We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expect from a Marriott Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have stayed at every level of Marriott in cities around the world and as a Lifetime Platinum member I have a few - not unreasonable - expectations. When visiting the area on business (about once every six weeks) I usually stay at the Courtyard down the street. Tried this just to check it out. I should have stayed away. No wastebasket in the bathroom, no hair dryer, called the front desk multiple times with no answer, no shampoo, and no bill in the morning. I tracked down the front desk person and listed my issues. He had an answer for everything and was clear that it certainly wasn't his fault. He offered me some points and I replied that I would rather have a properly prepared room and a capable staff. No reply. No enthusiasm. Obviously not concerned.

Room Tip: Don't bother. But if you must, try to get a room away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You are a valued customer and we certainly want you to have an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here around 13 years ago and loved it. Going to the soccer games at Fedex Field in June, I and nine others wanted to spend the night before heading back to Richmond. I was wondering if it would still be as nice as I remembered.
I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel as wonderful as before. Everything appears to be new. The room was perfect, new tiled bath, fresh white and turquoise linens with lime green and peach accent pillows. Great new carpeting. The lobby was the same, new and bright and clean. The rooms are huge, and the kitchen/desk area is open and spacious. My husband and three children fit in the room easily. The beds were very comfortable, and the sleeper couch is located at quite a distance from the two doubles if someone wants more privacy.

At check in,the desk clerk was very kind and polite, helping us locate great places to eat. There are many fine restaurants within a few minutes drive, and many stores. We tried O'Sullivans Irish pub and loved it. Near by was the Ice House Cafe which was closing but it looked elegant.

The cost is very reasonable, surprisingly reasonable. I love hotels, and my friend and her family are quite particular about where they stay. No complaints. Am I a fan of this hotel? YES!

I strongly recommend this hotel and cannot imagine anyone not liking it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have visited this hotel several times over the years. But this facility is getting stale. The staff is very friendly, the rates are reasonable, but the carpets are worn and dirty around the edges, the ice machine on 3rd is very noisy, and the oily elevator door cleaner smells. This place needs an update to keep pace with the many newer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Presently, the 3rd floor is nosy. This hotel is well located away from high traffic roads, so most r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubreyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Aubreyrich,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. We are continuing to make upgrades to our property and there are many to follow before this year is over. We know that you will be pleased with many of the upcoming changes and we certainly hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us and again, for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stay in at least 2 different hotel every week and I keep coming back here. The staff is so welcoming and helpful. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the town center, airport or anywhere near by and they are so accommodating. Only drawback I have found is that the towels aren't very fluffy - trivial I know. I also really enjoy the breakfast, one of the few hotels i have found that always have Greek yogurt. They also have apples and Chupa Chup lollipops out all day, and cookies out every evening. Its my home away from home. Jeff the manager is great, as are Alex & Ridvan.

Room Tip: I always stay on the top floor so as not to hear people above me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcorbo824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We are visiting with family. Hotel in very modern. Rooms are very large. With fridge and microwave. Kids loved the pool which has an attendant and is open till 10. Breakfast is wonderful but crowded. Lots of parking. Innumerable restaurants of every type nearby. Beds are comfy. Bath is tight with cheap shower head. We are very pleased.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is close to the D.C. area and to the highways, but close enough into suburban Herndon/Reston that you don't *have* to venture into the capital if you're not up for it.
We stayed on a very crowded weekend, which made the Saturday morning breakfast buffet kind of like a cattle call. The breakfast area has kind of a weird configuration and could probably use more seating, and maybe a few more people to help with replenishing food, coffee etc.
Everything was clean, and staff were friendly. For the proximity to D.C. you can't beat the price. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd request a room on the top floor if possible; ceiling noise is a problem if you have noisy pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to DC for Cherry Blossom Festival weekend with friends and stayed here. We reserved 2 rooms, both king studio suites, via booking.com. They were sold out that day.

Check in was simple, just gave our full names and the gentleman at the front desk located our reservation. He excuses himself to take a call which was regarding the hotel shuttle, which sounded very efficient and a nice service (we did not use).

The room was beautiful! Nice open floorplan. We loved the soft soothing classical music playing in the background as we entered the room. The color scheme was also very relaxing, pale blues and greens. We were in room 401. The living area had a long 4 seater couch that pulls out to be a queen sized bed (linens located above the open 'closet area' that you can hang clothes). There was a kitchenette area with a sink, microwave, small fridge, and coffee amenities. Very nice and neat. There was a desk with lamp and plenty of outlets for our devices.

The king sized bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Our friend said that the pullout sofabed was better than expected and she wouldn't mind sleeping on it again.

We had one problem with our door the first time we went out; the deadbolt seemed to lock whenever we turned the handle so we couldn't pull the door shut. It finally closed after the 8th try so we didn't report it. It gave is no other problems the rest of our stay.

The free breakfast the next morning was very crowded and busy with many families. The spread was comprehensive: scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, sausage Patties, make-your-own waffles, apples, bananas, cereals, milk, oatmeal and fixings and coffee/tea/juice. The scrambled eggs and sausage was replenished quickly buy once the fruit and hard boiled eggs were gone, they were gone. We still got in a substantial breakfast after we located a spot to sit.

It took us a but less than half hour to/from DC, but be prepared for the many tolls that are on the route. It does add up! For that reason, I would consider looking to book somewhere else next trip, but for the price and quality of the accommodations, I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Everfair,

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear that your stay was delightful. We are having a metro built in the area, one mile from our property, that will take you into DC. We would certainly invite you to come back in the future and give us another try. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Herndon Reston
Courtyard Herndon Reston
#16 of 20 in Herndon
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring St, Herndon, VA 20170-5207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington DC. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing