We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great, easily improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Opp, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Almost great, easily improved”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Most importantly, the bed we slept in here was SO COMFORTABLE! The sleeping part of our stay here was definitely 5 stars, nothing disturbed us. Our room (smoking, 4th floor) had an amazing view, a nice bonus from a stay necessitated only by the need to sleep while passing through the area. The room was spotlessly clean. Interior hallway entrance to rooms. I regret that I don't remember her name but the gal who checked us in (7/15, about 9:30 PM) was extremely pleasant and helpful.

The bathroom kept it from being 5 stars. It was clean and had the usual amenities one would expect at this price, decent towels, but the toilet didn't have a lid and there was nowhere to put anything but soap in the shower. The shower was a large shower-only stall, which is fine with me, I don't take baths, but there was also no place for a lady to rest/elevate a foot while shaving legs. The only place to put anything like shampoo, razor, whatever you use besides a bar of soap while showering, is on the (slippery) top of the toilet tank. Yep, I knocked the shampoo into the toilet when reaching for the conditioner. NOT cool, and not necessary if the toilet had a lid. In a room of any price, a toilet should have a lid.

This place was very impressive for a room near the bottom of the price scale. The Courtyard by Marriott next door wanted almost twice as much. We could have spent a few dollars less, but would have been adjacent to overnight road construction involving jackhammers, and the noisy freeway. Breakfast looked average but we left so early that we only wanted some coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleinopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    120
    44
    12
    4
See reviews for
132
84
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wise, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were on our way home and got a very late start. Since it was unreasonable to drive all night we stopped in Harrisonburg. It was a great decision. The hotel had 1 room left and it was smoking ( we prefer non smoking) but the night manager assured me it would not be noticeable because it was their suite and it very rarely had anyone in it. She was right. It was a very clean, hardly used room. We got a great night sleep and a good breakfast the next morning. The staff was amazing. Extra pillows, extra blankets, no problem. All smiles no complaining. the morning staff was just as personable. Very friendly and helpful. Great stay for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellsHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped here for a lay over night between Va Beach and Massenutten. The room was nice clean and big. We selected a suite since those do not allow pets or smoking. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful for everyone. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night on our way back down to ct. We are smokers and have a dog with us so we always try and book pet friendly hotels that allow smoking. For those of you that are non smokers you will be happy with how this hotel separates the smokers. They are put at one end of the hotel with a glass door separating the rooms they also run off a different air unit. The rooms were very clean and spacious and having a window that can open is fantastic as we all love fresh air. Beds were super comfortable and both my husband and I slept very well. Check in was a breeze and if you want real food after travelling Texas roadhouse delivers to this hotel food was hot and fresh.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Booked a non-smoking room and turned down an "upgrade" to a smoking suite. I did not pay attention to the return email receipt for the room and they "upgraded" to the smoking suite.

I am in room and can barely breathe with no other rooms available in town that I can find due to college graduations.

Sleep Inn will never see me again in one of their rooms!

DO NOT TRUST THEM!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at Sleep Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is newer. It's very clean and modern with plenty of parking. It is convenient and easy to get to and there are many good restaurants to chose from and quite a few within walking distance. The rooms were spacious and well laid out. This is a great place to stay and very reasonably priced. Well done sleep inn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DNDSZ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice clean hotel with a pretty view over the valley. Room size was modest but clean and quiet. Pet friendly with a reasonable pet fee. Staff helpful and very friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyPUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#14 of 22 in Harrisonburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
453 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1891 Evelyn Byrd Ave, I-81 & US 33, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#10 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing