We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“High speed internet?Bhaaa ha ha ha” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High speed internet?Bhaaa ha ha ha”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived on Tuesday to the stench of paint and drop cloths,scaffolding and a staff that was obviously not thrilled.After the slow elevator ride to the top floor,I log on to the internet-only to find that it is even slower than the elevator.To advertise that they have "high speed" internet is a complete lie-a box of index cards and a wounded carrier pigeon would have been faster.Even if they removed the training wheels from their internet,the owners have taken it upon themselves to block all content that THEY deem inappropriate-I'm 50 years old!I don't need child-proof internet or to have someone elses morals sifted into my only source of entertainment when I'm relaxing after a hard day's work.The staff seemed aloof and disinterested,when I actually saw them,(they were probably outside trying to breathe something other than paint fumes.)There was a crack under the door you could roll a golf ball under and the drafty window whistled all week long.Who can eat a continental breakfast with paint fumes hanging in the air?I stay in alot of hotels with my work,but this one is off my list.For the cost,it's just not worth it...

Room Tip: Pick another hotel-one with actual internet,instead of the dumbed-down,romper room garbage these clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunnia biniss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the internet was slow. We are taking steps to improve the quality of our internet, improving the speed and will discuss the firewalls that are in place. We are currently under renovations to bring our product up to speed with the other brands in our market. I am sure that once our property upgrade is complete, you will be more than satisfied with the results. We are taking steps to make our hotel one of the nicest in Harrisonburg and I hope that next time you are in the area; you will give us another try. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    103
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
110
68
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Since my last visit, the Sleep Inn has apparently reduced the number of pillows available for building pillow forts. Or maybe my room was just short on pillows. I don't know. Anyway, if you just need like 5 or 6 pillows, this room is still for you. Pet friendly and about 10 bucks less than its fellow Choice Hotels property "Comfort Inn" down by the highway, I found my room to be much more spacious and updated. 15 bucks for your pet to stay the night. Don't feed the morning belgian waffles to your dog, they are for humans. The price is reasonable and the rooms are clean. My room had a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your pet were comfortable in your room. We love having you and your pet stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have stayed at many Sleep Inn Suites however was not very happy with this particular one.
Room was not properly clean, especially the bath area, and the service was not as good as
others we have visited.

Room Tip: I have found if the front desk personnel do not seem to care that you are there, it is a good indica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations for service. We do care about our guests and are trully concerned about your satisfaction. We will work harder to make sure all our guests feel welcome and know that we appreciate their business. I hope that you will give us another chance when next you visit Harrisonburg.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting the Skyline Drive, you are about 25 minute ride away. Great room very quiet, bright hallways. The breakfast is very good, they have make your own waffles, pastries, fruit and cereals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmtreelover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to see how beautiful Skyline Drive is. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I arrived after 9. check in was smooth. went to sleep soon after in comfortable bed and room had all I needed. Early rise breakfast was super and quick. comfortable and good price compared to other locations for this level stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeppy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we look forward to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went here twice on a Southern Road trip. Once on the way down and again on the way back. Nice room, LCD TV, good bed, very clean, and no road noise, or any noise for us. I believe they do allow pets, but we did not notice any. Breakfast was a bit more than Continental style, With quality bagels and pastries, make your own waffles, and both days they served hot sausage patties. It is located about a mile off exit 247A of I-81. A couple of turns, past a mall, up a hill and one more turn. You won't just drive by it, a GPS helps. Worth finding though! Looks like a good safe area.

Room Tip: There is a small side parking area near the door, that most miss seeing when they pull in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_and_Diann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and stayed with us twice and that you enjoyed your room. Guests tend to love our breakfast because of the variety and the quality of items that we use. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you travel south. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My mother and I went to visit my sister for the JMU and William & Mary game this weekend. My sister is a freshman at JMU. My mother and I stayed at the Sleep Inn and it was average. We had a decent stay, the bed and amenities were mediocre. Overall, it was a good place to sleep. No problems!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit your sister at JMU. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1891 Evelyn Byrd Ave, I-81 & US 33, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#11 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing