We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottages are lovely, romantic, and can't be beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cottages are lovely, romantic, and can't be beat”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Bergey Cottage over a weekend. The cottage itself was absolutely lovely - everything was clean, the extra large jacuzzi was fabulous, we appreciated having some light drinks and snacks on hand, and the delivered breakfasts were delicious. If you are looking for optimal privacy, I would definitely recommend Bergey - the other two cottages were sitting right on top of the parking lot or right next to the main inn. The innkeepers were unfailingly kind and gracious. The only slightly negative thing I would have to say is the location of the B&B was less than optimal - but only if you wanted to park your car for the weekend and be able to walk everywhere. The B&B is located outside the main city downtown and on the fringe of a residential neighborhood so if you wanted to go out to eat and see the sights, you needed to drive. That being said, we didn't mind at all and the cottage made a very nice jumping off point and peaceful return site for our little weekend in the Virginia mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    34
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
231
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and this was a first for both of us. I had always wanted to stay at a B&B and we got very lucky. We stayed in Quill Cottage and it surpassed our expectations. I reserved a cottage for the privacy but was impressed by the decor and the small thoughtful touches. The breakfast baskets they delivered to our door steps were delicious.

The only glitch was the picnic basket. We payed $49 for a two small wedges of cheese, two apples, bread, crackers and cream puffs. I felt it was overpriced.

Everything else was fantastic! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate a school transition for me and our engagement anniversary, and it was everything we could imagine and more. We arrived from the DC area just at 9 p.m., since we had to battle traffic out of the city for our weekend jaunt. The innkeepers had asked us to keep them up-to-date as to our arrival time, which we did. They met us at the door when we got there and were pleasant as can be. They were quite accommodating. We were given a brief history of the main house and brought to our room.

After seeing photos online, we were stunned by how much bigger the room was in person! It was absolutely amazing. Our trip package was nicely bagged for us (we'd purchased a weekend on Living Social) and the room had nice little touches to help us unwind - candles, dessert wine, and a whirlpool tub. The bed was quite comfortable and conducive to a nice long rest.

The breakfast was practically gourmet. Due to food allergies, I was given my own special off-the-menu breakfast and I noticed other guests being given plates to their specifications as well. Though we didn't watch any, the inn had a good selection of good movies, rather than the also-rans you often find at inns, and a wide variety of games. We met some nice couples there as well.

Our stay was too short - just a weekend - but we came away impressed by the inn and the innkeepers and would recommend By the Side of the Road to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed for the weekend, and had a great time! The breakfast was amazing, and the service was great! They were very accommodating and the package deal was unbelievable. I would definitely recommend By the Side of the Road to anyone looking for a nice comfortable relaxing environment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We went to By the Side of the Road for our Wedding Night. We live in Harrisonburg and didn't want to spend the rest of our wedding day driving to BWI to stay there. So, this was as close as we could do with getting out of Harrisonburg. I was concerned because it is close to the local high school and at 7:30 in the morning (it was a Monday morning) you did hear a bit of traffic. But it's peaceful and cozy. Perfect for a small getaway!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiep2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed in Quill cottage for a weekend, and absolutely loved it. The cottage is spacious and comfortable, and very thoughtfully decorated and equipped. We loved the two person whirlpool tub next to the fireplace, and the mountain of pillows on the four poster bed. The cottage also comes with a fridge, basic kitchen and bathroom supplies, and free wireless. And of course breakfast delivered to our door every morning! The attention to detail was really lovely- we kept discovering thoughtful little details, like the jar of cottonballs in the bathroom (i always forget to pack these), the chocolates on the pillows, the fragrant herbs mixed in with the vase of flowers, the comfy robes, the ansel adams photographs. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We will definitely return for a second stay...everything was perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glh422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Property: By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing