We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super comfortable, affordable place to stay, got room at last minute. Super friendly staff, very clean room, would happily stay here again (and probably will if/when I return to area!). There are plenty of dining options nearby as well. Stayed here one night in August 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellemaman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    92
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
52
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Staff was professional, very helpful and accommodating. The room was nice and clean and it was an overall quiet atmosphere. We couldn't enjoy the breakfast, because we had to leave too early.
The shuttle driver was very professional and courteous.
We'll be back

Room Tip: Try to book about 2 weeks in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnenblume52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I'm sorry you had to leave too early to take advantage of the breakfast. Our Express Start complimentary deluxe continental breakfast features hot eggs, breakfast meats, a variety of cereals, pastries and fruits, and arguably the best cinnamon roll this world has witnessed. Our staff is also happy to put aside some items for you to take with you if you are leaving before the 6am opening if you let us know the day before. We want to make sure you start the day off on the right foot.

We look forward to your next visit.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very average hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Breakfast is your standard breakfast that you get with any HI Express. Will I stay here again when back in town on business??? That all depends on what the rates at other hotels in the area are at the time. I have found that this is the best value in area the 2 times I have been in Herndon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your recent visit. I'm glad you found us to be the best value, not once, but twice. Our staff works hard to provide the friendly and helpful service you mentioned, and we hope to welcome you back whenever you are in the area. Safe travels!

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to be able to take an early morning cruise to mt Vernon. About 40 min drive to the boat. Clean rooms. Very small bathroom
Good breakfast and quick.
Loved the fact that they offer bicycles - made me wish I had another night to try that out

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had a connecting flight and this hotel was one of the more inexpensive options for staying close to the airport.
i found the room to be clean but a bit on the small side. the room had a funny smell and the breakfast items were average.
the main advantage of staying here was the complimentary shuttle.
The shopping mall opposite the hotel was not bad, offering a little of everything.
in short, not bad value for the price i paid but I would probably try another hotel next time I have a layover at dulles airport.

Room Tip: rooms to the front of the hotel have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laviajera498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for noting the cleanliness of the rooms, our convenient location, and value. The shuttle van service (provided free of charge 5am-11pm) is certainly an added value, making us the ideal location for guests stopping at Dulles Airport.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us as much as we would like. Our complimentary breakfast includes hot eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh pancakes, hot cinnamon buns, a selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, breads and pastries.

I hope you will give us another try the next time your travel plans bring you to this area.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the beginning, I was glad that only one of us would be spending the night. The room given to us was what you'd expect to find in Hong Kong or New York, as it was little bigger than a shoebox. Given the price of real estate in those two places, I can understand rooms to be small. But in Northern Virginia? "Fortunately", the A/C unit emitted a foul smell and I asked for and was given another room. The room was bigger, however, it was at the expense of a much smaller bathroom. Aside from the size of the room, there's nothing that was bad about the place. That being said, there's nothing that stands out that would make me recommend this property either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon. Hotels typically price rooms based on the size and/or amenities provided. I'm glad the front desk was able to move you to a larger room, even if the bathroom was smaller than you are accustomed to. Please let me know when you are in this area again so I can make sure you receive a larger room. My direct email address is Patrick.Foley@bfsaul.com. Your complete satisfaction and continued patronage is very important to me.

Patrick M. Foley, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were first booked into a single room, but all they had was handicapped, on the first floor, very near the elevator. Next morning we asked to change, and very quickly we were in a double, end of the hall, far from "the maddening crowd." But the exhaust fan in the shower was noisy, and they sent a repair person, and the fan chose not to show off. Finally, if you call an elevator on the 3rd floor, it rings until you get on and select your new floor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your experience. Without knowing more about your original reservation I can't tell what room type was reserved. Sometimes third-party reservation sites assign a "run of house" room with a request for a bed type when individual allotments are gone. I'm glad the front desk was able to change the room for you the following day, though. I also know how frustrating it is to have something mechanical (like an exhaust fan) refuse to make the same noises once a repairman arrives. I'd love to hear more details if you'd like to send an email to Patrick.Foley@bfsaul.com. I'd like to be sure other guests don't have the same problems.

Patrick M. Foley, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Address: 485 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing