We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer joint”
Review of Capital Ale House

Capital Ale House
Ranked #20 of 260 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer joint”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I are here most Fridays. They have a great variety and selection of beer and often have special beer available. We love "Ales from the Crypt" weekends. The food is not amazing but not bad. I think it is a little pricey. In all the tine we have been going, we've had great waiters and waitresses except maybe twice.

Helpful?
Thank c0untrypumpkin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    88
    44
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and Entertainment”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Sunday night on the rooftop patio. Service was a little slow but the food was good. Good selection of beers. A singer playing guitar and singing on the side lent to a festive atmosphere. Patio a bit too bright and hot (in June) until about 6:30 p.m.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great beer selection. Good food!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This placed has an amazing beer offering - 100 on tap. We couldn't get through nearly enough of them, so will be returning. Mondays' special is burgers, super cheap and then build your own. Fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome Beer and Good Food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stopped by here for lunch while on vacation. In general, it wasn't overly loud and the atmosphere was relaxing, even with an infant with us. We stuck with burgers for lunch. There were certainly better than most. The beer on the other hand, wow! There was more on tap than I could comprehend. it was a bit overwhelming selecting one of the many local, domestic and international beers. We tried a few and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Take some time and sample beer-vana!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crutt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for brews; food so-so”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The beer menu (draft and bottled) is simply impressive - must be between 50 and 100 different brews of all shapes and sizes, from mainstream brands over American crafts to interesting imports. And unlike other places, they actually have the stuff on the menu available. So many times I have been to beer halls with long beer menus, only to learn that they are out of most of what I want. Not the Capital Ale House.

The food and service, however, were so-so. It was fine but nothing to rave about. Pretty typical pub grub of slightly above than average quality.

Still, I would return for the beer alone and highly recommend this place to all beer lovers!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Schnetzfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Capital Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing