We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More for Less”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had just come off of several weeks of staying at boutique hotels in San Diego and other large cities and was amazed at how I had been nickeled and dimed with fees for everything from internet access to coffee to local phone calls. I stayed at this hotel because the big boys I normally stay in at Dulles were filled. I'll never go back to them after this experience. Everything, from check in to check out was first class. The room was basic but it worked. Everything was where it was supposed to be and the free internet was very fast, the toiletries, water pressure and towels were great. Complimentary little bottles of water were most appreciated. If I had stayed longer I could have used a complimentary bike to ride along the W&OD trail, which was right behind the hotel. It was raining and we wanted to dine at a oyster bar about five blocks from the hotel and they simply brought the shuttle around and drove us there. The little gym was great, the FREE breakfast which included hot eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, pancakes, etc was just amazing. Everything was super clean and neat and everyone had smiles. All in all, a most unexpected experience and one that has changed the way I look at Holiday Inn Express properties.

Room Tip: Just ask at check in for best available and let them decide, they will be most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    95
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
64
55
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The first room I got put in was super tiny and smelled of smoke, but was supposed to be non-smoking. That wasn't the worst. The pillows looked like they were wrinkled from someone sleeping on them so I pulled down the sheets just to check....I swear there were pubic hairs in the bed! Someone didn't feel like changing the sheets I guess! The next room was right across from the elevators so it was difficult to sleep. The hotel claims to be environmentally friendly, you know, hang your towels if you want to reuse. But the cleaner paid no attention. Took bad they didn't clean my first room! As for the front desk staff-super nice and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,

I’m so sorry you had such a bad experience while you were with us. Our housekeeping staff is usually quite diligent in making sure our rooms are in perfect condition for new guests. Unfortunately, the first room you were assigned was supposed to be occupied for another two nights by the previous guest, who had a last minute change of plans. He had requested the room receive just a refresh instead of a full cleaning. Apparently his early checkout created confusion when the room status was updated.

We are now reviewing the procedure for handling early checkout rooms, and working to make sure no other guest has the same experience. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know about this so we can keep improving the service we offer our guests.

I’m happy to hear you were pleased by the staff at the front desk, but sorry that we did not deliver this same level of service throughout the hotel. I hope you will contact me directly next time you will be in the area so I can personally take care of the arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Foley
General Manager Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days. Great value for money. Clean rooms and friendly staff.
Breakfast is decent. Location is quite good. The shopping area directly opposite the hotel offers you enough eating options to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very good Holiday Inn Express. Friendly, efficient staff. Clean rooms. Adjacent to a Safeway supermarket and across the street from restaurants and an organic food store ("Mom's'). Don't be misled by the very old Google Maps street view you might see --- the adjoining area has changed a lot since the street view I saw. Very close to the "W&OD" walking/running/biking trail --- go out the back to the street behind the hotel, turn right, and look on the left for an unmarked and rather narrow paved trail that will take you to the W&OD trail. Only complaint I had was being placed into a room across from the single elevator. That was OK except that the top of the main door to the room had a rather big gap that seemed to allow hallway and elevator noise into the room.

Room Tip: Check for a gap at the top of the main door to your room. You may want to change rooms to avoid exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveler1DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Less than 30 minutes from Washington, DC. Not a bad drive considering the price you would pay if staying by the National Mall. Close to lots of eateries and the breakfast was superb. The place was clean though some reviews says otherwise. We traveled all over the world and we meticulously search for hotels that are clean, no pets allowed and offers free breakfast. Those are our top criterias. This one fits the bill. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, MS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed her for 6 days while attending a training class at Oracle for work. The hotel was nice and close to a lot of eating places. The breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful! They had it all, biscuits, pancakes, sausage, eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, cinnamon rolls, etc... The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The night before leaving, a storm hit and knocked out power to the entire area. When I left early the next morning, while it was still very dark so I could catch an early flight, staff members were walking around with flashlights to assist guest with finding the way. If I was in the area again, I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoveDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a fine stay...nothing great (except the service) and nothing terrrible. This hotel is a little outdated and could use a facelift. My room wasn't dirty by any means, but could use a little work. For the price it was a fine stay. The location was great for my needs and they have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
0.8 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing