We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conveniently situated close to shops and restaurants (Herndon or Reston), the Airport (Dulles), and a 15 minute car ride to Dunn Loring or Falls Church Metro stations (5 mins to Wiehle next year) and 30 minutes to DC (out of the commuter periods).

We had a ground floor suite (open plan with kitchen, lounge and WiFi ) situated in one of many small buildings with access through a secure entrance, close to parking but, unlike a motel, away from the building… all of which contained in a mature tree lined property with grassed areas around the buildings.

Being separated from reception and dining room required a walk in the fresh air, or a drive, to have the complementary full breakfast. Everything felt clean and it was relatively quiet (for an urban setting).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
24
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a two bedroom suite. We had three adults and one teenager and having essentially a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment made the stay very comfortable. While the room rate was higher than some of the nearby hotels, I feel like we received more than that in the extra value provided.

The daily breakfast had good food quality and variety, while the late afternoon snacks were nice as well. The full kitchen and nearby grocery store allowed us to eat many meals in the room. The wireless Internet was included and I even used the washer and dryer in the main building to get a load of laundry done before we headed to another town for the remainder of our trip. We even took advantage of the guest passes for a nearby Gold's Gym.

You are only a short drive from a mall and about 25 miles to Washington D.C. You can drive 10 miles to a park & ride and take the Orange Metro in to NYC. The are tons of historic sites to visit in addition to DC.

When we checked out we had no additional charges other than the room rate. That is why I felt it was such a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete07046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at Residence inn's before but this was a step up. They have thought of everything and you can tell. It was nice to find things that they had in the room to make it easy for you. Small things like paper towels, dish cloth and wine opener etc. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!! We will return again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this location for our 3 yr wedding anniversary. Upon arriving the room was very clean and spacious. We decided to go to the pool and whirlpool area....the pool looked very clean until we go into it. The whirlpool was dirty and did not work either. The next night we were going to use the grills by the pool area and I was told by the front desk person that the grills were not working due to a gas line problem. So after all of that we decided to cut our stay short by one day and leave early. I went to the front desk to let them know we were leaving early and the lady at the desk in a rude tone told me I was not getting any money back.....I contacted the company and after several emails I received one from Chris the manager there. He was very apologetic and told me about the problems they were having with the lifeguards and the gas lines for the grills....he did refund one of our nights (the night we did not stay) and gave us 10,000 reward points.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvjodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights waiting for our corporate apartment to be ready. I was very pleased with our room! It was a big studio apartment and had everything we needed to be comfortable. The grounds were easy to walk around with perfect for our dog. They have a lot of amenities and services to help make your stay pleasant. I would have been fine staying here longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this Residence Inn for a week in November 2011. We liked the style of this hotel, it is like a little village with a nice garden and pool area (the pool is closed during winter time). I'll bet it is great to stay there during summer time on a vacation, having a quality time with the kids in the garden.
I would recommend staying on the first floor and for families with children I would recommend a room facing the garden and the pool, at least during summer. There is not an elevator in the two story buildings so you have to carry your bags up the stairs to the second floor if your room is there.
The breakfast was very good, the staff was helpful and the rooms are very good, spacious and nice and clean with full kitchen and a good TV area. There are bigger rooms (apartments) than we stayed in. There is a shopping center across the street with Kmart but that Kmart was just bad, chaotic, not clean (at least when we stayed there). There is a nice big Target store in the area that is just great, we did a lot of our shopping there. Residence Inn at Herndon Reston is a perfect hotel for longer stays and great for families and couples.

Room Tip: First floor facing the pool area is better if you are traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amasonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 months while our house was build... This hotel was great for us! Pet friendly, VERY friendly with our dog! Never had any problem with anything or anybody.... The location it's great! Very close to Reston Town Center, to W&OD trail, supermarket and restaurants! The gym membership it's a plus!
They always have coffee and cookies available anytime everyday! My dog loved to go to the front desk and play with the staff before her treat.
We highly recommend this place! V

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Herndon Reston
Courtyard Herndon Reston
#17 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Property: Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Address: 315 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4817
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#12 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing