We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every chance we get we stop here.”
Review of Sub Station

Sub Station
Ranked #32 of 260 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every chance we get we stop here.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Best nachos and steak tacos. Made authentic style with cilantro and onions. Excellent loaded nachos. Huge mugs of brewed ice tea or soda. Service is amazing. Been 5-6 times traveling from PA to NC. A must stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lehigh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent service, but the food did not meet our expectations”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ever since we’ve been coming to Harrisonburg, we’ve been curious about The Sub Station. I did an online search and found many positive reviews so we decided to dine there during our recent visit. We arrived on a Saturday evening around 8pm; there were two other parties in the small, but clean restaurant. We were promptly greeted and given menus and drink orders were taken. The Sub Station serves subs and Mexican fare, which is what we had come to sample. My husband chose the Chimi tacos; one with steak and one with chicken. I selected the Supreme tacos; both with chicken. Drooling over visions in our minds of what was to come, we were pleased with the record speed the food arrived at the table. After one bite from each of us, our jaws dropped. This Mexican fare was simple, unexciting and nothing like we expected. The flour tortillas were barely warm and filled with bland flavored, yet moist meat. The over abundance of iceberg lettuce in my tacos made it seem as though the amount of chicken was too little. The steak of the Chimi tacos had a bit of flavor, but disappointed. If only the service matched the quality of food. What we ate that night, looked and tasted like something I could have created at home with a package of flour tortillas, a bit of meat, some cheese, a head of lettuce and sour cream. Thank goodness for the gracious host, whose attentive service was appreciated; otherwise, the night would have been a bigger let down than it already was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

One word - YUM!!!!
We stayed at a nearby Hampton Inn and took a chance on this place. Thank goodness we did. The name of this restaurant on tripadvisor does not ndicate that it is also a taco shop/mex place. It was immensely delicious all around and the staff couldn't be friendlier. The steak tacos are delicious and the California burrito (the one with the sauce) was just to die for. We visited this place twice! Wished it was closer to us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WonderousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sub-Station is a Gem.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was traveling in Harrisonburg when I found Sub-Station. Had the California Burrito, excellent. Friendly service, good prices. Will definitely go back when in area again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station also viewed

Harrisonburg, VA
Harrisonburg, VA
 

Been to Sub Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing