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon while visiting the Northern Virginia area.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the tour groups that were also staying at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon. We will most definitely use your feedback to improve our process of managing the logistics when balancing groups in the hotel as well as our leisure/business traveler guests. And again we thank you for your feedback as we will use this information to improve our service.

We hope you will stay with us again when visiting the Herndon, Virginia area!

Respectfully,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

The rooms were cozy enough for the family and decent for the business travellers.

The staff were courteous and accomodating from day 1 up to the last hour we left.

The Managers on duty were on top of the situation for the guests' needs.

The General Manager was friendly and nice.

Food was great, we keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnifirstResources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear Prestigetraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon! We take all our reviews serisouly and appreciate the feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holdiay Inn Express Herndon. We are very proud of our team there and feel they go above and beyond of what is expected and are happy you feel the same way!

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Northern Virginia area.

Respectfully,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed at this property for a week at a time twice a year over the last five years. I keep coming back because the excellent, service-oriented staff treats me like royalty. When I enter the hotel, I am greeted by name. In the afternoon, the manager often brings me cookies and milk. If I can't catch a ride back to the hotel after work (I'm here as a government contractor), the manager retrieves me in the van (10 minutes each way). If I need to print a document, the friendly staff invite me to use their printers (even though there is a printer in the modest business center). The rooms are well-equipped and recently refurbished. There is both wireless AND cabled connectivity (great for working in the room). There is also a flat-screen TV, an absolutely silent refrigerator, a coffee-maker, and an extremely comfortable bed. Fruit and coffee are available throughout the day, and the breakfast is excellent (and free). I often stay in very upscale hotels, but I've never been treated better or made to feel more welcomed than when I'm at this property. You can see and feel true pride on the part of everyone who works here in extending genuine hospitality to guests.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berylbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 31, 2009
Hello, berylbeth -

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback in your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your visit to the hotel and for taking the time to submit a review.

We are very glad you had a positive experience at our hotel, and we hope you are able to stay with us again the next time you are in Herndon. We sincerely appreciate your repeat business, so it is important to us that you are treated like family!

As always, the next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, thank you very much for your posting; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very much,
Holiday Express Herndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel and the staff are top notch. The hotel is a solidly built brick building close to USGS and many other government agencies. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have all modern amentities including flat screens and internet access. Location is close to a variety of eating establishments, grocery store and discount stores. Just blocks from old town Herndon. Shuttle to airport, plus business drop off. It is below per diem and during these tight budget times this can save your agency money. All staff, from janitor to manager are proud of their establishment and very professional and respectful. Great experience every time I have stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoy097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2009
Hello, Enjoy0907 –

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback in your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your visit to the hotel and for taking the time to submit a review. We take all reviews very seriously, as we look for every opportunity we can get to improve our service.

We are very glad you had a positive experience at our hotel, and we hope you are able to stay with us again the next time you are in Herndon. Also, we’re glad you enjoyed our guest service team at the hotel… we are very lucky to have what we consider to be the best team members in the world.

And lastly, the next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, thank you very much for your posting; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will tell others about your positive experience!

We hope that we will have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very much,
Holiday Express Herndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

The manager, Mr. Singh, and his staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is immaculate and well run. A very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityCat_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Address: 485 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing