We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Beautiful Place”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved this B&B. The innkeepers have left no detail out. There are ironing boards, irons, blow driers, sound machines, fans, mini-fridges, iPod docks & TV/DVRs in the rooms. The bed linens are fabulous. The fireplace was wonderful. The food was excellent. There are views of the mountains and a lovely pond. The innkeepers were wonderful and friendly. The house is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    38
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
239
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is where my husband surprised me as our stay after our wedding before returning back home (our week honeymoon was delayed). We stayed two nights in one of the cottages, and could not have loved the accommodations more. Breakfast was served at our door without disturbance, inside a picnic basket. The first morning was savory, with a sort of quiche; the second, sweet, with orange pancakes (delightful!). The bed was plush, the tub clean and so relaxing. Unfortunately, since we were in the summer months, we couldn't turn on the fireplace at the center of the cottage, though, I'm sure that would be an amazing plus this time of year. The inn is also close enough to Harrisonburg's downtown for good eats like Union Station (romantic), Clementine (hip and intimate), and Jack Brown's (local bar and amazing burgers). The cottage also had movies to watch and a mini-fridge for our dinner leftovers. Upon our arrival, soothing music played and we were served a carafe of dark, chocolatey wine. It's was VERY relaxing!

Room Tip: I definitely prefer the cottage for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This is where you come to find your perfect Zen.The Innkeepers have provided everything you need and tucked it into a cottage so welcoming and beautiful.I stayed in the Quill cottage.Three miraculous days of peace and reflection.After you've slept in that heaven cloud of a bed,immersed yourself in that unrivaled whirlpool tub and certainly after Mrs.Fitzgerald's breakfasts you know you have found a true gem.Anna gave me the main house tour and is also a wealth of knowledge when it comes to navigating all around the valley.And you always get a cheery smile and hearty "Good Morning"from Dennis as he delivered that amazing breakfast.I'm booking a longer stay next time.Checking my calendar for a return date right now!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Side of the Road is a wonderful B&B. The rooms are large and beautiful. Lots of amenities. The location of the B&B is in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, close to Civil War sights, interesting caverns, quaint country towns, Skyline Drive, and other restfull and rejuvenating places, although you will have to drive to see the sights. The inkeepers are very nice.

The one thing my wife and I wondered about was the fact that the inn delivered the morning breakfast to your door, rather than serve it in a main room of the house. This is different than most B&B's and made us wonder if it would work. While the delivered breakfast arrived a little earlier than we would have prefered, it was good, and worked much better than we expected. In fact, we kinda liked not having to be fully prepared to leave our room and get breakfast -- we could simply eat together in a more informal manner.

All-in-all, a good place to go if you are looking for a fun and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at By the Side of the Road on multiple occasions, the first of which was our wedding night 10 years ago, and we have nothing but good things to say. The innkeepers, Janice and Dennis, have always been extremely accommodating and welcoming. Breakfast is a gourmet experience and the rooms are exquisite; we have stayed in both the cottages and the main house.
In our experience, a B&B is NOT a hotel; most often it is someone's home. That's why we've enjoyed staying there because it seems to be a more intimate and personal stay.
With that being said, over the years, we have come to know Janice and Dennis very well and we think they are truly invested in making sure their guests needs arre always met. We would recommend By the Side of the Road to anyone who wants a great B&B experience, in a great city, with great innkeepers!

Room Tip: The cottages are great if you want a little more privacy and prefer to come and go as you please. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I had planned a kids free weekend. If you have children you know how rare these opportunties are. When I made the reservations, I thought the owner Mrs. Fitzgerald was little rude but ignored it thinking maybe its just in my head. The night we were suppose to check in we drove and were on our way from NC to Harrisonburg, VA. Since we were going to be running little late we called the Inn to let them know we will be running little late. The owner's wife bluntly told us she will not be able to check us in since we will be coming late. We asked her if she could leave the key for us and she said "No". it basically a "No" for anything we asked for. The owner was rude and incosiderate. We had to turn around and cancel our trip and drive back home. Our experience was so horrifying dealing with her that I'm not sure if we ever will consider another B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tarheel_TravelersNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
A prepaid voucher was purchased for this two-day stay. The initial booking was made for a date that overlapped a period of religious fasting and so the guest called to request a change. We accepted the explanation and even waived the Change/Cancellation fee that would normally apply. The guest then re-booked, this time choosing a cottage, rather than Main House accommodation, which was higher priced than the prepaid voucher purchased. We called to explain and assist the guest with the 3rd change to their reservation. The lady to whom we spoke was not pleased with the news that they would have to switch to a lower-cost accommodation or pay an additional tariff. The Ardor of Hope Suite, which she chose, is one of our most requested and we tried to assure her it would be enjoyable.

Check-Ins require a minimal tour to familiarize our guests with this circa 1790 building, amenities, etc. We, therefore, schedule arrival times in advance. Three days prior to Check In, we contact guests to assist them with any need to change arrival times. This guest scheduled a 6pm arrival. We received a call from a gentleman at 6:20 pm advising us that they would arrive after 11:00pm. We explained we had no staff to greet them at that time. He asked how much it would cost to have staff here. We responded it wasn't cost, but manpower, but said we would strive to see if we could accommodate the late-night arrival request and call him right back. We were unable to do so and called them back to explain & apologize. We told the gentleman that we were sorry and would be pleased to receive them for Check-In as early as they desired the following morning. He said they would call back. Shortly, we received another incoming call, during which the gentleman said they wanted to cancel the reservation and receive a refund. We explained that reservation was firm. At that point, a woman came on the line and said she was going to write 15 reviews on TripAdvisor about our (expletive deleted) hotel and have all her friends do so. In stunned silence we heard the line go dead.

We contacted TripAdvisor about this threat and were advised to let the review occur and respond. As always, we will continue to strive for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I'm glad I read plenty of tripadvisor reviews prior to our weekend 2 night livingsocial stay at this B&B. This way I was prepared for what to expect. The B&B is by the side of a subdivision road, but it was very quiet. Much more so than DC. We never woke up from traffic or the noises from the traffic. The cottage was very nice and clean. We stayed in the Quill Cottage. We did find it odd that there was no door on the bathroom, it would be nice to have a little privacy. The breakfast was brought to our cottage promptly at 9am, and was delicious. The waffles were fantastic. The livingsocial package also included $100 voucher to the Beauty Day Spa, which provided fantastic services (definitely recommended). We had a lovely weekend, but were slightly put off about all the warnings located around the room, stating not to do something under a penalty of fees. We also found it interesting that the survey at the end of our stay requested to know how much we spent during our stay at various locations in town, which we felt was private but have no problem sharing where we went for dinner/lunch, or spa. We found this slightly off putting, and have never experienced this at other B&Bs. I think it would have been nicer if these warnings were only put in the information booklet. Harrisonburg has several wonderful restaurants, and we enjoyed dinner at L'Italia and The Local Chop House (reservations required, and the food was amazing!). Overall, this B&B was a nice stay. We'd recommend the B&B for couples that understand its little quirks and know what to expect.

Room Tip: The cottages are very private and you don't interact with other travelers or with the owners unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We are delighted that, overall, this LivingSocial Escape was a pleasure. Perhaps this guest overlooked the very first paragraph of our Check Out Survey, which says: When developing this deal for you, we hoped for a relaxing getaway to indulge yourself and discover our region. We are thankful to have had you as our guests. We’re collecting data to understand how the “Escape” actually impacts our local economy and to help us build the next one. We would be very grateful if you would take a minute to fill in the blanks below. If you’d rather not – that’s just fine – in any event, DO come again! Janice, Dennis & Anna, Your Innkeepers

We regret that the survey was off putting ; we did strive to make participation totally voluntary. After 900 redemptions, these surveys have told us what our guests like and dislike and how very valuable their presence is to our greater business community. Hopefully this particular guest will read our response and understand we were and are sensitive to their privacy issue.

Reviews help inn keepers to improve quality of services offered and we react to each on individually. In this case, we examined Quill Cottage for ANY sign that threatened penalty for failure to comply with an inn policy. There are virtually none; policies are printed inside a lovely welcome booklet. The only one that carries a penalty is our "NO Smoking" one - there is a hefty fee for smoking en suite. That warning is not posted - it is printed in the suite welcome booklet. Since this review suggests that would be an acceptable practice, we must assume that they did not notice or read this handy room guide.

Hopefully the referenced quirks are herein defined and future guests will be willing to give us an opportunity to serve them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 22 in Harrisonburg
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages

Property: By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Address: 491 Garbers Church Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-8409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Inn, located in Harrisonburg in Virginia's central Shenandoah Valley. Whether staying one night or more, our one-of-a-kind Shenandoah Valley lodging is legendary. Guests return time and again to experience the comfort and intimacy of our four Main House Suites and five Luxurious Cottages. We hope to meet you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Side Of The Road Inn & Cottages Hotel Harrisonburg
By The Side Of The Road Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing