We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Hotel with excellent Rooms, Staff and Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel with excellent Rooms, Staff and Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Work took our family to Herndon for a month or so and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Marriott Residence Inn. Here are a few of the highlights in no particular order. Spacious rooms with great beds. Fully equipped kitchens to include a dishwasher w/ free soap. Great housekeeping staff who do a tremendous job. 3 big plasmas and digital cable in our 2 bedroom suite. Free internet (wireless or LAN). Good pool and hot tub with a lifeguard. Free use of Golds gym 3 miles down the road. Free robust daily breakfast with a friendly staff. (of note, most people stay here for a week or more so you get to meet some nice people). M-Thurs free dinner. Pay Laundry facilities. Free USA today/Washington Post.
The location is very convenient. There are no less than 6 major grocery stores within 2 miles including a Safeway next door. There is plenty of shopping very close. You can get to Dulles in 10 minutes.
If work sends you to Reston/Herndon/Dulles area you will not be disappointed with the Marriott Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    47
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
24
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

This hotel has a noise problem, and I would say a lack of security. Townhouse suite is less noisy. There was noise all night in building with studio suite.

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
Thank around10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

This hotel was so clean it was amazing. Great room for a great price. It had everything and anything you wanted in a hotel room. The only thing I didn't like was the mattress but I will trade that for a clean room any day. This was the best hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisaccord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIHGM, Manager at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel. Our team takes great pride in our most important responsibility as a hotel, which is providing a clean hotel room with great amenities and excellent customer service.

I apologize that you didn't enjoy the comforts of the bed. We all know how important it is to get a good night's sleep on a comfortable mattress. We have just recently replaced all of the mattresses here on property and hope that we have addressed that concern.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience at the Marriott Residence Inn Herndon. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

There was confusion with my reservation; the staff thought I was booked for only one night until I showed them my printed itinerary from Expedia. They graciously upgraded me to 2 bed room suite at no charge, although I really didn't need the extra room. Breakfast was nice with good choice of hot and cold foods; Breakfast dining area was a little cramped but ok. Rooms were clean and large flat screen TVs were great. Complimentary internet via CAT5 cable. Parking is plentiful and there are large selection of dining choices nearby. The rooms are accessed from outside like a budget motel but hallway with keycard activated lock acts as a buffer to the actual room entrance with seperate keycard lock. Like all hotels/motels in the area, weekday and weekend rates vary a great deal so plan your trip accordingly. Be sure to have your printed itnerary with you if you paid through a third party vendor like Expedia or orbitz

  • Liked — Roominess of the suite, Flat screen tv
  • Disliked — budget motel-like entrance
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zanypoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

There is nothing wrong with this Residence Inn: except that it is too expensive considering the competition.

The location is excellent, close to Washington-Dulles (IAD). The hotel is easy to find, and there are excellent shops and restaurants close by. Be sure to go across the street to The Wine Seller, a wine boutique with a good wine selection and a moderate cigar selection. If you are up for something a little more low-down and rowdy stop by the Hard Times Cafe for pool and beer.

The guest rooms are simply wonderful. Enormous suites with nice beds, and everything works in the kitchen. This author has never had a problem with facilities in this hotel.

The bad news is that the Residence Inn is very expensive compared to other good hotels in the area. The Embassy Suites on Centreville is much more friendly, inviting and open.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryjgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage, ak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They also have a computer in the front desk you can use if you don't feel like lugging a laptop.

Positive:

Great location next to trails and shopping.

Free parking

Great food

Security guard was friendly and the rooms all have two lock doors to get by.

Negatives:

NO pool or hot tube...okay it March, but I kind of like that for $200 a night.

No shuttle to local area...ie stores, renton town center, ect.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2005

I was doing business in Reston, Va. The front desk was extremely friendly at check-in and throughout my stay. I had issues with my door key several different times and one time they didn't ask me for identification when I got a new key. Evidently there are issues with the door lock system and issues with security at this facility.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank craigandstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#9 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Property: Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Address: 315 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4817
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#12 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing