We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to Dulles, and easy to avoid the traffic. Great staff, small beds.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Close to Dulles, and easy to avoid the traffic. Great staff, small beds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed twice at this property on business trips when I've had an early morning flight. Above average for Holiday Inn Express, the hotel is clean, and the staff are terrific, helping me find a place for a pizza on a Sunday night at 10pm.

The rooms are smaller than average, at least the basic/standard room I booked, but everything fit well and it was cozy. The beds were reasonably comfortable, but were double beds and not Queen sized - a consideration if you're traveling with a family, for me they were fine.

The best part was getting to the airport. It's a short trek up to US 50 from the hotel, and other than having to wait at a number of traffic lights, there was little traffic on a Monday morning.

For those travelers without their own private transportation, the hotel has a free shuttle. The shuttle will also take you to the Udvar-Hazy (Smithsonian) Air and Space museum that's located in the Dulles Annex.

I'll certainly stay at this property again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
53
35
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I arrive at 1am it was a very long day traveling. When I opened the door to my room I was greeted by a vase with flowers and a note thanking me for staying. Funny because I first I thought the flower might have been from my husband. The staff was friendly the hotel was clean. If my travels ever take me back I will be checking in here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smit4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I were at this hotel for 2 nights. The staff was all you could ask for, friendly and very helpful. The hotel shuttle took us to Dulles airport where we caught an airport shuttle to the space center and back. The hotel shuttle then picked us up at the airport and took us back to the hotel. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a coffee maker with coffee, microwave and mini-fridge which was larger than the normal mini-fridge. Unfortunately it did not have a freezer, something that we really enjoy having. If it had a freezer, I would have given it a 5. If you don't care about a freezer, consider this review a 5. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. Should we be in this area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel with a tour group visiting Washington, D.C. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room was convenient. Plus Free wifi and cable tv.

Next door is a Safeway grocery store and across the street many ethnic restaurants. We had sushi one night that was very good (Thai and sushi mixed restaurant ) and Chinese buffet another... That filled us up. The last night we had a large salad and soup at the Panera bread which was all excellent, large portions and fresh. I would recommend the hotel for its facilities and the ones nearby. A pool would be great.... But you can't have everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annma27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so most HIEs are much the same but this one stands out because the staff are exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble, from checking in to the shuttle back to the airport which took us directly to the car rental place.
The only downside was that when we arrived, tired and hot from a long flight from the UK the hotel shuttle seemed to take ages to come, so we took a taxi. It would have been good to know approximately when a shuttle might be due, it was chaos at the hotel shuttle area at Dulles.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My elderly mum and I stayed here 2 nights 10-11 September. We walked in and were greeted warmly by the staff and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies were at the table. We were handed a paper bag with 2 water bottles and a choice of snacks to take up to our room. The room was comfortable, nice sheets and towels and a decent list of TV channels to choose from and a complimentary newspaper was offered. There was a chocolate on our pillow and a notice of the next day's weather. All the staff from the cleaning staff to the maintenance men greeted us cordially and with a smile when we passed them in the hallway. Breakfast was adequate too. I think the management here tries very hard to make this a nice experience and it was. Thanks to everybody at the hotel. It is well managed and friendly! For a nice snack, try "Hot Bread" in the shopping centre across from the hotel; we had a vegetarian puff pastry that was tasty.

Room Tip: 4th floor was fine.
See more room tips
Green Features: I really liked that the hotel chain recycles leftover soap for 3rd world countries.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pate-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Pate-in-Surrey,

I think the part of your review I like most of all is the way you note how friendly the staff is, and that each member you encountered made you feel welcomed. That's exactly what we are aiming for, and I think that's what sets us apart from many hotels in the area. Those freshly baked chocolate cookies are always appreciated, but there's nothing to make someone feel like they're at their "home away from home" like a staff that works hard to make you comfortable. Thank you so much for sharing your comments.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the front desk clerks and the driver were amazing, the hotel has a nice location and not to far from Dulles. The rooms were clean and breakfast was splendid. I will def will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Address: 485 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing