We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Golden Corral”
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
Ranked #59 of 260 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Cuisines: American
Description: Restaurant is located approximately 2 miles east of I-81
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant is located approximately 2 miles east of I-81
Wendell, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical Golden Corral”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Food was okay, nothing special. It was not overly hot and there were few veggies. Okay if you are hungry and want choices, but nothing to write home about,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 496Dee496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it!!!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first time to a Golden Corral and it definitly exceeded our expectations. The Harrisonburg, Virginia location was very clean and the staff was professional and very nice. There is a HUGE selection of food! The dessert bar is the BEST! I loved the chocolate fountain and my kids loved the cotton candy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5377fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of our favorites with this company.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Always fresh. Watch for coupons. The best thing in my opinion is the mangers are always on top of it. I always see them. My kids call them air traffic controllers the way they are on top of the seating on busy days like Sundays. We love it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What you would expect - no surprises”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The service is consistent, the food is a little bland, and the prices are low. It is exactly what you would expect from this chain. It is cleaner than some others I have visited in other towns.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A great chain, and this is one of the best for choices and presentations...”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is our favorite chain when traveling. Always, there are the makings of a fresh and nutritious salad, with spinach in addition to other greens choices as well as cottage cheese and a variety of additions, including some sort of nut. In this case, the nuts were slivered almonds. The peas, beans, and beets often offered at the salad bars of other restaurants in this chain were missing, however.
But this one made up for it with dessert choices: 6 different flavors of frozen yogurt in addition to the soft serve vanilla and chocolate ice creams, plus a selection of dipped ice cream. I was especially pleased that the latter included sherbert.
Based on the Golden Corrals in 3 states that we've seen this trip,the chain has added cotton candy to its offerings--an obvious hit with the kids. Another addition is a chocolate 'fountain' with fruit and various cookie-type bites on sticks (e.g. krispie treats) to put in it. This isn't our 'thing,' but we saw lots of folks enjoying it.
I like the fish offerings--sometimes good and sometimes overcooked, but fine at this particular establishment. My spouse likes the meatloaf and the make-your-own taco. At this particular restaurant everything was well-replenished and nicely presented. We were there at lunch and the grilled meats are a supper item ,but we've never been disappointed with those. And, the ribs offered at lunch were quite fine.
If we weren't just 'passing through' we'd come here often.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing