We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable But Beware of Tour Groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Hotel staff and accommodations were both at the same excellent level I've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. However, the breakfast area was overwhelmed by a tour group that was waiting for their bus to depart. They occupied all the available tables, drinking coffee, reading and playing cards and making it extremely difficult just to get in the room to access anything. Children with the group lingered outside the front door causing the automatic door opener to constantly hold the doors open. Given the reasonable rates and its proximaty to restaurants and highways, I suspect they book many tour groups visiting Washington D.C.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioDerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2009

Dear OhioDerf,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we take all our reviews very seriously and appreciate the feedback.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon while visiting the Northern Virginia area.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the tour groups that were also staying at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon. We will most definitely use your feedback to improve our process of managing the logistics when balancing groups in the hotel as well as our leisure/business traveler guests. And again we thank you for your feedback as we will use this information to improve our service.

We hope you will stay with us again when visiting the Herndon, Virginia area!

Respectfully,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 312 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

The rooms were cozy enough for the family and decent for the business travellers.

The staff were courteous and accomodating from day 1 up to the last hour we left.

The Managers on duty were on top of the situation for the guests' needs.

The General Manager was friendly and nice.

Food was great, we keep coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnifirstResources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2009

Dear Prestigetraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon! We take all our reviews serisouly and appreciate the feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holdiay Inn Express Herndon. We are very proud of our team there and feel they go above and beyond of what is expected and are happy you feel the same way!

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Northern Virginia area.

Respectfully,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed at this property for a week at a time twice a year over the last five years. I keep coming back because the excellent, service-oriented staff treats me like royalty. When I enter the hotel, I am greeted by name. In the afternoon, the manager often brings me cookies and milk. If I can't catch a ride back to the hotel after work (I'm here as a government contractor), the manager retrieves me in the van (10 minutes each way). If I need to print a document, the friendly staff invite me to use their printers (even though there is a printer in the modest business center). The rooms are well-equipped and recently refurbished. There is both wireless AND cabled connectivity (great for working in the room). There is also a flat-screen TV, an absolutely silent refrigerator, a coffee-maker, and an extremely comfortable bed. Fruit and coffee are available throughout the day, and the breakfast is excellent (and free). I often stay in very upscale hotels, but I've never been treated better or made to feel more welcomed than when I'm at this property. You can see and feel true pride on the part of everyone who works here in extending genuine hospitality to guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berylbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2009

Hello, berylbeth -

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback in your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your visit to the hotel and for taking the time to submit a review.

We are very glad you had a positive experience at our hotel, and we hope you are able to stay with us again the next time you are in Herndon. We sincerely appreciate your repeat business, so it is important to us that you are treated like family!

As always, the next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, thank you very much for your posting; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very much,
Holiday Express Herndon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel and the staff are top notch. The hotel is a solidly built brick building close to USGS and many other government agencies. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have all modern amentities including flat screens and internet access. Location is close to a variety of eating establishments, grocery store and discount stores. Just blocks from old town Herndon. Shuttle to airport, plus business drop off. It is below per diem and during these tight budget times this can save your agency money. All staff, from janitor to manager are proud of their establishment and very professional and respectful. Great experience every time I have stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2009

Hello, Enjoy0907 –

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback in your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your visit to the hotel and for taking the time to submit a review. We take all reviews very seriously, as we look for every opportunity we can get to improve our service.

We are very glad you had a positive experience at our hotel, and we hope you are able to stay with us again the next time you are in Herndon. Also, we’re glad you enjoyed our guest service team at the hotel… we are very lucky to have what we consider to be the best team members in the world.

And lastly, the next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, thank you very much for your posting; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will tell others about your positive experience!

We hope that we will have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very much,
Holiday Express Herndon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The manager, Mr. Singh, and his staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is immaculate and well run. A very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NewYorkCityCat_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Just a great experience. Mr. Singh at the front desk was extremely helpful. Room was modern and clean. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The hotel is in a very good location west of Washington DC about 10 miles or so. If you are doing business in Fairfax or around Dulles Airport then it the hotel is well positoned for you.

Have stayed in this area multiple times doing business in Fairfax but this is the first time staying at the Holliday Inn Express in Herndon. Unless it is a "force put" it will be the last time.

About the hotel:
* standard HI Express setup with breakfast which was fine
* must have been passed down through various hotel chains since everything seems pretty old such as the:
+ rooms being very small
+ hallway floors are uneven as is the elevator floor
+ air conditioner is pretty worn out and rattled continously
+ in room refrigerator made a noise like every minute or so ... it was like it was snoring

If you stay there or somewhere close to Herndon and need a good resturant then try..... Zeffirelli Ristorante www.zeffirelliristorante.com Itallian resturant that is really excellent their phone 703 318 7000

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mergansertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimCree, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2009

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you when traveling to Northern Virginia. The Holiday Inn Express recently won the 2008 Quality Excellence Award from InterContinenal Hotel Group for its service excellence and has been certified by VA Green Lodging for its comprehensive sustainability program. We hope to see you back for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range: $71 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing