We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rick's Cantina - CLOSED

Rick's Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I thought we'd sample Ricks cantina, as they were having specials thais past saturday evening. The long and short of it is that I felt the meal was forgettable, except for the yucca fries. We arrived and were seated promptly on the roof (nice atmosphere) we ordered the plantain chips, duck and fish burritos, yucca fries, and margaritas. Our appetizer took so long getting out our main entree was a little chilly, not to mention we had to ask our server for complementary chips and salsa to rectify the extraordinary wait. When we found her she was texting... Yikes! When our appetizer did arrive the plantain chips were presented poorly, slopped on the plate and mushy. The burritos were nothing spectacular. The fish burrito tasted frozen and there wasn't any complexity to the dish, just hot raspberry jelly, rice, and fried fish. The duck burrito had a little more going on and while still not amazing, held its own.. Barely. The shining moment was the chance to enjoy their yucca fries.. Not sure where they get them from, but I would return and just order these again at the bar and no margarita. The margarita was syrupy and tiny. Overall, I can't recommend Rick's based on my recent experience. I do hope they improve, but for now I'll be going elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokieburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, affordable pricing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

While vacationing in Harrisonburg VA we visited Rick's Cantina for dinner. The meal was delicious, the service was great, the restaurant was clean and inviting. We would definitely return, and we recommend Rick's Cantina for a fantastic Mexican meal -

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rick's Cantina is located in a three story building, 1st story bar, 2nd story restaurant, 3rd story...ok...it's the roof, where we sat enjoying a great view of the downtown area at a metal table with a bright umbrella and Multi colored lights draped along the railings. Daily drink & food specials...we had Pacifica drafts for $2, and the Pie Pan Nachos were half price...yum! We had the chicken quesadilla, slow roasted duck quesadilla, grilled fish (tilapia) soft tacos, and a burrito called the Pork-n-Nator (ham, bacon, chorizo..)... with blackberry/habanero sauce...all were delicious! For dessert, cinnamon/sugar sopapillas with plums & honey! Very impressed that all of their ingredients are fresh and purchased locally...awesome! Our bill for 4 people was $60 (before tip) we had 4 beers, appetizer, 4 entrees, 2 desserts & 4 more beverages ( our son had Mexican Coke and San Pelligrino Blood Orange soda)...he liked the orange soda so much we bought 2 cans to take home with us...no high fructose corn syrup...delish! A laid back atmosphere with very friendly staff, flavorful food made with local ingredients, very affordable....Rick's should be ranked higher on the list...don't miss out on a visit to the Cantina!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here with my family on Friday night and had a great experience. The food was very good but the best part for us was the level of service provided by our server Mary. Since this was our first time, we had a lot of questions about the menu. She was extremely knowledgeable and was very confident making suggestions (especially regarding the sauces and their associated "heat" levels). We ordered Margaritas and they were outstanding. Freshly made there and she recommended getting the spicy salt around the rim of the glass for an extra kick. My son is 9 and he thought his tacos were a little too spicy but he got through them because they tasted good. He wants to come back next year when we do our TN to New England trek. Check the place out - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Went on an early Monday night with husband and child. Place was not busy but most people were outside on the roof top deck. Ordered the house made chips&salsa they were great! Food was quick which is nice with a hungry 2 yr old :). Atmosphere is charming if its exposed brick and Unstained wood. If this place was in our hometown it would be crowed 24/7! Noticed a very large selection of tequila and drinks some house infused . Would be a fun place for girls or guys night out or bridal parties!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommazMommaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Cantina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing