We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All home comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“All home comforts”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We never seem disappointed with this hotel chain, from the moment that you arrive all your needs are catered for, Rooms are spacious and clean, usual amenities are added to with little surprises such as ‘cookies at check in’ or a bottle of water for your room. This particular hotel also has an indoor pool which although small allowed us to have an early morning swim before a long drive. Breakfast is complimentary and offers a wide choice, free internet and a standard late checkout of noon can often be very useful. All in all you are looked after while away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Country Inn and Suite by Carlson in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our found our hotel to be a home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    166
    55
    17
    14
See reviews for
274
120
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zion, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice place for the price! The staff was courteous. The room was clean and comfortable. The pillows were oddly small but it worked. The room has a mini fridge and microwave. The breakfast was good and had a nice selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scm587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Country Inn and Suite by Carlson in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
334 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A storm prevented us from making our trip, and we called to cancel our room reservation, which was made through Hotels.com. We were able to cancel even though it was non-refundable, the hotel allowed us to do so and get a full refund. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Needed a place to stay while attending a family event, and didn't want to spend a fortune on a room where we would barely spend any time. Room was clean, bed and shower were ok; it was convenient to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast buffet was basic, but a nice extra and saved the time it would take to go out for breakfast. Staffing was minimal - staff was busy, but friendly and accommodating. Generous with extra towels (and you'll soon learn why we needed them). The first room we were offered was on the I-81 side with lots of traffic noise. The second had a sopping wet carpet. The third was fine, until a big thunder storm came along and water started pouring in across the top of the ventilation unit. Used all the towels to soak up the rainwater before it hit the rug. The shabby (not chic) comment? Curtains on hallway windows were literally hanging in shreds, carpets showing wear.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot (back) side to avoid traffic noise from I-81.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel. It is especially close to 81 plus close to the campus of JMU. The employees are very pleasant and helpful. We try to stay on the 2nd or 3rd. floor. The breadfast is good. Lots of choice between hot and cold foods.The rooms are clean and plently large enough. Only negative for me are the pillows which are too soft and don't hold your head up.The heat and A/C is in the front wall and is noisey. There is a nice pool for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed one night in NOV 2012. What I really liked: extremely convenient to exit 243 off I-81. Nicely appointed lobby. Efficient check-in [paid thru Hotels.com]. Fresh smelling hallways and room. Room included microwave, refrigerator, complementary wireless internet, soft towels. Ice machine worked. Vending machines well-stocked. Laundry available for guests. Superior breakfast included [eggs, bacon, home fries, fresh waffles, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, milk, juices, coffee, tea]. Very clean indoor pool and whirlpool. What I didn't like: mattress was firmer than I like and, although the pillows were soft, they were smaller than normal [three-across a queen-size bed, rather than two]; powdered coffee creamer in the rooms instead of mini half-and-half cups; I could not completely close the drapes to block out the street lights, my car bottomed out on the entrance into the parking lot, even when moving at a crawl-speed. Overall, this Country Inn and Suites is doing it all right. I will stay here on all future visits to Harrisonburg and will visit other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west will be quieter - that is the side opposite the interstate and farther from the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel was easy to find. We had a one bedroom suite which was very clean and well decorated. Everything you could need was there. The bed was comfy and the location was good. The staff made it easy to check in and were very helpful in finding a place to eat for dinner.
We would absolutely stay here again! Good for couples and families. Also great for business stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Address: 27 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Country Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Country Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing