We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a quick stop and for the price "A good deal!"”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“For a quick stop and for the price "A good deal!"”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed here on the way to the beach and was a good stop to not spend your first monies on a fancy hotel. Our room and some face the road and are somewhat noisy, but there are others in the back I would ask for. They accept pets in some part of the inn and is nice for pet owners and dog lovers, but could spell trouble if your not into dogs. They have a nice pool which we used but someone had their dog with them and it barked non stop while we were there. Since we have a dog (we left at home) it didn't bother us too much but we left earlier than we would have because of it. Isolated case though, I imagine. Would not do dinner there as it was pretty bland, but breakfast buffet was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    127
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
137
170
43
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We checked in on a Thursday evening and were met by a very nasty man at the front desk and we almost told him where to go and left but the reviews were so good and the place looked inviting, so we stayed. I am so glad we did! We had a great dinner on Friday evening in the restaurant and were told by the man and women at the desk (owners maybe) where to go and what to do in the area and they were just charming, full of laughs and smiles and expressed how sorry the were for the rude behavior when we checked in. We ate a hearty southern breakfast there Saturday morning where the woman from the night before was there to greet us again! We are from the north so southern accents and smiles aren't something we see alot of! Quiet, clean, afordable we will return again one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We were there for a graduation. We spent 3 nights and went to the beach for a while and then spent 2 more nights. Both rooms were large and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. Very nice.
Family from Ohio

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

In today's society of cookie cutter mega-hotels with mega prices attached, the Village Inn is a welcomed change. It's a small family-run business with a long tradition of courtesy great service, and very fair prices. The room we had was clean, neat, and peaceful. It was not a super luxurious room like some big chains boast, but we had a whirlpool bath, a deck, a microwave and refrigerator, along with a comfortable bed and a fraction of those luxury hotels' prices. We were travelling for the first time with a cat, so we were also very pleased by the Inn's pet policy.
The outdoor pool was pleasant, nicely landscaped, and there is also a hot tub, a children's play area, and lots of trees and walking space.
The Inn has a restaurant serving all three meals, is open to locals as well as inn guests and seems to be a popular place to eat. Although breakfast isn't included in the room price and the cost of the breakfast buffet may seem a bit steep, when one considers the room cost, it's hard to complain about paying for breakfast, especially when the food is plentiful and good and the staff so competent. Also, if visitors prefer not to use the restaurant, there are some others nearby and just a bit farther away and closer to James Madison University, there's the full gamut of restaurants, along with shopping malls and other conveniences. Part of the charm of the Inn for us was its location a bit outside the city center.
Most of all, the owners and staff of the Village Inn are friendly, professional, and so anxious to please. It's not so easy nowadays to find a place where progress doesn't come at the expense of being treated like individuals rather than just another number. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almost-Tica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Pleasant motel-loved parking at front door-nicely appointed room with lounge chairs, deck with chairs. Bathroom is small & shower is "almost" not adjustable-watch the temp. Very comfortable bed & free HBO - nice. Restaurant for dinner leaves a little to be desired. Kind of cheap buffet quality. Will stay again but will eat elsewhere. Rate doubled on Sat. nite because of community college graduation-that always irks us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentDinerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stopped here for one night on the way home from a vacation. The room was in a quiet place off the highway, spotless and recently updated. For the money, it was a great value -we got a whirlpool tub and a porch in addition to a microwave and refrigerator. I needed public internet as my laptop was broken, and when their computer did not work, the owner immediately worked on it to get it running. The connection was the best of our entire trip. I did notice some flies (as a previous reviewer did also) but am also noting there was farmland around the property. The breakfast buffet was also a great value. The swimming pool was closed for the season. I would stay here again if we travel through the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

A quiet larger room and for a VALUE price (under $70) with AAA. Just a few minutes to JMU campus - very convenient for families with James Madison University student. We enjoyed the view of rolling hills out the patio door. Wireless internet worked very well and was FREE!! Breakfast menu and buffet was very extensive - food was tasty. We will definately stay here again when we visit Harrisonburg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTravellerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing