We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An EXCEPTIONAL B&B with charm, personality and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
CA
1 review
“An EXCEPTIONAL B&B with charm, personality and hospitality”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our stay at 'By the Side of the Road' was exceptional! In fact, we enjoyed our one night so much, on our return back through the area, we stayed two more nights! Our room was quaint with a wonderful sitting area, the breakfast delightful, but the hospitality of Dennis and Janice was superb! We would DEFINITELY stay here again on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetosewCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    34
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
231
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

What a wonderfully comfortable, romantic, and friendly atmoshpere! We will certainly refer others to your establishment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennis4to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I'm not much of a B&B-type person, but this was a great experience. The multi-room suites are large and not "like Grandma's house". Plenty of room and sound-proofed enough not to realize other people were in the house.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I can't say enough about our stay. We stayed in the Fitzgerald cottage and I think the 1st floor was one of the most romantic environments / atmospheres we experienced in our life. Words cannot describe what a fantastic time we had. We trailored our motorcycle and rode some of the best motorcycle roads on the east coast during the day and had this wonderful place to come "home" to for the evenings. We loved every aspect of the experience; the breakfast both morning's was delicious, the bed was one of the most comfortable we ever experienced and the hot tub with fireplace was PHENOMENAL. Joshua Wilton House was fantastic if your interested in fine dining and rooftop dining at Cally's was great for a more casual atmosphere. Bottom line, if you want or need a truely romantic getaway, I highly recommend this B&B. My only issue is the website says it is the best B&B in the Shenandoah Valley, when in fact, it is one of the best B&B's anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Quill Cottage at the By the Side of the Road Bed & Breakfast. Absolutely charming! Every detail was so thoughtfully attended to: there was music playing when we entered and bath salts left by the jacuzzi. The furnishings were so comfortable and clean. What a warm and welcoming place to stay! We took the opportunity to enjoy outdoor activities in the Shenandoah mountains but there are also plenty of delicious meals to be enjoyed at local restaurants. It made for a perfect, relaxed honeymoon weekend, and we are definitely recommending it to others and hoping to come again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrockett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at By The Side of The Road for a weekend getaway, and we were very impressed. Janice and Dennis go to great lengths to make you feel welcome, as well as to make you feel special. From the little treats they leave in your room and in the front entry way, to the amazing breakfast, we were very pampered. The rooms were very peaceful (we stayed in the 1790 room) because of the thick interior brick walls. The private balcony off this room is great! We would highly recommend this B&B, and hope to stay here again if we are in the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay By the Side of the Road. Quill Cottage is just lovely, offering lots of peace and quiet, comfortable bed and seating, music, fireplace (although it was off for the season!) and fantastic jacuzzi! Dotted with pictures of members of the family, it was homey and warm. The breakfasts are truly special--served at the Cottage, warm, delicious and more than enough to get you going.

We loved our stay -- every minute of it -- and the fammily are terrific!!! We highly recommend it if yu're looking for some good R & R.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcb12227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Property: By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing