We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Harrisonburg)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Harrisonburg(Harrisonburg)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Harrisonburg(Harrisonburg)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Harrisonburg)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
249
42
11
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
249
42
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe main housepicnic basketquill cottagebed and breakfasteach morningwater lilymountain laurelromantic getawaymanor housebreakfast deliveredsoufflebath saltssoft music playingboth morningsgas fireplacelittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 311 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I'm glad I read plenty of tripadvisor reviews prior to our weekend 2 night livingsocial stay at this B&B. This way I was prepared for what to expect. The B&B is by the side of a subdivision road, but it was very quiet. Much more so than DC. We never woke up from traffic or the noises from the traffic. The cottage was very nice and clean. We stayed in the Quill Cottage. We did find it odd that there was no door on the bathroom, it would be nice to have a little privacy. The breakfast was brought to our cottage promptly at 9am, and was delicious. The waffles were fantastic. The livingsocial package also included $100 voucher to the Beauty Day Spa, which provided fantastic services (definitely recommended). We had a lovely weekend, but were slightly put off about all the warnings located around the room, stating not to do something under a penalty of fees. We also found it interesting that the survey at the end of our stay requested to know how much we spent during our stay at various locations in town, which we felt was private but have no problem sharing where we went for dinner/lunch, or spa. We found this slightly off putting, and have never experienced this at other B&Bs. I think it would have been nicer if these warnings were only put in the information booklet. Harrisonburg has several wonderful restaurants, and we enjoyed dinner at L'Italia and The Local Chop House (reservations required, and the food was amazing!). Overall, this B&B was a nice stay. We'd recommend the B&B for couples that understand its little quirks and know what to expect.

Room Tip: The cottages are very private and you don't interact with other travelers or with the owners until check out, or if you need anything. There was no door to the bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

We are delighted that, overall, this LivingSocial Escape was a pleasure. Perhaps this guest overlooked the very first paragraph of our Check Out Survey, which says: When developing this deal for you, we hoped for a relaxing getaway to indulge yourself and discover our region. We are thankful to have had you as our guests. We’re collecting data to understand how the “Escape” actually impacts our local economy and to help us build the next one. We would be very grateful if you would take a minute to fill in the blanks below. If you’d rather not – that’s just fine – in any event, DO come again! Janice, Dennis & Anna, Your Innkeepers

We regret that the survey was off putting ; we did strive to make participation totally voluntary. After 900 redemptions, these surveys have told us what our guests like and dislike and how very valuable their presence is to our greater business community. Hopefully this particular guest will read our response and understand we were and are sensitive to their privacy issue.

Reviews help inn keepers to improve quality of services offered and we react to each on individually. In this case, we examined Quill Cottage for ANY sign that threatened penalty for failure to comply with an inn policy. There are virtually none; policies are printed inside a lovely welcome booklet. The only one that carries a penalty is our "NO Smoking" one - there is a hefty fee for smoking en suite. That warning is not posted - it is printed in the suite welcome booklet. Since this review suggests that would be an acceptable practice, we must assume that they did not notice or read this handy room guide.

Hopefully the referenced quirks are herein defined and future guests will be willing to give us an opportunity to serve them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed in one of rooms in the main house and had a great experience. The innkeepers were great, the room was great and we couldn't have asked for more! The in room fireplace was wonderful and the sitting room was a relaxing offset from the bedroom. Will be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

stayed in a cottage. on the one hand, it was nice, clean, comfortable, etc., on the other, it was not what you would think in terms of a B&B -- it was more/less like staying in an apartment in the middle of the suburbs. it's definitely a lot nicer than any hotel. just not what i was expecting. the main house might have a different feel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
by the side of the road, Owner at By the Side of the Road Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

We appreciate any guest taking time to share their experience. These particular guests informed us that they had stayed on the evening before at the world-class Inn at Little Washington, a very tough act to follow.
Our property is unique in that we have four Suites in the Main House which delivers the "typical" B&B experience. Our cottages are designed for romance and privacy which we have found appeals to both regular B&B patrons and the first-timers who have been considering trying one but weren't sure about staying in someone's home - as most B&Bs are.
If you're reading this, please come and see for yourself! We'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This historic house makes for a welcoming, cozy, and beautifully decorated B&B. We stayed in the Eselyn Taylor Suite on the first floor. The room is elegant, the bed was very comfy, and the private bathroom is huge and has a nice tub. It is right accross the hall from the dining room, so in the morning we'd wake up with the wonderful smell of fresh coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was fabulous on both days and service was very friendly. We felt right at home and very relaxed. During the day we went to Cave Ridge winery (which we loved! and we also loved the delicious picnic lunch given to us at the B&B as a part of our package) and to other attractions in and near Harrisonburg. The house is not located in a particularly "quaint" part of town, but it sits by a fairly quiet road and is close to lots of nice places to visit. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We used a coupon from Living Social to spend two nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast inn in Harrisonburg. Every aspect of our visit was enjoyable -- the breakfasts, the picnic lunch, the spacious rooms, the proximity to wineries and farmers' markets in the Shenandoah Valley. The hosts are gracious but not intrusive. There is hot coffee ready in the entrance hall every morning as you await your 9:00 breakfast (which is not to be missed). The main house rooms are all beautifully-decorated suites which afford a great deal of quiet and privacy, and there are also three cottages which would be perfect for a romantic getaway. We are definitely looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews