We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Tasty German Food”

Black Forest German Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 259 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic and Tasty German Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A hidden gem. Professional staff, and talented chef. Went there for lunch and upon taking our first bite, everyone in my group of four immediately said, "This is good." Medallion of pork-delicious. Lamb skewers tender and tasty with or without dip sauce (also very good). Roasted buttered potatoes hearty and filling. Sauerkraut yummy. My brother in law didn't want anyone to sample his steak, but he said it tasted fresh and delicious. I don't think they have a lot of help in the kitchen, so their authentic food comes out not as fast as a chain restaurant. Not saying they are slow, just that things won't be coming out super quick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We dined there for lunch. The knock wurst was pretty good.The fried potatoes were just that.Fried potatoes; nothing to flavor them just fried potatoes. The sauerkraut was different but good. The cabbage was just average. The price for lunch was good but compared to other German restaurants that we have eaten in Germany or other states I don't know how it made it in the top ten restaurants in the area

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baboo43912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Genuine German in Virginia”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

While it lacked some of the ambiance of other German restaurants in Virginia, the food was spot on. Flavor and presentation could put you right back in the Bundesrepublik. The staff was friendly and attentive. Well worth your stop should you be passing by on I-81.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, good food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We came on a Friday night. The place was not particularly busy. We brought a 9 and 12 yr old with us, and that seemed O.K. for the clientele.

The German beers on tap were very very good. The food was served quickly and was very tasty. I was very happy with everything about our meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBMBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good German Restaurant”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dined there on Friday night of JMU homecoming weekend. The restaurant is in a nondescript shopping center, but the interior reminds me of numerous places I've dined in Bavaria. Not a lot of decorations, but it's German food. Ordered the Jaegarschnitzel and the wife had the Pork Medallions. Both were very good. The schnitzel would have benefitted from more gravy. The rotkohl was excellent. Three good German beers on tap. The restaurant has the potential to become a fixture in Harrisoinburg.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing