We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine German in Virginia”

Black Forest German Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 260 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Genuine German in Virginia”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

While it lacked some of the ambiance of other German restaurants in Virginia, the food was spot on. Flavor and presentation could put you right back in the Bundesrepublik. The staff was friendly and attentive. Well worth your stop should you be passing by on I-81.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, good food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We came on a Friday night. The place was not particularly busy. We brought a 9 and 12 yr old with us, and that seemed O.K. for the clientele.

The German beers on tap were very very good. The food was served quickly and was very tasty. I was very happy with everything about our meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBMBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good German Restaurant”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dined there on Friday night of JMU homecoming weekend. The restaurant is in a nondescript shopping center, but the interior reminds me of numerous places I've dined in Bavaria. Not a lot of decorations, but it's German food. Ordered the Jaegarschnitzel and the wife had the Pork Medallions. Both were very good. The schnitzel would have benefitted from more gravy. The rotkohl was excellent. Three good German beers on tap. The restaurant has the potential to become a fixture in Harrisoinburg.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed, but hopeful”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were in town for JMU Family Weekend looking for a "go to" restaurant for what we hope will be many visits to Harrisonburg. We've had our fair share of German food over in Germany -- and knowing that the owner is from The Black Forest -- were 100% certain that the meal would be outstanding.....or at least an A-. Sad to report that it was mediocre. Our server was nice and efficient but nothing could make up for the slow kitchen. It took and hour and half from the time we ordered to get our food. We have no idea what was going on in the kitchen, but whatever was happening back there wasn't working. The shrimp skewer had a dramatic presentation on a vertically hanging skewer. Too bad it was dry and tasteless. Thank goodness for the nice sauce that came with it. The special brats made from a "900 year-old recipe" were dry and overcooked. The frankfurter was nothing special. It tasted like any ole hotdog. The sides were salty and the spaetzle pretty much occupies the lower tier of that which can be purchased in a German Deli (the packaged Black Forest Girl brand is our guess). The salad dressing was the only highlight. Correction: the salad dressing and the draft beer (Paulaner Hefe-Weizen and Bitburger Pils) were excellent. They were out of cupcakes (poor planning for Family Weekend) and no one was patient enough to wait for a dessert that required preparation. The strangest thing of all was that when we asked to speak to the owner we were told that he couldn't or wouldn't pop out for a minute. We asked to speak to him, not.....and I repeat NOT to complain, but rather to introduce ourselves. We had made the reservation personally with him over the phone 3 weeks ago and, at that time, it was suggested that we say 'hi' when we came in for dinner. Eventually, upon our third inquiry he finally came to the table appearing rattled and in a hurry. For what reason, I don't know. We think it's safe to assume that the owner should never put patrons in an embarrassing position where they are almost reduced to 'begging' just to say 'hello!'. Not good.

All things considered, I'd like to give this place another chance because I think it may have potential if they could get organized and properly staffed. They really shouldn't accept reservations if they can't accommodate several large groups at one time. In the end, the server, Ryan, asked what he could do to make it right for us. We asked for the Paulaner glass that my beer was served in. Earlier in the evening, he indicated that he would sell me the glass. By the end, we got the glass for free. He even wrapped it up. It was the right thing to do --- even if the owner didn't seem to have a clue about customer satisfaction, Ryan certainly did. I hope that the restaurant can successfully rely upon the Harrisonburg locals to patronize the establishment. Unless there is a good explanation, we won't be back again unless we're in desperate need of a wheat beer on a 90 degree day -- and only then if we see a 'Brotzeit' sign (typical in German beer gardens) posted near the outside tables so that we know we can bring our own baked pretzels, radishes and a bit of Bavarian cheese to munch on while waiting the hour or two for the meal to be prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler22202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The best!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent food, good flavors and always fresh and tastes like the food I grew up with. You have to wait a while for your food, but WORTH the wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yunia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing