We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average Holiday Inn Express Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chilhowie, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn Express Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights and had an average Holiday Inn Express experience. Room was nice and clean. Only problem with the room was the bathroom was slightly small. Had to go to the lobby to get ice-a small hassle. Holiday Inn Express breakfast is usually pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    90
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
61
51
35
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed one night and are a family a 5. Just a few minutes away from DC area. Pricing was very reasonable. Excellent service, super clean room. Very quiet and beds were very comfortable. We had a good nights sleep. Continental breakfast was good too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A perfectly acceptable Holiday Inn Express; gracious and friendly staff; so-so breakfast (the room was small and the offerings less than inspiring); the bedroom was fine - if the furnishings are a little dated; teeny bathroom with a very noisy extractor fan. Good night's sleep and very convenient for the airport

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visit. You're certainly right in saying the breakfast room can fill up pretty easily. I guess we are a victim of our own success. We offer a variety of breakfast foods, from hot eggs and sausage or bacon, fresh biscuits, made to order pancakes, assorted danish, cereals, yogurt, fruit, and arguably the best cinnamon buns in town. If there's anything you would like to see on the buffet I hope you will let me know. We are always looking for ways to make it even better.

I agree with your comment that the staff is "gracious and friendly". My job as manager is so much easier because our staff goes out of their way to give the very best service at a reasonable cost. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Safe travels,
Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a problem with the booking.com concerning the wording <<double room>> and when we arrived the manager was so kind with us, we recommend this hotel. She also offer us a drive to a restaurant, a discount, etc. Thanks for this nice journey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChantalF452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a reservation for this hotel starting Monday - Tue of next week. My flight came in early and I was in town at 6.00 AM. With no other place to go, I gave it a shot to come to the hotel to see if they can store my luggage while I can use their lobby Restroom to freshen-up. Instead, the gentleman on the checking counter offered me a room and checked me early to use my room. He also invited me to join for the morning, hot breakfast. Later that day, when I got it, I was offered a warm welcome by people on the front desk.
I have stayed on other properties in Herndon, but the people, the service, the place and above all the feeling they provide here is unmatched.
As a result I extended my stay here for 3 more days :). All I can say is "Thank you" and carry out the great service you guys have been provided. If I can give 7*, you deserve it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon (VA) the night before leaving on a 2-wk vacation. It was part of a stay 'n fly package that included a certain number of days parking along with shuttle service to Dulles airport (IAD). The staff were exceptional and we receievd excellent+ value.

The reservation was made on-line. The day before check-in I called and spoke to the front desk attendant, who was polite, cheerful and competent. It was nearly 9:00pm when we arrived. Everything was in order and the check-in process was smooth as could be. We were directed to park in a particular area so that the staff would know that the vehicle was part of the stay 'n fly pkg. We asked for a shuttle at a particular time in the morning (early). Upon arising, we went downstairs for the standard HIE buffet. Because of the early hour, we did not expect to get more than a cup of coffee and perhaps an apple. Instead the staff had put out the buffet a bit early so that we could have a better breakfast. The shuttle driver was waiting for us. He loaded all the luggage, while we had breakfast. The hotel is perhaps 10 min from Dulles. We were dropped off and again assisted with the luggage.

Upon our return, we called the hotel from the baggage claim area. By the time we got our bags and made our way outside, the shuttle was there. Our arrival was around 6:30am, so the driver suggested that we go inside the hotel and have breakfast, while he took care of the bags. We were stunned by this gesture and the added value it represented.

Our experience with HIE properties tends to be quite good. This property was exceptional. Everyone with whom we dealt went above and beyond in making our complete experience positive. If you have reason to stay at a hotel in proximity to Dulles, this property is wonderful. I know we will stay there from now on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stay at this property when I am in the Reston,VA area on business. It is easy to access, has a decent fitness center, business center, free wifi, expanded continental breakfast and friendly staff. I also like that they offer complimentary bikes for the rail trail which is just behind the property. The only downside that I have on occasion encountered is being stuck on a floor with bus groups who come very late and leave very early making it hard to sleep. The property is normally sold out when I am there, so it is not always possible to get a quieter location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from bus groups who may be arriving late and leaving early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHMR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Address: 485 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing