We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Joshua Wilton House
Reserve with OpenTable
Joshua Wilton House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 257 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell Street
Description: Located in an elegantly restored Victorian mansion, Joshua Wilton House is within walking distance of historic downtown Harrisonburg and the campus of James Madison University, offering guests quiet charm and gracious living in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Restaurant offers a unique and exquisite a la carte menu that changes with the seasons, along with an extensive selection of beers and an award-winning wine list. Featured are the food products of many small local farms and producers who supply our kitchen with high quality ingredients that simply cannot be found elsewhere. Chef's Tom French and Brian Bogan work together to create food that highlights Virginia's southern heritage while adding a French influence to the dish. During the warmer months, seating is available on the outdoor brick patio. Arrive early and enjoy a cocktail in our lounge before dinner.
Miami Lakes
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent service, fine dining, and wonderful setting. One of the top three in Harrisonburg - also serves as an inn, but one does not have to stray there to eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    31
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for any event!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in Harrisonburg for our daughter's college orientation. We went go the Joshua Wilton House the night before for dinner. Drinks on the porch with the pleasant and relaxed view of Main Street as we unwound after the drive to Harrisonburg. Dinner in one of the beautiful, immaculate dining rooms with no rush to order of move along. Fantastic service, amazing food presentation and wonderful quality! Worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGuyfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a beautiful old home. We were seated outside as we had requested. After a 15 minute wait, I went inside to find out why we hadn't seen our waiter. We were told that another customer had become faint and because of that distraction, the hostess forgot to tell our waiter to take care of us. We decided to move inside. Things proceeded well. Our waiter was very attentive. My husband orderd the mussels for an appetizer and found them delightful. They were offering a salmon special which I decided to try. The salmon was presented on a bed of spinach and orzo with a sauce. Although the entrée was somewhat tasty, I found the sauce to be salty and too rich for my taste. My husband enjoyed the rack of lamb that he ordered but also found the sauce a bit salty. The building is lovely and I really was hoping that the whole experience would be positive but, in my opinion, it was only marginal. They did give us a dessert to share because of the mix up at the start of our evening. The dessert was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWestminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem in Harrisonburg”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. I so wish it was closer to my home... The food is so terrific! My husband loves to order duck when we go out to eat. Lately, he has been so disappointed. Not in this restaurant! I had steak and you could have cut it with a butter knife! The atmosphere is charming in this old style Victorian home. The service was excellent. Everytime we return to the area...I have to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJHomeRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You must eat here!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The best place in Harrisonburg for fine dining! I eat here regularly and it never disappoints. Great service, great food, great drinks! The lounge has a great feel and the dining room is quite civilized. Always a pleasure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottS_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua Wilton House also viewed

 

Been to Joshua Wilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing