We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Food Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Flavor

Thai Flavor
Ranked #46 of 251 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have had Thai food in all corners of the US, and this is by far the best, by far. Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. Our family enjoys spicy food, and Thai Flavor served it up well. The red curry was excellent. My wife asked for her pad thai to be extra spicy, and it was, but the flavor was well blended. Our oldest had the crispy duck that was served up on a bed of fresh steamed broccoli. The duck was tender and moist and full of flavor. Our younger daughter had a large bowl of tom yum soup, which she thoroughly enjoyed. She loves her hot, spicy soups, and she loved it. My very picky son had the "Thai chicken wings", which he devoured. Most importantly, my mother-in-law, who objects to every single meal, enjoyed it. She had the crispy fried flounder, which was very large, prepared with garlic, butter, and hot red pepper was perfectly crispy on the outside, and meaty, tender, moist, and flavorful on the inside. For dessert we had the fried banana a la mode and the sticky rice with mango. The fried banana was piping hot and delicious. The sticky rice was amply portioned, and words cannot describe how good it was. The mango was ripe and sweet. The white sauce, which in most Thai restaurants amounts to less than a tablespoon, was generously spread all over the rice and mango. What a great find this was. We live two hours away, and were spending the weekend in the area; however, this place is definitely worth going that far for an anniversary or a special night out. It is also great for a family dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HawkCJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thai Flavor is always delicious and fresh, have been coming here for years with friends, family, and coworkers and have never been disappointed. You can't miss the shrimp spring rolls. Everyone working here is very friendly and courteous and are happy to answer questions and prepare dishes to your specifications. Service is fast, location is clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Fancy But GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thai Flavor is a good little Thai restaurant that is worth trying. It is not fancy, but it is clean and attractive. It does have the requisite fish tank! The location is off the beaten path, but worth looking for. The service is great. I had the yellow curry and it was delicious! Just the right amount of spiciness. My wife had the panang curry, and it, too, was great. They serve large portions at very reasonable prices (ours each was $10.95). The meals of other diners looked terrific. We are anxious to go again and try some other dishes. We enjoyed it very much, and recommend it highly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D-Leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Yellow Curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Some co-workers took me to Thai Flavor for lunch recently and we all enjoyed it. I have only tried Thai food a couple of times but this was noticeably better.

The Yellow Curry was slightly spicy but not too much. I couldn't stop eating it. The portions are surprisingly large, though I didn't see discounted lunch pricing. Over $10 for lunch is a bit pricey for me, but it was a quality meal. The food was so hot that I burned my tongue, even after blowing on it. It stayed hot the entire time.

The other guys got a noodle dish and some vegetarian dish, and both looked great. They could not finish their meals. In my experience and after reading other reviews, you can't go wrong by trying this place. But don't be surprised if your GPS leads you a few buildings down the street. Just look for a small sign in the window. It's worth the treasure hunt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis24401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

You're not going here for the ambiance. Food was very good, piping hot and very flavorful. Two curry dishes, pad Thai and some sizzling beef dish with lots of fresh veggies. Everyone was very happy with their selections. Plenty of food too.

Helpful?
Thank LASTMNUTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Flavor also viewed

Harrisonburg, VA
 

Been to Thai Flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing