We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“New decor. close to airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“New decor. close to airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stay at a lot of hotels including many HIEs. This one is one of the nicer ones. The room was the typical HIE room. Had a newer flat screen.
Breakfast was good. Nice sitting area.
Staff was very friendly. Close to restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenisSunDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    90
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
51
35
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great Place to stay, one night or for weeks. Clean, comfortable and really great staff. This hotel is in an perfect location, near lots of restaurants. Excellent value for expensive Herndon/Reston! Free continental breakfast. Decent fitness room AND LOANER Bikes, seriously bikes you can borrow to tour the area!!! Free business center/printer, free and fast internet. I stayed here for weeks at a time. I will ALWAYS stay here when I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Jim C,

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff works hard to make sure we deliver a great value, and exceptional service.

The free loaner bicycles are very popular with our guests who don't want to stop their fitness routine while on the road. If there was a particular member of the staff who went out of their way to make your stay a success I'd love to hear from you (my direct email is patrick.foley@bfsaul.com). We use feedback like yours for recognizing superior service, performance evaluations, and our Employee of the Quarter.

Thank you for sharing your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

In Hospitality,
Patrick Foley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale, ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is typical of the type of hotel you would find 25 or 30 years ago. The hotel's age is apparent in its drab decor, old furnishings and somewhat small room size. It compares poorly with the typical well designed and well equipped hotels that have become available in the last 10 years or so.

I should say, however, that things worked OK in my Room 231--that is, there were no malfunctions or broken items. The free WiFi worked fine, and the free breakfast was OK, offering sausage, omelets, sweet rolls and other typical items. Given this hotel's age, it might be best characterized as a budget alternative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendale-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Glendale-member,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking time to write a review of your experience, honest and frank feedback about our hotel is something we take seriously so we can strive to always improve.

I'm so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work hard to ensure that everything is just right for our guests. You are correct in saying room 231 is small in size, but we have tried to compensate by providing an in-room refrigerator, new flat screen television, and other amenities at no additional cost.

As is the case with most hotels, we price our rooms based on size and bed type. I wish you had told us you were disappointed so we could upgrade you to something larger. As to the decor, we follow standards set by IHG as they apply to all Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable hotel room, where everything works. I'm sorry you did not leave with a better impression. I hope you will contact me directly at Patrick.Foley@bfsaul.com the next time you will be in this area so I can make sure you are completely satisfied.

Sincerely,
Patrick Foley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow! Clean hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location to Dulles Airport (6 miles) and lots of restaurants. All at a remarkably inexpensive price.

The hotel is a fairly typical Holiday Inn Express with the standard free breakfast. But they have fresh cookies in the evening and fresh fruit out all day long. They have a minimal work-out facility on site, but offer access to a nearby full service gym. They offer complimentary good quality bicycles for guests to use to take a ride on the wonderful nearby W&OD Trail. Complimentary 24-hour transportation to/from Dulles Airport. Did I mention the place was clean and with a friendly staff? You shouldn't get all this at this price - but you do. You should stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 5 nights for a nearby training class. Hotel was clean, room was comfortable and well maintained, and staff was super friendly and helpful. The provided shuttle service to the airport and local restaurants was great. There is an old train track that has been converted to a multi-use trail about a block behind the hotel. The hotel has nice loaner bicycles for you to explore the trail. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzybuzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Queen room. Nice clean hotel, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Comfortable aircon. rooms with tea/coffee available plus microwave and fridge (very useful if you don't want to eat out - food etc. available from Safeway next door, see below).

The lift was out of order when we arrived so we had to carry out bags up to the top floor. It broke down again later in the evening with us in it (!); fortunately it was at our floor & we managed to force the door open - apparently it has a reputation for being unreliable! We used the stairs most of the time just to be on the safe side...

Free hotel shuttle minibus to/from Dulles airport. Make sure you get on correct shuttle by checking the name/address on the vehicle - there are quite a number of Holiday Inn shuttles going in & out of the airport & of course, we got on the wrong one - Holiday Inn EXPRESS not Holiday Inn! If you ask Reception the minibus will take you to nearby Herndon Park & Ride to catch the local bus into DC city centre (takes 25mins, cost $6, get timetable/map from Reception) and then phone for collection you when you return to Park & Ride.

Outdoor shopping mall directly opposite has good selection of restaurants; we used the Chinese buffet (excellent at $12.95 each) the first night and the Vietnamese noodle restaurant ($6-8 each) on the second. Large Safeways supermarket next door (open 0500-midnight) very good for food/drink shopping plus snacks (sandwiches etc.) & bottled water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights as part of a vacation trip. The staff are friendly, always nice to have when you are travelling around in what can be soulless corporate hotels. The place was spotlessly clean in our room and the public areas. The free breakfast was fine, with a good selection and always kept well stocked and fresh. The hotel in near a huge range of restaurants for evening dining out so you will not be stuck for choice. Will certainly stay here again when I am back in the area on my next trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
Address: 485 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing