We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Welcome Home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After a 12 hour ride and arriving in the middle of the night, the front desk attendant greeted me with a morning sunshine smile. Couple that with the fact that I had car problems earlier that day that prompted me to call the hotel earlier notifying them I may not be able to make it, it was extra appreciative to me that the manager still held a room for my family that night. She had called me earlier in the day to follow up with my reservation and I advised her the car was undergoing some major work and I was not sure I would make it.
Long story short, the staff there had sold my room but provided an upgrade for my family so that I was able to get a good night sleep before traveling the next leg of our trip.

I will be making this a regular stay for us when traveling through that town again. The reason is the great service by several members of the staff there both during the night and the morning after.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such an excellent review and for staying with us at the Country Inn & Suites in Harrisonburg, VA. We are happy to hear that your experience was such a pleasant one after a challenging day. We look forward to your next visit when your travels brings you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    138
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
228
100
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I travel for business every week. I highly recommend this hotel. Everything is done to perfection. The staff is amazing. The breakfast buffet is great. They have different hot items each day. The hotel is clean and very quiet. You must stay in this hotel if you're looking for a place that feels like home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lantz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such an excellent review and for making us your hotel of choice when doing business in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled that your experience was such an incredible one and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This wass a very nice hotel with helpful and courtious staff. Only missed one item a safe to keep valuables locked away. An outdoor pool would had been nice, but indoors was ok. Will remember this chain of hotel for the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for stay with the Country Inn & Suites in Harrisonburg, VA. We are glad you found our staff courteous and our hotel to be very nice. While we do not have safes in the rooms, we do provide complimentary lockboxes at the front desk for those guest wishing to secure valuables. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Harrisonburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Upon needing accommodations for business purposes approximately two years ago, I chose to stay here. I have continued to come back for personal and business trips and have always experienced an exceptional visit. The rooms have always been clean and maintained, as well as a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The hospitality is always above and beyond expectations and all of the staff are more than courteous and professional(Including Management,Front Desk,Housekeeping, and Food service), providing for a pleasurable stay! Their breakfast has always been great and the amenities are extensive. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone, as there is no room for complaints here!

Room Tip: Ease of access to any room from various entrances around building. Call ahead for more availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit such an excellent review and for making us your hotel of choice when visiting Harrisonburg, VA. We are excited that your experiences have been so nice and that your find our hospitality both professional and above expectations . We look forward to your continued visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed over night and had a pleasant stay. The room was great and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very attentive. My only suggestion would be to offer more of a variety with the breakfast. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatechip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us at the Country Inn & Suites, Harrisonburg, VA. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience at the hotel and found the staff so attentive. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were greeted at the counter by Melinda R., who was a ray of sunshine and a very polite young lady. We were given our key to the room and was almost knocked down when we opened the room door by the odor of musty/moldy smell throughout the room. Went down the counter and Melinda thought it was from the cleaner used by housekeeping. Sadly, there wasn't any other rooms available so we opened the windows to air it out! We did some sightseeing for several hours and came back to the room, which still smelled horrible even with the windows open and the a/c fan running to help air it out. The breakfast was good, but the chairs in the breakfast area were worn and the vinyl was cracked and chipped. The lobby was cozy and plenty of free coffee!
The hotel is right next to a gas station and close to highway 81 as well as a multitude of sightseeing and things to do/see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear James A,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn and Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our stay here started out with a bang - literally. Beware of the entrance into this place as it may cause your vehicle to bottom out! Ours did and the impact ended up causing just shy of $1,000 damage! When we notified management of what happened, he was not very pleasant to deal with and grudgingly made out an incident report. The toilet in our room would not flush totally, which we didn't discover until the middle of the night. For that unpleasantness, we were given a 10% discount. On the positive side: Breakfast was good, beds were comfortable and the regular staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Carol L,

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
1.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Address: 27 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Country Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing